Bourbonnais, IL 
Riverfront Park Share
Uploaded By: chuckdisc Hole #8 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Bourban-A?! More like Bourban-F!!

1    8/28/2015   9/2/2015
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Riverfront Park's 9-hole DGC, nestled snuggly into a small suburban park, is bounded on one side by the surrounding neighborhood's houses and on the other by the Kankakee River. On first inspection, this course has the right stuff: water, elevation, and trees. After playing the course, though, it's painfully obvious that this course whiffed on a winning design.
- Portajohn located right by the parking lot. Benches are scattered throughout. A map of the course layout at the beginning helps get a feel for the flow of the course. Tee signs are serviceable.
- Decent enough for putting or field practice if you have the course to yourself. Hole #6 would actually be a fun hole if it had a tee & sign. Hole #'s 7 and 8 used the elevation to good effect and actually felt like disc golf.
Cons: - Where to begin? Unfortunately, this course suffers very badly from "in between" design. Most holes are open and easy enough from an obstacle/line-shaping/risk-reward standpoint that 99% of experienced or decent discers will prefer to play elsewhere...there's just not much challenge or interest here for those that've seen any decent courses. But most holes are just a bit too long for newbies or casuals to shoot decently.
- Safety issues abound here. Right off the bat, #1's obvious hyzer route is blocked by a bench. A walking path (apparently heavily trafficked based on my early morning round) is regularly used by the surrounding residents. Two of the benches (including #1) were also in use blocking or modifying my paths to the baskets. A nasty ravine of scummy water and treacherous rocks bisects the park. It shouldn't come into play for experienced discers but I bet at least a few newer players have had to venture down into that pit of death. Beware. Even the rocks that look like a little crossing bridge at the narrowest section are loose ankle-breakers ready to ruin your round (and possibly your lower extremities).
- All the good design elements (trees excluded) are wasted. #1's basket has the river behind it, but much much too far for it to ever really come into play. Likewise the ravine isn't used (which might be a good thing). The rest of the elevation just isn't enough to really push this course up the rating scale in spite of the other short-comings and safety issues.
- I looked freakin' everywhere for #6's tee sign but never found it...which sucked, because #6's pin was the best placement of the course.
- After #8, there's an awkward walk past a couple of holes to get to #9, which then leaves you heading away from the parking lot. Hole #9 seemed completely tacked onto this already slap-dash design.
- The grassy expanse of this course was shaggy and unkempt .
- Not a true con, just weird: the baskets sit much higher than typical courses. Not enough to increase putting difficulty, but noticeable.
Other Thoughts: - Even if you remove the walkers/bench-sitters, the dangerous ravine, get #6 a sign, cut the damn grass, and tweaked the design to utilize the river this couldn't be better than a 2-disc park.
- The water not being used bummed me out. The myriad array of path walkers bummed me out a bit. The people on the first bench bummed me out. The people on the second bench bummed me out. Typically I don't get bummed out by disc golf courses, even the "less than best." So that tells me something. It should tell you something, too.
- I don't know what design constraints might have been in place, but I could imagine this sort of park being subject to the NIMBYism of the surrounding houses. My apologies to the designers if there were issues that affected the installation of this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Case of the missing tee pad

2-4    6/29/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: DiscGolfMurf
Played: 80  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unfortunately not a ton when it came to the course. The scenery is beautiful. The baskets are still like new. Fun safari lines.
Cons: Terrible layout. Lots of walking to the next tee...
Boring wide open holes. They could have done so much more with it. You will not be impressed with the course.
Other Thoughts: And where the heck is tee pad 6? We searched everywhere! It doesn't exist, so we invented a tee pad close to tee pad 9 next to the boulder on the hill. Basically it became the most fun hole on the course! Worth playing twice through but then again every disc golf course is worth playing at least once!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small and Short

1    9/9/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Park setting
-A big ravine and a lot of elevation changes that COULD be used(but are not with the current layout)
Cons: -Natural tees, no concrete
-Super short course
-Not much variety, pretty much wide open with the exception of a couple holes
-Poor course map at beginning of course
Other Thoughts: This is a really short uninteresting 9 hole course. Pulling up to the parking lot i was presented with a beautiful looking park sitting on a tranquil river, seemed like a great place for a game of disc golf. I soon realized that almost all the holes were 300ish ft wide open holes with no variety or obstacles. Trees came slightly into play on 2 or 3 of the holes, but even then didn't add a whole lot of challenge. The lack of signage and poor course map also left to a little confusion as well, we never found the tee for hole 6, we just kind of had to take a guess at it. It seems that with a better design the course could be a bit better, but I really only see this course as a place to go if you're a local and just looking for a quick casual round or don't want to drive to a better more challenging course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 to play or not to play

1    11/27/2010   12/11/2010
Review By: airspuds
Played: 104  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 29.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: beautiful park , safari golf potential
Cons: paths in play, hard to navigate , ? 8 th hole ? where are you ?
Other Thoughts: baskets on top of boulders would be nice, hole 1 basket could be closer to river, actually saw one other person playing here,
safari golf for sure as the paths are all in play
nice gully hazard as well

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty park

1    9/4/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small park along the river, with nice views and nicely maintained grass throughout. The park is one medium sized hill, so many of the holes play up or down some adding a little bit of interest. The course starts with some open shots, then goes into scattered mature trees with some ravines along fairways for a little bit of risk. The baskets are in decent shape, and there are signs with the hole distance for each tee. There is a small course map on the back of each tee sign, and that makes a huge difference on finding your way around the course.
Cons: The tee signs point in odd directions, some face toward the hole, some away, and some are perpendicular to the direction of the hole. This makes it a little unclear which of the many baskets in sight to throw to, check out the little maps on the back of the signs to be sure. The course is pretty short, and the first half is wide open with no obstacles, making it pretty easy and boring. The ravines running through the park could be cool obstacles, but the design avoids them as much as possible. The walking path is in play on several holes, leading to some safety issues and some waiting as it seems to be well used. The tees are natural, and many are not flat making for awkward footing for some drives.
Other Thoughts: This is an ok beginner course, especially the second half that actually has some trees to avoid. The distances are reasonable, and there aren't too many places to lose a disc, though the walking path is even more of a safety concern with less accurate throwers. More experienced players won't find much challenge or variety here, and the elevation that could have made for at least a few nice holes is used poorly.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great view of River

1    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 323  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome view of river and very well kept park! There is a nice asphalt walking path.

9 baskets in the ground. This would make for a great practice area.
Cons: There are no tee pads or areas marked. There are no tee signs.

Several of the baskets have a sticker with the hole # but not all of them have hole #'s.

There is absolutely no way to tell what basket to play to. From the parking lot you can see all 9 baskets. We played counterclockwise from the basket near the parking lot to the next basket.
Other Thoughts: I climbed the hill on the west side of the park and played to the basket by the parking lot. Fun hole!

There are some really interesting areas in the park. There is a nice sloping grade and 2 nice ravine areas. With a redesign and the addition of tee pads and signs this could be a pretty good 9 hole course.

Do not drive out of your way to play this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite up to par

1    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful virw of the river. Great place to bird watch. 1/2 of the course has some nice trees and elevation variation and obsticles. Park is clean and well maintained.
Cons: Could only find 8 baskets. No tee markers of any kind. Hole numbers on only 2 baskets.
Other Thoughts: I used each basket as the "tee area" for the next hole and used 1 basket twice so as to make myself a round of 9. No way to number them as I decided where to start after walikng the entire course and seeing no real formal layout to fllow. A round of disc golf here is way better than NO disc golf. Nuf said. I will rate it as 1.5 as I was able to make it work.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.