Vassar, KS 
Pomona State Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #2 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 240ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pretty good once we made it there

1    8/18/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grass was mowed, plenty of shade and some benches in the shade along the course. Water available at the start of the course. Comfort level 10/10

The course incorporates quite a bit of obstacles that keep the holes interesting. One of the unique hazards are the cedar trees surrounding the basket on hole 5. 9/10

There are several shot lines to the basket that players have the choice of playing. 8/10 on decisionmaking

Discs are a breeze to find most of the time, but they are sometimes hard to retrieve from the cedar trees. One of my playing partners was stuck deep and it took us 15 minutes to get it out. Still 8/10

Navigation on the holes is pretty intuitive once you find the tee. Holes 5 and 6 are the only ones where you can't see the basket from the tee pad, but the tees do a good job of pointing you in the right direction. 8/10

The baskets are okay and the tees are concrete. The tees could use a bit more size but the course is short enough it's not a big deal. 7/10

Course was mowed very well. No tee signs present, but there were numbers on the tee pads. One trash can on the course at a point where two tee pads were nearby. Course maintenance 7/10

The lack of signs makes it difficult to see tees from previous baskets, but when you pay the $5 entrance fee they have brochures with a course map available that is very helpful and the tee pads say what hole they are for. 7/10

There is decent variety of shot paths. Holes 4 and 9 are left to right, while holes 3 and 5 are left to right. Most of the other holes provide an option for one or the other. 6/10
Cons: No alternate hole positions 0/10

The course is almost completely flat, with just a slight slope from one side of the course to the other. 1/10

There is not much variety in distance on the holes. The ninth hole is longer than the rest and the sixth hole is shorter than the rest, but most are somewhere between 250 and 300. 3/10

There is not a huge variety in openness on the shots. Most of the holes have scattered trees throughout the fairway. Holes 6 and 7 are a little more open while 3 and 5 are a bit more wooded. 4/10

This course does a good job of challenging beginners, but does not have enough distance to provide advanced players with a huge challenge. It does allow advanced players to work on approach shots, but they probably won't throw drivers except on hole 9. 5/10 on reasonably challenging all levels
Other Thoughts: Overall Challenge 3/10

We played this course in addition to the other Pomona Lake course at Wolf Creek, and actually enjoyed this one more. I feel like it may be a bit underrated due to the entrance fee, but I rated it solely based on the course and actually have it as closer to a 3 than to a 2.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 You can put 9 holes anywhere.

1    6/20/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 120  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing you can fit 9 holes into such a small area but still be plenty passable for multiple groups. Plenty of birdie holes. It is Pamona Lake, so you can camp and also play the 18 hole on the other side of the lake or drive 20 minutes East to Ottawa and play another 18 hole that is worth the drive if you are in the area. You can see the parking area from any place on the course, trashcan in the center and walking distance to the restrooms.
Cons: You have to pay a state parking fee of $4.20 (not kidding) unless you have a state pass or you are camping in the park...that's about all that I can think of for cons, it's pretty sweet for a short 9 hole.
Other Thoughts: HAPPY DISCIN'!!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Sweet, and Sleepy

1    4/28/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very clean, simple 9-hole course with nice equipment. This place has some hidden/protected baskets. That really helped make the course somewhat interesting. The baskets and cement tee pads are in great shape. Navigation here is crystal clear. The fairways are mowed to help with this. There was a great use of the trees to make the holes somewhat fun for the beginner.
Cons: This course is really short and there just isn't enough of a challenge to really get excited here. The piece of land is surrounded by the park's road and they crammed the holes in it.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is a bit lacking mostly because there just isn't much hole length variety going on here. Even with the hidden/protected pins, which are something I love, it is just too simple of course for me. Since it costs to get into the park, I would not pay to play here again. I actually, would probably not even play here again as it is just not challenging enough.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun training wheels course, but that's about it.

2-4    7/14/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They did a reasonably good job here with the parcel of land they had available. Tees and baskets are in good shape. Some cool blind pin holes make up for the short length. Course is very easy to negotiate even without a map. Mowed "park golf" style so there's little chance of losing a disc here. If you were camping at the lake and had got some non-DG'ers, this would be a perfect course to introduce them to the game.
Cons: Well, it was built for rec players and families. For advanced players, its not all that challenging and leaves a lot to be desired, particularly compared to the course in the corps park across the lake, which doesn't require paying to get into The tucked and blind pins are nice, but your biggest obstacle here is likely going to be the wind. If you're only going to stop by and play the course, not worth the price of entry.
Other Thoughts: Pomona is one of three state parks in Kansas with a disc course, this one being the only nine holer. KDWP land has a lot of good potential for future courses and Pomona is no exception as there is easily enough land in this park to build another more challenging course. I had initially planned to just do my photos here and move across to Wolf Creek for a round, but running late on time, I decided to change my plans and do a round here to loosen my arms up. I was rewarded with an ace on hole 6.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.