Eureka, CA 
College of the Redwoods Eureka Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #6
3 / 244ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Course closed/baskets removed

1    6/14/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: JDawgWW
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Cons: Baskets removed
Other Thoughts: Tried to play this course over the weekend and similar to the other reviewed came across sign at the first tee saying course closed. We talked to a grounds keeper and he said they shut down the course due to unwelcome player activity and not enough man power to keep up the course. Looked like a fun course...too bad.

Course was closed

1    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: johnz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Other Thoughts: Went over to play today, and found a bipod saying the course was closed. We walked around a bit, and it looks like it has fallen into a state of disrepair. (Either that, or we couldn't figure out where we were going) But it was certainly marked as closed... (I gave it a 3.0 rating because I couldn't say not applicable...)

CR

5+    5/22/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: VersitileArm
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging, long par 3 holes with water obstacles, trees, & wind to add. Few Duplicative holes and nice use of terrain. The scenery is beautiful, the school is a bit out of the way and without any tweezers or bums, and the course has a lot less traffic than other courses in the area.
Cons: The course is now closed nightly at 6pm and if want to play it while its "closed" security will harass you. 12 - 17 are closed for winters and 10 is closed during football games. The parking is a bit of a pain but better than paying to play.
Other Thoughts: While the course doesn't have staircases everywhere the back 9 do provide a vigorous hike. The exercise is nice but you might need a water bottle or snacks.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Course Playing Around The Football Stadium!

1    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course starts not 50 feet from the parking lot right near the Child Development Center. It plays around the tennis courts (1-6), behind the football stadium (7-10) and then on the hillside on the other side of the baseball field (12-18).

The fiberglass tee signs have the distance, Par, hole # and a map. The course has concrete tee pads and benches to rest on.

# 8 was a fun little ACE run teeing off from right off the back of the football stadium. It's a downhill shot, 245', to a basket currently sitting behind some junkie, old trailers.

# 10 was another interesting throw as well. You're throwing from the hillside right next to the stadium and have to cross the corner of the end zone and the track. The basket is located clear across the track in the corner in some trees. It's a fun chance to watch your disc sail majestically across the athletic field.

# 16 would be the epic downhill throw on this course. I would like to see some stairs built here. The climb up and down was a bit precarious for us older players.

Nice use of elevation on the back nine.

Cons: Probably my two favorites holes would not be playable on football Saturdays ( #'s 8 & 10). Perhaps the entire front nine might be shut down.

I've always pictured College Of The Redwoods as kind of an elite rich school but the facilities were pretty run down. I think the school's president has slashed the budget for the entire maintenance staff. There were lots of piles of debris lying around. The baseball field's fence needed repair. The landscaping was sad looking.

The long walkout between 10 -11 and 12 is not the best.

Other Thoughts: I did come across two deer on # 5. They paid me little mind even when I sailed my drive directly over their little red noses. Only when I walked towards them did they ever so slowly amble up the hillside. Probably not many rifle racks in the backs of pick ups here in the student's parking lot. Maybe not a lot of pick ups? Not much camo seen on campus?

Anyway, the tree hugging naturalist students have themselves a nice little course to play between classes here. I think they're pretty lucky. The deer are pretty lucky too. Up north in Washington, they'd be hanging in someone's locker by now! Bang!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

1    5/30/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: adrianlandon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played a lot of golf in Humboldt County and this is a great addition to the local offerings. I would say that this course is probably the most balanced of courses in Humboldt- as a player, you have to do a little bit of everything to play well. There is a nice mix of long and short, left and right, and tight and open holes. The course is also surprisingly scenic for being on the periphery of the college and takes you through both fields and Redwood forest. Although a good player can score well on the course, there is plenty of challenge and many of the tight lanes can certainly offer punishment.
Cons: Most of the other reviews hit on the issues with the course. The shot over the football field is fun but I imagine that it can't be played many times when school is in session (and an anhyzer will result in a lost disc). The shot after the football field (up on a grassy slope) was probably the most generic shot on the course and although it wasn't a bad shot, it felt like one that was crammed in to make eighteen. The course gets a little difficult to track around hole thirteen/fourteen but shouldn't be a problem with a little patience.
Other Thoughts: This course exceeded my expectations. I thought it would mostly be of interest as the first eighteen in Humboldt with baskets but the course design and variety of shots actually make this a destination course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

2-4    5/22/2013   9/30/2012
Review By: rcbclbcdb
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2013
Pros: Long holes, especially the 10 over the football field.
Fast paced holes.
Beautiful scenery.
Clear instructions on each hole.
Cons: Losing discs on holes 3 and 4.
on a school campus.
parking fees.
Getting Overgrown.
Water hazard at end of football field makes it impossible to find your disc if you hit it.
Other Thoughts: don't play during school hours parking is $2 a car.

A gem in the rough

1    8/10/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: Stan McDaniel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First of all, the course was a blast. I enjoyed the front 9ish that did not have too much terrain, but plenty of right and left action. The back side had all the terrain and it was a wonderful setting with lots of Redwoods and other large trees. Lots of shotmaking if you did not hit your lines off the tees. I would play this course a lot if I lived in the area.
Cons: Once again, on my west coast swing, the greens really need to be tended. There were a number of places where 20' or less from the pin did not yield a putt. I did not like the two holes on the athletic fields. Well, I liked them, but when school is in session I doubt that they are playable. I would rather have had a long transition walk to the other side of the fields and added two holes up on the hillside where the last holes are since they are killer holes. Need steps and goat trails/erosion control on the hills.
Other Thoughts: With a little work this course is easily a 4.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 MY HOME COURSE

5+    5/29/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: freakyflyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: EVERY GAME IS DIFFERENT. WIND IS ALLWAYS A FACTOR FROM LIGHT TO HEAVY WINDS . FLY LOW AND STREIGHT WHEN ON HOLE 4 . ON 16 THROW WAY DOWN OR YOU'LL LOSE DISC IN THE TREES.
Cons: ON 10 THE FOOTBALL FIELD, THE NETTING IS REALLY BAD AND TORN UP SO IF YOU ANI RIGHT OR FADE RIGHT TO HARD GOOD CHANCES ARE THE DISC IS GONE IN THE POND
Other Thoughts: THIS COURSE IS GREAT. BEST OF ALL THAT DISC GOLF HAS TO OFFER. THIS IS MY HOME COURSE AND THE PEOPLE ARE GREAT AND NEVER A WAIT . LOW TRAFFIC COURSE

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun mix of holes.

5+    5/26/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: ashmgee
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is interesting to play because it has a good variety of shots. There are some long shots like the one out over the football/track field, but there are also some nice short holes. Hole 12 starts up into a hillside that has lots of redwood trees, and most of these holes have good elevation changes. For Humboldt this course is somewhat unique being an 18 hole course that has 100% baskets and tee pads. The grounds crew seems to like creating obsticles on the front side of the course which makes for some interesting shots
Cons: 12-17 baskets are removed in the winter for erosion. Also CR has a police school so at times when they are on the range they make quite a bit of noise.(never noticed it being a big deal)
Other Thoughts: For Humboldt this is a great course to go play because it is not like any of the others we have here. It has a good mix of holes and there are several that demand a good second shot as well because of fast greens.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 College of the Redwoods Very Nice!

2-4    7/13/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Ryan LaRoche
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice clean course
-Solid consistent concrete tee pads
-Challenging, especially the back nine
-Nice nature filled course (saw deer among other wild animals)
-FREE! (not the case here on the East Coast)
-While challenging can be played easily with two or three discs
-Good use of the grounds in and around the campus
Cons: -All par three ( I know that is typical of northern California but it is not here on the East Coast)
-Long walks between a few holes
-Not well marked at the basket (it is on the tee signs but after playing a hole I was not always sure what the sign had said)
Other Thoughts: A really nice course. I enjoyed playing there and I look forward to my next trip to the west coast so I can play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center