Disc Golf Center

Course Extinct
Eureka, CA 
College of the Redwoods Eureka Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #5
3 / 327ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Interesting Course Playing Around The Football Stadium!

1    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course starts not 50 feet from the parking lot right near the Child Development Center. It plays around the tennis courts (1-6), behind the football stadium (7-10) and then on the hillside on the other side of the baseball field (12-18).

The fiberglass tee signs have the distance, Par, hole # and a map. The course has concrete tee pads and benches to rest on.

# 8 was a fun little ACE run teeing off from right off the back of the football stadium. It's a downhill shot, 245', to a basket currently sitting behind some junkie, old trailers.

# 10 was another interesting throw as well. You're throwing from the hillside right next to the stadium and have to cross the corner of the end zone and the track. The basket is located clear across the track in the corner in some trees. It's a fun chance to watch your disc sail majestically across the athletic field.

# 16 would be the epic downhill throw on this course. I would like to see some stairs built here. The climb up and down was a bit precarious for us older players.

Nice use of elevation on the back nine.

Cons: Probably my two favorites holes would not be playable on football Saturdays ( #'s 8 & 10). Perhaps the entire front nine might be shut down.

I've always pictured College Of The Redwoods as kind of an elite rich school but the facilities were pretty run down. I think the school's president has slashed the budget for the entire maintenance staff. There were lots of piles of debris lying around. The baseball field's fence needed repair. The landscaping was sad looking.

The long walkout between 10 -11 and 12 is not the best.

Other Thoughts: I did come across two deer on # 5. They paid me little mind even when I sailed my drive directly over their little red noses. Only when I walked towards them did they ever so slowly amble up the hillside. Probably not many rifle racks in the backs of pick ups here in the student's parking lot. Maybe not a lot of pick ups? Not much camo seen on campus?

Anyway, the tree hugging naturalist students have themselves a nice little course to play between classes here. I think they're pretty lucky. The deer are pretty lucky too. Up north in Washington, they'd be hanging in someone's locker by now! Bang!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun mix of holes.

5+    5/26/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: ashmgee
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is interesting to play because it has a good variety of shots. There are some long shots like the one out over the football/track field, but there are also some nice short holes. Hole 12 starts up into a hillside that has lots of redwood trees, and most of these holes have good elevation changes. For Humboldt this course is somewhat unique being an 18 hole course that has 100% baskets and tee pads. The grounds crew seems to like creating obsticles on the front side of the course which makes for some interesting shots
Cons: 12-17 baskets are removed in the winter for erosion. Also CR has a police school so at times when they are on the range they make quite a bit of noise.(never noticed it being a big deal)
Other Thoughts: For Humboldt this is a great course to go play because it is not like any of the others we have here. It has a good mix of holes and there are several that demand a good second shot as well because of fast greens.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/12/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *REVIEW TO BE UPDATED: This course was recently expanded to 18 holes and i've heard it's really really nice. can't wait to play it and update you all.
-don't think of this as "only a 9 hole" course. its pretty beefy.
-awesome job of incorporating existing structures as obstacles
-birdies were harder to come by here than any other humboldt 9er. similar to de la raza in difficulty.
-all concrete tees. flat and large.
-the tee on 8.
Cons: -small parking fee. not sure of the amount.
-may get crowded due to being on a college campus? its not in a high non-dg traffic area whatever the case.
Other Thoughts: -i can't imagine a better 9 hole course. its challenging, but fair. theres always a nice line to hit and a price to pay if you miss.
-5, 7, and 8 were sweet
-i won't rate a 9 hole course over 3.5, so this is as good as it gets IMO. i figure no 9 hole can equal the 18's i've rated at 4.
-shoutout to par infinity

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.