Eureka, CA
College of the Redwoods Eureka Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #5
3 / 327ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid

1    5/30/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: adrianlandon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played a lot of golf in Humboldt County and this is a great addition to the local offerings. I would say that this course is probably the most balanced of courses in Humboldt- as a player, you have to do a little bit of everything to play well. There is a nice mix of long and short, left and right, and tight and open holes. The course is also surprisingly scenic for being on the periphery of the college and takes you through both fields and Redwood forest. Although a good player can score well on the course, there is plenty of challenge and many of the tight lanes can certainly offer punishment.
Cons: Most of the other reviews hit on the issues with the course. The shot over the football field is fun but I imagine that it can't be played many times when school is in session (and an anhyzer will result in a lost disc). The shot after the football field (up on a grassy slope) was probably the most generic shot on the course and although it wasn't a bad shot, it felt like one that was crammed in to make eighteen. The course gets a little difficult to track around hole thirteen/fourteen but shouldn't be a problem with a little patience.
Other Thoughts: This course exceeded my expectations. I thought it would mostly be of interest as the first eighteen in Humboldt with baskets but the course design and variety of shots actually make this a destination course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

MY HOME COURSE

5+    5/29/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: freakyflyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: EVERY GAME IS DIFFERENT. WIND IS ALLWAYS A FACTOR FROM LIGHT TO HEAVY WINDS . FLY LOW AND STREIGHT WHEN ON HOLE 4 . ON 16 THROW WAY DOWN OR YOU'LL LOSE DISC IN THE TREES.
Cons: ON 10 THE FOOTBALL FIELD, THE NETTING IS REALLY BAD AND TORN UP SO IF YOU ANI RIGHT OR FADE RIGHT TO HARD GOOD CHANCES ARE THE DISC IS GONE IN THE POND
Other Thoughts: THIS COURSE IS GREAT. BEST OF ALL THAT DISC GOLF HAS TO OFFER. THIS IS MY HOME COURSE AND THE PEOPLE ARE GREAT AND NEVER A WAIT . LOW TRAFFIC COURSE

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 College of the Redwoods Very Nice!

2-4    7/13/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Ryan LaRoche
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice clean course
-Solid consistent concrete tee pads
-Challenging, especially the back nine
-Nice nature filled course (saw deer among other wild animals)
-FREE! (not the case here on the East Coast)
-While challenging can be played easily with two or three discs
-Good use of the grounds in and around the campus
Cons: -All par three ( I know that is typical of northern California but it is not here on the East Coast)
-Long walks between a few holes
-Not well marked at the basket (it is on the tee signs but after playing a hole I was not always sure what the sign had said)
Other Thoughts: A really nice course. I enjoyed playing there and I look forward to my next trip to the west coast so I can play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great time in the Redwoods

1    6/15/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Norcal Scot
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting
Very challenging, but worth it
concrete tees
bowl hole
Cons: Be prepared to look forever for a lost disc.
Other Thoughts: Gotta love the setting of this course. Great just for the hike, but the DG makes it perfect.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Go CR!

5+    7/19/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: trey-619-
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: So very nice to finally have an 18 hole tournament style course in Eureka! Great front nine, technical but most of which can be played with a mid range. Back nine is streched out a little, utilizing the hillside behind the school for its tight woods and sharp elevation changes. Challenging for both lefty and right handed players
Cons: I don't know if this really counts as a con, but here goes, as you are playing on school grounds no smoking or drinking allowed.
Other Thoughts: Check this course out!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/17/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2012
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent variety of holes
-All concrete tees (a first in Humboldt County) and baskets
-Great use of the land given
-Tight, technical holes
-Very Challenging (my best is still a 1+)
-Great sinage, with directions to next tee
-Great for a round in between classes, something for the dorm students to do, people living in Fortuna, Rio Dell, Scota, etc...
-Nice use of elevation, especialy on the back 9
-Huge downhill on hole 16
Cons: -Can be quite hard for a beginer
-Some holes realy punish a bad shot
-Some long walks between some of the holes
-Wind can be a big factor on some holes
-Long walk between holes 11 and 12.
-1$ parking charge (not realy that bad)
-Hole 16 could use a beter put in path, maby some stairs.
Other Thoughts: This is the newest course in Humboldt county and it is a very challenging course. The land the college gave us isn't the best, but we managed to put together a realy fun course with good distance, and some very tight and technical holes. I have gone to CR for years and was allways wanting to put a course in there, I'm realy glad to see it happen it will give students something to do between classes. This will also provide an outlet for dorm students who are often traped on campus by a lack of a car.

Edit* The course is now 18 holes. All of the tees are poured, there are signs up on all of the holes. The new 9 realy makes this course great, playing through the redwoods behind campus it has more elevation change than before and will challenge even expereinced throwers.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.