Dimock, SD 
Dimock City Park Share



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short Rec Course Circles The Ole Ballfield!

1    7/12/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 673  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This short little recreational course plays around the this really nice baseball field. Why does a town of 150 people have such a nice ballfield? I ought to write a review on the ballfield. I'd give it about a 3.5. But meanwhile back to the course. The tees are white boards in the ground sometimes with an orange cone marking them. They're sometimes kind of hard to locate. The baskets are okay with the number on top. You play around the field starting down the third base line, around left fielf, center and then finishing over behind first base. # 4 is long, straight and open, maybe 300 feet. The # 7 basket is sunk about about 6" lower than the others. # 9 is a longer hole, probably 400' playing back to behind home plate. It's kinda fun with a few obstacles in the way, including baseball fans and players.
Cons: It's not the greatest park in the world in which to build a course but I bet it was the best choice they have in Dimock, South Dakota. You'd probably have to skip # 9 if there was a ball game being played. It's kinda hard to navigate the first time around. The misquitos were chewing on me something fierce at 7 AM when I played.
Other Thoughts: If I lived in Dimock, I play this course every day and twice on Sunday. I'd play it backwards. I'd play it Safari style. I'd play it during the town's baseball team's double headers on Sunday afternoons. I'd rack up a few ACES in the process.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play if you're in town.

1    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Benak56
Played: 47  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New course.
- New baskets
- Well kept.
Cons: - Short short short.
- Not really a challenge.
- No paved tees
- Right next to a baseball diamond. One basket is only a few feet from the back fence and the last whole you actually have to throw over a road and past one of the dugouts.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, its worth stopping by but is a very recreational course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Small, get some aces!

1    6/1/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -New baskets
-Lots of ace chances, every hole.
-Not a lot of use at park.
-Holes 3 and 9 were my favorites. 3 runs along the outfield fence with trees in the way. 9 runs along the first base line and is long with a few obstacles along the outside.
Cons: -Very flat
-Few trees
-Very short
-No real obstacles and therefore little differences between holes except length and that doesn't differ a lot.
-Can be hard to navigate if you haven't been there before. It is marked by stakes which may or may not be there.
-Can be dangerous if there is a ball game going. Also watch out for city vehicles parked near the ball field.
Other Thoughts: Only play this course for practice, getting more courses played and reviewed or if you really want an ace. I only played it because I have family among the 130 residents of this small town.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.