Keizer, OR
Keizer Rapids Park Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #2 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Funky and Challenging..

2-4    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great Concrete tee pads
- Signage
- Mix of open long and wooded short holes
- Good mix of elevation
- Easy to get to from 1-5
- nice pdf map
Cons: - Even with signage, hard to navigate w/o map
- multiple blind (to the basket) in the woods, into low lying plants
- Bushes in open areas are great for disc to get lost
- 15th is a questionable par 3
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course currently in Salem (apparently more are in the works). Very easy to get to if you're an out of towner: Keizer exit from I-5 (260 on I-5 N), left at exit, left at the second light down Chemewa Rd., and stay on Chemewa until you get to the park.

Course goes from an open first hole to 2 - 10, which are somewhat open wooded holes (not ridiculously tight). These holes still require accurate straight, hyzer, and anhyzer shots over around an average of 250ft. The ground is covered in large ferns and leaf litter, so there is a chance of losing a disc if you kick off a tree or have your view blocked when you tee off. A couple of these holes have blind tee shots to the basket (4, 5, 8, and 10). The ground is not necessarily even on these holes, either, which makes them a little more interesting.

Holes 11 - 16 are more in this funky hilly open area, with few trees. The ground is lined with grass, some blackberry, some shrubery I don't know, and a pond. Lots of elevation here that is used well. It sorta looks like a wetland area that isn't a wetland, with hills. Whatever it is/was, it was my favorite part of the course.

Holes 11 & 13 have elevated tee pads to longer shots, around 400ft (always nice); hole 12 has the pond in play, with the basket about 200+ away on a small green peninsula (very nice).

My only complaint hole wise was hole 15. The hole starts with a 300ft fairway to a extreme dog leg left to the wooded basket, about 100ft from the dog leg. I am all for hard par 3s, but this is right on the border of being a moderate (not easy) par 4.

The course finishes with a ace run on hole 17, and a tunnel shot over what could be a pond at times on 18. The 18th hole crosses the path to get to hole 1, so it could be dangerous.

All in all, a well designed, challenging course. I would not consider it for beginners. Great use of the area given and excellent tee pads (grippy concrete). It would get a 4.0 from me if some of the ground plants and shrubbery gets cleaned up a bit more. I think an increase in use would do this as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

HATE is too weak of a word

2-4    9/30/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: Salem Disc Junkie
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Secluded course, quiet, wooded. Makes for a nice trek through nature, good workout.
Cons: The water hazards on 12 and 13 are avoidable if you know what you are doing. Not for beginners or for anyone that can't control their shots well. The overgrowth on many of the holes is HUGE. Bring a spotter and be prepared to spend a lot of time searching for your disc. Lost of POISON OAK!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: cacrat
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes
Shots require accuracy over distance
Shaded from the sun

Cons: Heavy underbrush
Heavily wooded
Hole signs unhelpful
Other Thoughts: This course, like so many before me have said, has potential. It felt as though the designer put tee pads and holes into a forest. There isn't much in the way of guidance to the hole location. There's even less on the location of the next tee. The fairways have thick underbrush, so much so that you could lose your disc even with a great shot. A shot in the rough will mean a lost disc. On the other hand, the placement so deep in the woods makes it feel secluded. I will go again, but I'll make sure to bring a spotter.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/20/2011   7/29/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 37  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
Pros: Rated this on potential, as when I played it I was not very good. Open holes, wooded holes, water hazard. Need to be able to control your discs to do your best. Should be a real good course in time. Now has concrete tees and good signage.
Cons: Lots of under growth in the woods. Grass can get real tall. Water hazard, if you can't throw straight and with control use the alt. tee box on 12.
Other Thoughts: Club still working on making this course better and better. Can't wait to see this course in the future.
Control is the most important thing with this course IMO.

Solid Course

1    4/22/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: ian1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Large variety of shots for any type of tosser. Doglegs left and right, variety of distance.
- Couple water holes add a twist.
- Concrete tee pads on most holes.
- Signs on most holes.
- Navigation not too bad (I figured it out the first time without a guide but a guide would be nice)
- Course was mostly dry, so it dries out fast (faster than Bryant at least)
- Decent scenery with the Willamette nearby.
- Wasn't too busy. I imagine this course never gets too crowded.
Cons: - Underbrush is heavy in the woods. Stay alert and keep an eye out.
- Stinging nettle is everywhere. Also saw some poison oak. Pants are recommended although I played in shorts (don't really mind nettle myself).
- Some of the wooded holes are a little too short for me but they are still fun.
- A few holes don't have signs.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. The wooded holes are a bit like a short Bryant park. The course seems to be coming together. Not great for kids or for beginners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Some Good Wooded Holes

2-4    7/6/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was actually my second trip to Keizer Rapids with my first time being Winter and I wasn't able to play all of the holes due to flooding. This time around the water is gone and the course is playable. There is a contrast here between holes between the first 10 or so holes and the rest of the course. The opening hole is open and longer and hole two is short and wooded; a trend that will continue. The wooded section here is on the shorter side and full of obstacles both on the ground and in the air. There are many fun throws here and tons of different paths to the baskets that you could try every time you play this course so it will never get boring. The more open holes with the scotch broom are more of a longer challenge and yet have more of an open fairway but still keeping the doglegs about.

The fairways on the wooded holes aren't completely defined and have ferns and other rough but I didn't have too much of a hard time trying to find discs as some of the other reviewers did. That being said spotters are recommend but I think aren't needed. Navigation is fairly easy except for the transition between 10 and 11 and course flow is pretty good too. I think they are using the land here pretty darn well, I have no major issues with the course design.
Cons: These tee pads aren't too bad but with enough play the dirt will get dug out and be uneven. Already there are roots grown in the middle of them and the pads are really short making throwing very far or straight a little tougher, luckily though most holes aren't too far.

Yes there is stinging nettles, poison oak, scotch broom and ferns all over the place and Summer time makes it even worse. This is the Northwest though so we have to expect these things but still it would be nice if the fairways were a little more defined on the ground.

During the Winter the course is flooded from the nearby river making only holes two through ten playable. I also think that at some point the baskets are pulled out during the Winter, but I'm not exactly sure when.
Other Thoughts: This is a great option down I-5 driving from Portland towards Albany. This isn't really a great place to take the family out to have fun at even though most holes are fairly short the obstacles and ground coverage could frustrate newer players.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great in Concept - Weak in Reality

2-4    6/26/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I can see the potential in this course through the course layout. It's clear that there are plenty of variety of shots that you can utilize here. I see this by playing the long hole of #11, and the holes that have the pond in play. Those few holes really does show the possibilities this course have to offer.
Cons: There are quite a few problems with this course. First of all, I have tried to play here few times when I'm in town. The previous two or three times, I was not able to play all 18 because of the flooding. I am incredulous about why this site was chosen for disc golf if it's flood-prone?

Now, in the summer, there's an insane amount of brush and the "rough" is really rough. This is especially evident to me in the back 9. The course doesn't feel like it has been maintained by anybody in a while.

There's no concrete tee pads, and there's lack of signage that would have helped speed up the play for everyone who visit here.
Other Thoughts: I found it to be difficult to justify giving this course a rating of three as some other reviewers have. There are more noteworthy courses deserving a score of three (or more) such as Pier Park, Milo McIver, Adair, Willamette. Those courses provide you with more pleasant playing experiences Again, I really believe that the lack of maintenance on this course really does hurt the ability of a person to truly unwind and enjoy playing a game of disc golf.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course but needs some love.

1    5/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: rudeboy1369
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice design, good mix of technical and some distance. Has a good mix of lines, really does not favor rightys or leftys. The pond adds a nice bit of diffaculty.
Cons: Lack of signage is one of the biggest things, finding the first tee was not really that easy,, had to ask a few people before I found it. Distance and pin placement would be nice. There are a few tees that are hard to find after finishing holes, but not really all that difficult with a bit of wandering and some more asking.
Other Thoughts: This course has lots of potential. Some clearing of the underbrush and brambles, and it could be really great. Really looking forward to seeing how it can be in the future.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Time And Player Use Will Improve This Course!

1    5/30/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set partly in a fairly thick forest area with plenty of trees and thick underbrush and partially out in an open area. The forest area is still very dense in some areas with ferns that hide discs, six foot tall nettles, poison oak and a large variety of trees. The open area is a cross between a meadow and a vacant lot. It has lots of scotch broom and enough smaller trees to keep it interesting. Being a new course, the baskets are new. The teepads are currently natural and were slippery when wet. Navigation is a little dicey. There are some small signs pointing the way but more are needed. The on-line map helped but still we walked in three different directions trying to find # 1 tee. As stated before, there is one hole over water but the average recreational players can clear it. If not, a alternate pad is available.
Cons: The course is in it's infancy. Currently, a spotter is recommended on many holes. If the local club can stay ahead of the vandalism, continue to make improvements such as concrete pads, benches and better signage, and if the park department will contribute to the cause by taking care of the poison oak and if the course gets enough play to naturally beat down the nettles and scotch broom, KR can continue to grow and get better. BUT, if the local disc golf population is content to play it like it is, it will remain average.
Other Thoughts: I'll be back to play this course again sometime. I'll be curious to see what has happened. With some much needed improvements, I'll be happy to improve upon my rating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: McDilligaf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I loved that it was/is still fairly new!!! It is reminded me of Woodmansee back in the day, very rugged NICE :) SWEET mix of distance and technical!!
Cons: Unfortunatly I was on a lunck break from work and did not have the time to find a course map and the one provided was hard to follow..............I found hole 11 and played from there as I did not have the time to piss aboot LOL But I can not WAIT to go back and get the layout of this one!!!!!!!!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.