Keizer, OR 
Keizer Rapids Park Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 286ft.   3 / 286ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
I'm not worthy

1    5/12/2016   5/20/2016
Review By: TertiaryObjective
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenic wooded course
Quiet and peaceful
Challenging but fun design
Cons: Fairways overgrown
Possible to get lost on your first time - digital course map on the phone helped a lot
Other Thoughts: Not for the unworthy! Get off of the fairway and spend a lot of time searching for the disc in the tall grass and blackberry brambles. I speak from experience; I didn't finish all 18 because I spent too long looking for discs and had to leave. I avoided any poison oak rashes by washing discs, arms, and legs with technu when I got home.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kinda confusing

1    9/10/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: INFECTED503
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging course
Cons: Very challenging and confusing course.
It was very hard to find to start with.
Some holes have signs, some do not.
If they do the sign faces into the trees and is harder to see then trying to find a disc.
#17's sign is no where near the pad... or maybe I missed something

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/20/2011   7/29/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 59  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rated this on potential, as when I played it I was not very good. Open holes, wooded holes, water hazard. Need to be able to control your discs to do your best. Should be a real good course in time. Now has concrete tees and good signage.
Cons: Lots of under growth in the woods. Grass can get real tall. Water hazard, if you can't throw straight and with control use the alt. tee box on 12.
Other Thoughts: Club still working on making this course better and better. Can't wait to see this course in the future.
Control is the most important thing with this course IMO.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Some Good Wooded Holes

2-4    7/6/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 239  Reviewed: 229  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2016
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was actually my second trip to Keizer Rapids with my first time being Winter and I wasn't able to play all of the holes due to flooding. This time around the water is gone and the course is playable. There is a contrast here between holes between the first 10 or so holes and the rest of the course. The opening hole is open and longer and hole two is short and wooded; a trend that will continue. The wooded section here is on the shorter side and full of obstacles both on the ground and in the air. There are many fun throws here and tons of different paths to the baskets that you could try every time you play this course so it will never get boring. The more open holes with the scotch broom are more of a longer challenge and yet have more of an open fairway but still keeping the doglegs about.

The fairways on the wooded holes aren't completely defined and have ferns and other rough but I didn't have too much of a hard time trying to find discs as some of the other reviewers did. That being said spotters are recommend but I think aren't needed. Navigation is fairly easy except for the transition between 10 and 11 and course flow is pretty good too. I think they are using the land here pretty darn well, I have no major issues with the course design.
Cons: These tee pads aren't too bad but with enough play the dirt will get dug out and be uneven. Already there are roots grown in the middle of them and the pads are really short making throwing very far or straight a little tougher, luckily though most holes aren't too far.

Yes there is stinging nettles, poison oak, scotch broom and ferns all over the place and Summer time makes it even worse. This is the Northwest though so we have to expect these things but still it would be nice if the fairways were a little more defined on the ground.

During the Winter the course is flooded from the nearby river making only holes two through ten playable. I also think that at some point the baskets are pulled out during the Winter, but I'm not exactly sure when.
Other Thoughts: This is a great option down I-5 driving from Portland towards Albany. This isn't really a great place to take the family out to have fun at even though most holes are fairly short the obstacles and ground coverage could frustrate newer players.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I ended up with scratches

1    4/18/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: Puddy47
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide terrain variety, challenging layout, and an abundance of trees make this a difficult course. It's definitely a challenge if you're looking for one but be ready for some intensely wooded areas, and thick bushes and undergrowth.
Cons: The course is almost completely un-groomed, which makes it very easy to lose discs. Very hard to navigate, especially due to the lack of provided maps. Poison oak was present and the woods have a tendency to be hard to traverse.
Other Thoughts: Be ready for a hard day. Definitely not a course to just go play for a fun relaxing time with buddies. Someone needs to take a lawnmower down there. Your discs will hit trees, that's almost a guarantee. Just be ready for a temper testing ride. If you are not an experienced golfer, I wouldn't recommend it for fun. However, If you are a player comfortable in your abilities looking for a challenging day of blood and sweat this course does offer a serious challenge.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good for now

5+    8/10/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: 1kevinl
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Its a full 18 shots which is nice.
-Its a lot of fun trying to avoid the trees
-Theres a mix of woodsy and open fields
Cons: -Poison oak is literally everywhere right now.
-Easy to lose disc on the first 10 holes.
-Hornets are around holes 5-7. I got stung 4 times on hole 7
Other Thoughts: All in all its a really fun coarse but just need to watch out. If you throw bad just one time it can be the end of your disc. I recommend having a spotter for some of the first 10 holes. If you cant throw the disc that far then do the alternative route for hole 12 cause you have to cross a pond.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.