Keizer, OR 
Keizer Rapids Park Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Time And Player Use Will Improve This Course!

1    5/30/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set partly in a fairly thick forest area with plenty of trees and thick underbrush and partially out in an open area. The forest area is still very dense in some areas with ferns that hide discs, six foot tall nettles, poison oak and a large variety of trees. The open area is a cross between a meadow and a vacant lot. It has lots of scotch broom and enough smaller trees to keep it interesting. Being a new course, the baskets are new. The teepads are currently natural and were slippery when wet. Navigation is a little dicey. There are some small signs pointing the way but more are needed. The on-line map helped but still we walked in three different directions trying to find # 1 tee. As stated before, there is one hole over water but the average recreational players can clear it. If not, a alternate pad is available.
Cons: The course is in it's infancy. Currently, a spotter is recommended on many holes. If the local club can stay ahead of the vandalism, continue to make improvements such as concrete pads, benches and better signage, and if the park department will contribute to the cause by taking care of the poison oak and if the course gets enough play to naturally beat down the nettles and scotch broom, KR can continue to grow and get better. BUT, if the local disc golf population is content to play it like it is, it will remain average.
Other Thoughts: I'll be back to play this course again sometime. I'll be curious to see what has happened. With some much needed improvements, I'll be happy to improve upon my rating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: McDilligaf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I loved that it was/is still fairly new!!! It is reminded me of Woodmansee back in the day, very rugged NICE :) SWEET mix of distance and technical!!
Cons: Unfortunatly I was on a lunck break from work and did not have the time to find a course map and the one provided was hard to follow..............I found hole 11 and played from there as I did not have the time to piss aboot LOL But I can not WAIT to go back and get the layout of this one!!!!!!!!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Best in Salem

5+    5/12/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: gottobtrue
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice trails.
Good mix of short/long and technical/power throws.
Great aesthetics... Backwoods feel yet 5 minutes out of town.
Cons: Still in development process.
Sometimes hard to see where disc lands.
Other Thoughts: Technical course not ideal for first timers. However, beginners should do fine with a spotter.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I ended up with scratches

1    4/18/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: Puddy47
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide terrain variety, challenging layout, and an abundance of trees make this a difficult course. It's definitely a challenge if you're looking for one but be ready for some intensely wooded areas, and thick bushes and undergrowth.
Cons: The course is almost completely un-groomed, which makes it very easy to lose discs. Very hard to navigate, especially due to the lack of provided maps. Poison oak was present and the woods have a tendency to be hard to traverse.
Other Thoughts: Be ready for a hard day. Definitely not a course to just go play for a fun relaxing time with buddies. Someone needs to take a lawnmower down there. Your discs will hit trees, that's almost a guarantee. Just be ready for a temper testing ride. If you are not an experienced golfer, I wouldn't recommend it for fun. However, If you are a player comfortable in your abilities looking for a challenging day of blood and sweat this course does offer a serious challenge.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good for now

5+    8/10/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: 1kevinl
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Its a full 18 shots which is nice.
-Its a lot of fun trying to avoid the trees
-Theres a mix of woodsy and open fields
Cons: -Poison oak is literally everywhere right now.
-Easy to lose disc on the first 10 holes.
-Hornets are around holes 5-7. I got stung 4 times on hole 7
Other Thoughts: All in all its a really fun coarse but just need to watch out. If you throw bad just one time it can be the end of your disc. I recommend having a spotter for some of the first 10 holes. If you cant throw the disc that far then do the alternative route for hole 12 cause you have to cross a pond.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Still rough, but great potential

2-4    8/8/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Challenging but not exhausting
- Excellent variety of terrain (woods vs. fields)
- Excellent variety of lengths and shot types
- Pretty good flow; can be followed even without a map
Cons:
- No hard-surface teepads...yet
- Poison oak & stinging nettles
- Disc-eating ferns and other underbrush
- Some wooded holes are really a crapshoot
- Poison oak (it's worth repeating)
Other Thoughts:
Keizer Rapids Park sits on a swath of undulating terrain on a bend in the Willamette River (although you never actually see the river from the course). About half of the disc golf course is in a thick fern-filled forest of maple, fir, and alder, and half is out in the gravelly open, with scotch broom, cottonwoods, and willows for obstacles. There's one water hazard, which shouldn't be much of a hazard for anyone who can throw 200 feet. A few holes have minor elevation changes, but most of the course is flat.

The holes have a great variety of distances and layouts, although I think many people will find a few of the wooded holes to be a little frustrating. Some of those fairways are very narrow or nearly non-existent, and for most people, there's going to be a lot of luck involved in getting a good drive through there. The good news is that the worst of them (#3, #4, and #7) are fairly short.

While I don't usually enjoy wide-open sections much, I think Keizer's "meadow" holes are different enough from each other to keep it interesting. The pond adds some variety, and a few well-placed trees and shrubs can get in your way. The longest hole, at 460 feet, is not ridiculously long.


Note that the course was first worked on in June of 2009, and baskets were only just installed in July; the teepads are still dirt rectangles marked by simple toe boards. A map is very helpful, but even if you don't have one, you can still follow the course; look for spray-painted arrows and red rocks on the ground.

While lot of work has been done to clear the big plants and small trees that were in the fairways, the underbrush is still very, very thick. Few, if any, of the big sword ferns have been (or will be) removed, and those fronds are very good at hiding discs -- even when you think you made a pretty good throw to the middle of the fairway (this is especially true on #9 and #10). And poison oak is EVERYWHERE. In the open areas, it forms a border around the trees and shrubs; in the woods, it grows as small plants and also climbs as a vine 50 feet up the trees. Hopefully the Keizer Parks Department has plans to eradicate more of it.

I think that some day this will be a 4-star course; it's both challenging and fun, and that's what you want in a disc golf course, right? So I'll give it a "4" for the layout and the nice new baskets, and a "1" for the current rough conditions. (I'll update my review once the brush gets cleared, the poison oak gets sprayed, and the concrete teepads get poured.)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Currently a rough work in progress

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: 420discgolf
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2009
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Brand new Mach III baskets
- Free
Cons: - Uneven natural pads
- Thick undergrowth even in the middle of fairways
- Poison Oak and Stinging Nettles are everywhere, including fairways and greens
Other Thoughts: This course is brand spanking new.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.