Ingleside, TX 
Live Oak Park - Gold Share
Uploaded By: Roc1Time Hole #11 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Welcome To The Woods

5+    11/29/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 12/20/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Best course in this area of the state. Challenges around every corner and dogleg. So tough is this course, that it never plays the same. Just try to remove the "tree magnets" from your discs! I love this course. Wish this was up in Austin as well. Holes 1-9 play in the woods behind the two ball fields in Live Oak Park. Hole 10 brings you out of the woods temporarily. Holes 11-15 bring you back in the woods then holes 16-18 are mostly open grip and rip holes. Watch out for the trees and keep that disc in the fairway.
Cons: If there are any, it's the trees! Too many chances to lose a disc in the brush or high trees. Lots of trash scattered throughout the course due to not too many trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Practice basket was stolen recently. Hope the thieves suffer a bad attack of conscience! Either that, or maybe someone or something will ruin their good time one of these days. Favorite hole is number 8. It may not be a good ace hole, but definitely easy to deuce. Holes 2, 5, 8, 11 & 15 good birdie holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Drive

2-4    7/24/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Riceman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everyone has done a great job with their review. I agree with all of the comments, so I will say the best thing about this course is the traffic. There is none. Four of us played this course and the red course over several hours and saw only one other group of players. Wow! I play Cedar Hill every weekend and set my alarm to beat the crowds.
Cons: THORNS! I came out looking like a mountain lion attacked me. I'm not sure if long socks will even help. Jeans will work, but you'll probably pass out from the heat in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Locals should really spread the word about how great disc golf is and what great courses they have. This makes a great weekend disc golf trip. Corpus is only 15-20 minutes away.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hardest course in the state!

2-4    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the toughest course in the state of Texas! This course is not for the faint at heart, you must be able to throw 325-350 to have a chance at shooting par here because of the 8,458 feet of pure golf and a par 65. There are nice discatchers and good tee pads as well, and a practice basket to boot. The tee signs are nice and make navigation alot easier. There is every kind of shot that you can throw on this course from annys to hyzers and thumbers to rollers and everything in between. It flows pretty well and easy to follow once you get around once. I will include a little description of each hole to help newcomers. Also check out the pics and you should get a good idea of each hole.

Hole 1 Par 4 625: Tight off of the tee, must make it past the first group of trees to have a chance at a bird. There is a patch of trees that you can see off of the tee that sit about 340 and ideal shot is to get just past those to have about a 275 shot towards the basket, which is guarded by another big group of trees. There are a couple of lines through those trees or this is one spot where you can go over…..but look out for the sticky Live Oaks that love grabbing disc! Don't throw too deep because there is a ravine just behind the green. After this hole take a right and go about 45 degrees across the street to hole 2's tee.

Hole 2 Par 3 228: Get your bird, oh wait don't hit those trees. Throw a good line here to get past the couple of trees off of the tee and then get over the hump just on the other side of the ravine.

Hole 3 Par 4 585: I think this is the tightest fairway on the course. Big horseshoe shot where you just want to throw hyzer, then hyzer, then hyzer (RHBH) for a par. If you can throw 2 great 275 foot hyzers you might get a bird. STAY on the fairway and watch out for the trees or the score will skyrocket quickly!

Hole 4 Par 3 345: This should be a bird for most Pro/Adv players as the fairway is pretty forgiving and it is a pretty easy hyzer shot if you can get past the trees off of the tee.

Hole 5 Par 3 261: This is a tight fairway shot that favors a lefty shot or a RHBH shot. Don't hit early off the tee because this hole is very unforgiving on upshots.

Hole 6 Par 4 570: On this hole you can throw 2 different shots, a straight hyzer through the tight hole to get out to the ravine or flick down the left side where the fairways is wider but harder to get into it. Try to get just short of the ravine to have about a 260 shot to the green.

Hole 7 Par 4 510: Straight about 325 but watch out for the tree off the tee and make sure it goes straight. If you turn it over you will find yourself in a batch of shule which all you can do is throw back into the fairway. If you hyzer it too much you cannot attack the green for a bird because you have to go left to get around the corner. If you can get that 325 shot you can see the basket and throw your mid and possibly get your bird.

Hole 8 Par 3 305: Anny shot that you can turn a mid all the way there or throw a flick. Don't throw too high over the basket because this seems to be the most unforgiving trees on the course. I saw 4 discs on this hole in the trees and lost mine here too. BEWARE!

Hole 9 Par 4 558: Ugly shot off of the tee, do not hit that tree. If you can throw 275 and hit the fairway straight, you will have another 275 soft hyzer shot through a tight tunnel to the green.

Hole 10 Par 4 595: This is a shot out of the trees in which a 325 soft anny shot will wet your lips and give you an open 250 mid shot back into the trees where the green is and an opportunity at a bird.

Hole 11 Par 3 222: Flick or soft little hyzer shot to get there for a bird.

Hole 12 Par 4 537: Watch out for that tree and hit the hole in the fairway that sits about 250 for another chance at a bird. If you can hit that gap you will have a flick or anny through a tunnel to another green that is guarded.

Hole 13 Par 3 348: Another hyzer shot through a tight tunnel. Get around the corner with a skip and you will have a putt at a pretty open green that has only a couple trees.

Hole 14 Par 5 785: X marks the spot except in this case. DO NOT hit those trees if you want a chance on this hole. The goal here is a 275 straight shot or soft hyzer to an opening where you will have a flick shot or another short mid shot to the next landing spot. If you land near this landing spot you can either throw another straight shot through the tunnel or go up and over and will give you a chance at a bird or at least an easy up shot for a par.

Hole 15 Par 3 260: ACE run……just throw straight!

Hole 16 Par 3 375: Big hyzer shot around a corner to a slightly elevated green that is tucked into the trees.

Hole 17 Par 4 660: Out off the trees into the open field. Anywhere out here will give you and open shot back to the green that is tucked back into a hole cut out of the trees.

Hole 18 Par 4 689: You think that the misery is over but you aint done yet. Out of the trees again but this one is tougher to get out of. Get out into the field and you can air out some of your anger, just watch out for the pond that protects the left side of the fairway and the green. Wind seems to push you towards the pond and from what I hear it is deep, even now that the water is down. And now you are done. I hope you enjoyed the journey!

The fairways are just that fairways and if you are off of the fairway, you have to throw out of shule, and at most points just take your punishment and get back into the fairway. You have to be able to throw 5 foot off of the ground, off of most tees because there is no route to go over or around the trees. Even for the most part in the fairways there are no routes over the trees due to the canopy which is also nice to shade you from the brutal Texas heat. Most every hole has a true par for the hole and require you to place your shots to set up for the next one. And you have to hit those spots or there is no way to get that par or even sniff the bird! This course will test your mental game and your durability with every shot that you throw and every step that you take.


Cons: This course is so new that are some negatives that are very hard to overlook. The fairways in part are very tough because it has only been in the ground for about 10 days. There is a lot of debris scattered throughout which takes away a skip and a roller for the most part. I like throwing forehand rollers to get out of trouble, which I was in a lot, and that shot just isn't there yet except for a couple spots. The rough is just that….ROUGH! If you are off the fairway you will be in pain (both with your shot and physically). No places to sit as of yet but once again I was told that the benches are in the works. HOT!!! Bring tons of cold drinks because you don't really go back towards the parking lot and it could make for a miserable round if you run out. Damn Live Oaks, these things love catching disc and not letting go. I saw probably 5-8 discs that were in trees that people just leave because they cant get them down.
Other Thoughts: This course will get a 5 disc rating for me I am sure of it in the future. There are just too many things that haven't been done yet and it is just to new to get one as of yet. Once this course gets beat in a bit it will be greatness. I was talking to a pro that was down here for the tourney and he also designed some of the other tough courses in Texas, and asked him about his how this compared to his other 2 masterpieces (East Metro and Circle C), and he stated to me that this is the toughest course in Texas and the second hardest he has played right behind Renny Gold if that is any comparison. I have a feeling that this course will get beat in pretty quickly once the word gets out and I also think that the SSA will prove how hard this course is over a couple of events. Come down and enjoy 36 holes in the same park (Live Oak Red and Gold)and see the tale of two courses. The pics that I have uploaded show line from the tee pads and then preferred landing spots in the fairways, use at your own discretion.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.