Spring Valley, IL 
Echo Bluff Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #1 (Taken 7/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Teepad



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bad

1    7/8/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a small piece of private property. There are a few holes that incorporate some minor elevation changes, with a couple downhill shots and a couple that play uphill. The first few holes bring some trees into play, with a little bit of brushy rough that could punish errant shots. There is a course map inside the shop that helps with navigation.
Cons: When I played, 4 baskets were missing, and it seems like at least some of them have been missing for a long time. The baskets that were left were pretty beat up, most were bent and leaning. The tees are just rough dirt spots marked out with some bricks, and aren't marked in any way. The course is crammed into a small area, so the holes are short and don't provide much challenge. Roads and picnic areas come into play on several holes and there could be some safety issues if these are in use.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the holes reasonable with some interesting lines. More experienced players won't find much of a test here, and there's not enough variety to keep things interesting for multiple rounds. The first couple holes are interesting enough to merit half a disc for this course, but the long term missing baskets and general feeling of disuse make this a course to avoid.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    7/8/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set within a private, multi-use recreational area that has a paintball area, pavilions, firepits, trails, etc. The disc golf seems to wind amongst the various things (minus the paintball), so you might have to wait at times.
- There are trees and forest in use at the course, with some holes playing through groves of trees, and others playing through tighter lanes in the woods.
- Some decent elevation changes here, #1 is a little downhill shot and #2 is an uphill shot. Nothing spectacular, but noticeable.
- There are teepads, though they aren't in the best shape. Portable baskets are meh, map in the 'pro shop' is accurate IF all the baskets are out.
Cons: - This is a borderline course; if there weren't any teepads it would be some portable baskets strewn about leftover land. The holes are extremely short, and it was missing 3 baskets when I went there. Even with all the baskets, it is a beginners course at the very best.
Other Thoughts: - Bureau County Metro Center is 10.7 miles away, and is the FAR superior course in almost every way. Unless it is purely for checking this course of the list, I would avoid this place.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Cool Name, Course Was Weak

1    9/10/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: Lefty IL
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, I love the name.
Cool location down in the valley between Spring Valley and Princeton.
Very easy, and has recently been changed to a FREE course. This course would be a great for beginners, or to even take your kids or nieces and nephews.
Cons: -Pretty much an open field with baskets (DGA M-14) scattered about.
-The tees are impossible for a lefty to throw from.
-Hours limited (suppose to be 9-5 but they were not open at 1pm on a friday the first time I tried to play the course)
-Just too easy, not a course to even waste your time with.
Other Thoughts: Just went to play this course to waste time on my work lunch break. Which it did work perfect for that, but I was expecting a lot more from the secluded location in terms of cool holes.
I even went thinking I had to pay to play, but ended up finding out it was free. If I had to pay, I would have been very disappointed.
Do not waste your time at this course. It is, in my opinion, by far the worst course in the area. Sorry Echo Bluff, but I keep it real.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bluff the Bet

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very short beginner friendly course.

Most of the course plays in the open and on the edge of a heavily wooded area.

Once you find hole #1 it is very easy to navigate.

A round of 9 can be played in 15-20 minutes.

It has tee pads (wood chips), tee signs (homemade), and baskets (dga m-14 portables).
Cons: I expect more from a pay to play course. If this were a free course i'd probably give it a 1.5 rating. This is not worth paying 50 cents to play.

Hours are limited.

Tee signs are homemade and right next to the tee pad. They get in the way when throwing.

Baskets are DGA Portable M-14. Most of them are not level. They however caught an ace!
Other Thoughts: http://www.echobluff.org

The tee to hole #1 is on the other side of the building.

Do not go out of your way to play this course!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth it.

1    7/29/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The forest area out here is nice, which is what you'd expect considering you have to pay to even come here. That's about it...
Cons: You have to pay to play. It's not even that incredible. On average the hole length is 220 feet and it the shot selection doesn't vary too much. A lot of the baskets are the same shot type and there's only 9 holes. The tees are woodchips and the baskets aren't too impressive. The course has limited hours and only has one set of pins and tees. :/
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't waste my time or money going out here to play. There's not many disc golf courses out here and the ones that are are all only 9 holers. It's not worth it to come out here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.