Disc Golf Store
Flushing, MI 
Flint YMCA Share
Uploaded By: Beastman Hole #1 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 FOR CHILDREN AND BEGINNERS

5+    6/28/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Discgolf Duncan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good for very young and beginner players.
- Takes less than 30 minutes to get through the course.
- A good short game/putt practice course.
- Easy aces if you practice enough.
Cons: - Not very tidy
- Lots of woody areas that seem to be "hobo holes"
- Animal skeletons are littering the high grass and wooded areas. Be careful with kids.
- Poison ivy is also out there.
- Fairways aren't kept up as well as they could be.
- Hole 6 is a bit confusing because the basket is actually left of you from the tee, but you see the basket to hole 8 right in front of you through a clearing.
- MOSQUITOES!
- Careful with the berries out there if you have children that like to try things.
- Tees are just dirt patches with a 2x4 barrier around them.
Other Thoughts: I only play this course because it's only a 2 minute drive from work or home for me. This is a mediocre course for improving your short game and your putts. The only real challenge on this course is trying to finish hole 9 in 3. If I have the time, I'd rather head across town to Goldenrod DG Course for a better challenge.

Overall: Not worth a trip to play unless you live close by.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Flint Town

5+    9/15/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-This is a good place for beginners to learn the game at! It's also a fun ace run course for better players. It's not just wide open either, every hole is unique and demands accuracy.

-Even through the course is very short and easy for the most part, the last three holes are legit par 3's.
Cons:
-If you have never played here you WILL get confused navigating after hole #5. When you walk up to the #6 tee sign, you have to turn to your left and look 30 ft. through a vine patch to see the basket. Throw to that basket! After that you will see hole #7 and it's easy from there.

-The tee boxes are small and squared off by pieces of wood. It's possible you could trip on them if your not careful. Also there's some spots on the course where the brush can be very thick if you shank your throw. Don't forget Bring bug spray either!

-9Holes
Other Thoughts:
-The only other course thats really in the Flint area is Goldenrod and that's way on the other side of town, so it good they built another course for the people in the area.

-I didn't rate this course low because of the design. My rating would definitely go up if they added things like concrete tees, better tee/navigation signs, or even 9 more holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One For The Short Game

1    9/2/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good course if you are looking to work on your approach shots. The holes are very short.
Cons: I totally missed holes 6 and 7. They weren't clearly marked. Tee pads are the ground with 4x4's outlining the area. Due to the lack of the need for a running start or a multiple step approach, the ground is fine. Up-keep is lacking.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see this course improve in quality for next season. A couple longer holes could be added with the large grass area adjacent to the parking lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Beastman
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its free. Would be a good course for kids or someone new to the game. First five holes are less than 180'. Hole 7 & 8 are in the low 200' range and #9 is about 350'.
Cons: I think they forgot about hole #6 when they installed the course. The basket in front of you is the one for hole #8. Basket for #6 is to the left of tee box thru the brush about 30'. (not a typo i do mean 30'). Posts are in the ground where tee boxes are but no signage. Tee boxes are grass with wood frames. Baskets one thru five are numbered the others are not marked. Small stumps on fairways.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the effort from the folks at the YMCA . We need all the DG courses we can in the Flint area. Could get a better rating if length was added.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.