Flushing, MI 
Flint YMCA Share
Uploaded By: Beastman Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Thoughts from the designer

5+    10/4/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: BoomerangRich
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am the designer and builder of this course, and it was made to go along with the new day camp out there, Camp Boomerang. I have been playing a lot the last couple of years, and wanted to have a course for the kids at my camp to play.
With that in mind, we tried to keep things relatively short, increasing in difficulty as the holes go on.
From my perspective, things that are good about the course...
-You must be very accurate to do well on this course, it is not friendly to players who are big throwers(like myself)
-It is free and open to the public (the more traffic, the better it will get.)
-We are still building, signs should be up next spring with yardages, hole names, etc., and if becomes more popular, I could maybe talk my boss into 9 more holes.
Cons: -It was pretty well received by most kids who came to camp this summer, but with there being little traffic on the course, it will definitely punish you if you have an errant throw into the brush.
-Hole 9 is a bit ridiculous, as I designed the first 8 holes and let the maintenance guy come up with the 9th. It is definitely one of the more challenging holes around though.
-Too much trash and debris. (feel free to help out as much as you want, we took half a car out of there one day last summer)
Other Thoughts: My bad on hole number six...our goal was to call it the boomerang hole(because it is Camp Boomerang's course) and shape it like a boomerang. For kids, it is a challenging hole because they can't throw over those trees and have to go around. For adults it is an easy birdie though.
Because it is meant for and played by kids, please respect the course by not signing posts with profanity or leaving beer bottles lying around on the ground(probably shouldn't be drinking on YMCA property anyways)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Flint Town

5+    9/15/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 111  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-This is a good place for beginners to learn the game at! It's also a fun ace run course for better players. It's not just wide open either, every hole is unique and demands accuracy.

-Even through the course is very short and easy for the most part, the last three holes are legit par 3's.
Cons:
-If you have never played here you WILL get confused navigating after hole #5. When you walk up to the #6 tee sign, you have to turn to your left and look 30 ft. through a vine patch to see the basket. Throw to that basket! After that you will see hole #7 and it's easy from there.

-The tee boxes are small and squared off by pieces of wood. It's possible you could trip on them if your not careful. Also there's some spots on the course where the brush can be very thick if you shank your throw. Don't forget Bring bug spray either!

-9Holes
Other Thoughts:
-The only other course thats really in the Flint area is Goldenrod and that's way on the other side of town, so it good they built another course for the people in the area.

-I didn't rate this course low because of the design. My rating would definitely go up if they added things like concrete tees, better tee/navigation signs, or even 9 more holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One For The Short Game

1    9/2/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good course if you are looking to work on your approach shots. The holes are very short.
Cons: I totally missed holes 6 and 7. They weren't clearly marked. Tee pads are the ground with 4x4's outlining the area. Due to the lack of the need for a running start or a multiple step approach, the ground is fine. Up-keep is lacking.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see this course improve in quality for next season. A couple longer holes could be added with the large grass area adjacent to the parking lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Beastman
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its free. Would be a good course for kids or someone new to the game. First five holes are less than 180'. Hole 7 & 8 are in the low 200' range and #9 is about 350'.
Cons: I think they forgot about hole #6 when they installed the course. The basket in front of you is the one for hole #8. Basket for #6 is to the left of tee box thru the brush about 30'. (not a typo i do mean 30'). Posts are in the ground where tee boxes are but no signage. Tee boxes are grass with wood frames. Baskets one thru five are numbered the others are not marked. Small stumps on fairways.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the effort from the folks at the YMCA . We need all the DG courses we can in the Flint area. Could get a better rating if length was added.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.