Irving, TX 
Fritz Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #4 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
new design again

2-4    11/25/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 36  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout provides for a variety of shots. Length of holes varies. Lots of different obstacles-creek, pond, trees. Another new redesign. 21 holes in all. It is difficult, but love the U turn hole (think it is 11, could be 12). Course is taken care of very well because it is in a city park.
Cons: Pads for newer holes not complete yet. EXTREMELY difficult to follow. Home made signs on the new holes (also a pro). Second redesign after changing from a nine hole to 18 now to 21. New holes are not bad holes but poorly laid out and very hard to follow. Need better signage.
Other Thoughts: Several holes follow the original 9 hole course. Mostly the beginning and the end. 3-5 are new holes close to the main road that have been added. Hole nine is across the creek and pretty easy to find. But it stops there. Hole 10 is really far away and not intuitive as to where it is at. The arrow points to a basket that is across the road (still far away) and you find out it is a much later basket. If you keep walking on the same side of the street a ways past the safety center you will find 10. After the U turn hole (which I loved), the arrow and intuition seemed to walk you following the creek, but that would make too much sense, you backtrack in a different direction than the arrow and find the next teepad. After that hole your next teepad is across the road. Not very intuititve, but not terrible to find. It is a fairly long hole with only a few obstacles. Once that hole is done you see two more baskets, but no teepads. Who knows? I took the long walk back and played the last several holes, which are part of the original, and finished still playing 18.

Overall, and this is an updated review, I am downgrading my rating on this course. The updated redesign is not intuitive. Too much land was taken for holes that could have been used to create more holes or two 18 hole courses instead of wasting space. I will increase the rating some with improved signage. If the layout stays the same the rating can only go so high. The historic course could be so much more because it is well maintained by the city, but more thought needs to go into the course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/15/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park that the course resides in is very nice, with a curving waterway lined with brick walls bisecting the park. The course is all on one side, and there are even signs as you cross the bridge warning you that you're in a disc golf area.

All the tees are concrete. There is one water carry, although it's not a tough shot for a decent rec player. This part of the park is a little removed from the other areas, so it appears that most of the holes wouldn't have interference. But I got here at dusk, so it's tough to say.

Aside from the water, any challenge comes from the distance on several holes. There are a couple in the 450-500' range.

Navigation seemed okay, but daylight was fading, so I had to consult the map.
Cons: There is definitely the possibility of a lost disc. One hole (#6) has the basket pretty close to the canal. If I played here a lot, there is a 100% chance that my disc would skip, catch some air, and fly into the depths at some point.

The fairway for hole 7 comes pretty close to the tee pad for 8.
Other Thoughts: For a 9-hole park-style course, this is pretty good. There are trees to negotiate; enough to challenge a newer player and provide some shade for anyone else.

Given the volume of courses in the DFW area, I imagine this is one most people on this site would only visit occasionally. But for a course of this size, you can do a lot worse.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Who needs 18?

1    12/20/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 217  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -the original holes make a great layout, good use of the park and the water
-beautiful, well-maintained public park: clean, mowed
-decent variety of distance, esp for a 9 holer
-lots of big mature pecan trees force you to find a line on a few holes
-trees provide good shade
-pond and a creek winding through come into play on several holes
-concrete teepads, somewhat narrow
-good course for beginners but still has enough to offer to advanced players as well
-no underbrush, not likely to lose a disc unless you throw in the water
-adequate parking
-not crowded
-great, informative kiosk next to parking lot with a new map and mini info
Cons: -no signs, but the hole numbers are built into the concrete teepads
-above mentioned numbers in teepads are sometimes hard to read (plastic is cracked, etc)
-some of the concrete pads are short but even more noticeably they are narrow; not too bad on the shorter holes but there are some long holes here too. at least the pads are mostly flush with the ground
-no elevation changes

*Update*
the new holes make reasonable use of the space but i personally don't care for several of them. the tees should be moved to a better spot on 5, 12, & 16. hole 16 would be better from the old hole 8 tee. holes 12 and 14 are stupid and poor uses of that space, IMO.
Other Thoughts:
*Update*
Fritz is now an 18 hole course and in my opinion, is now also an inferior course. The new holes are mostly either filler or poorly designed. The new holes 3-5 aren't bad but they're all pretty easy deuces and 5 needs a better tee location. Holes 10, 11, & 15 are okay and I like hole 13. hole 12 could be cool with a better tee location but 14 is just stupid. The basket is too protected on the second shot, you have to hyzer into a 10' blind gap with no room to work the disc because of the mando poles. It's just a crapshoot.

The good news is that you can still play the old layout. Of the original holes, only holes 7 and 8 have changed but the original baskets and tees are still there. Old hole 7's basket is now a practice basket, very cool if you're walking to the course from that direction or during a tourney waiting for the 2 min call. There are temporary signs and dirt tees on the new holes and that's a good call. Hopefully they will tweak the new holes before they do concrete tees and permanent signs.

I lowered my course rating from 3.0 to 2.5 here. The 9 hole layout is special, the new layout is mediocre. At least you can still play the old layout. All of that said, much thanks to all the people who took the time and effort to do something new at Fritz. Your work is appreciated.

*****

I had heard a lot of great things about this course and it did not disappoint. This is the little 9 holer that could.

The course is laid out very well on a beautiful, well-maintained park. There are huge pecan trees all over the course and the tees and baskets are very thoughtfully laid out to make the most of these obstacles. The same goes for the creek and pond that come into play on 3,5,6.

This course is really just a lot of fun to play. The variety of distances (260-500) and the number of different lines you can attempt can make you forget that there are only 9 holes. There is really no need for another 9 because the 9 that are there are great. That, and I imagine you could play several rounds in a day and never get bored and never make the same throws (unless you wanted). This is a great place to come to work on the creative aspect of the game and experiment with shots and line shaping.

The park itself is immaculate. The locals must take a lot of pride in their course because it looks pristine. No trash, no vandalized equipment or riff-raff. What a pleasure for a public park.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.