Irving, TX 
Fritz Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #5 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Relaxing and Fun

1    10/22/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: Bmar04
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ground are well kept and and it feels like a nice little slice of 9 hole heaven. Perfect course to play with beginner, only a couple holes to carry water. I enjoyed it, was a very relaxing round.
Cons: I played on a Saturday and there were a lot of mini tournaments going on, so that could be an issue if you're wanting to make an 18 hole day out of it because those guys WILL not let you play through. Also, don't go fetch your disc if you lose it in the water. The Creek is part of the reclamation water in Iriving and there is some nasty things in that water, do yourself a favor and try to stay dry.
Other Thoughts: My wife is wanting to learn how to play. I prolly start her off here for her first course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9 holes around

5+    10/29/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: hewittdallas
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of the land available.
- Well separated from the other half of the public park by a stream running through the middle (which comes into play).
- Moderate diversity in the pin positions and offers some relatively challenging shots.
- Hole 3 offers some risk/reward for going over the water to the pin and hole 5 will severely punish you for a bad drive.
- Concrete teepads.
- Baskets in good condition (practice basket available).
- Maintenance is top notch and the course is always cut and kept clean.
Cons: - Teepads are nice, but somewhat small and there are a few where falling off the edge could easily result in injury.
- No signs on the course though the flow is pretty easy to figure out.
- The locals have created at least 9 alternative tee positions that can often be identified by a worn spot in the grass. This can be frustrating if multiple people are shooting at the same pin.
- Not to sound judgmental, but the locals here are kind of weird. There are always people just awkwardly hanging out at the picnic table right by the practice pin. Even though I have played this course a lot, I often felt like I was intruding by the way they acted.
- Lots of kids walk through the course going to and from school
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think Fritz is the best 9 hole course I have ever played. It was surprisingly challenging and will test all but the best of players. If you can get past the weird locals and the overcrowding that sometimes occurs on the alternate teepads, this is one of the best "quick round" courses you can ask for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not for the hydrophobic

5+    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: guardianmol
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really love this course. There's a decent amount of shade. Some nice technical shots, and a few air it out shots. Over the fountain shot can be a heromaker or a daybreaker. The baskets are in good condition, and concrete tee boxes are awesome. Can be turned into an 18 if you don't mind reusing baskets and can find the alternate tees.
Cons: Water is in play a lot! Can get pretty muddy after the rain. The fountain does smell bad some days. I wish the alternate tees were marked better.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses to play when I'm leaving work and just fiending for some disc golf. The few holes after the fountain hole tend to bore me. I think it's cause I'm always so pumped for the fountain shot that the others just seem to blend together. Though, I guess there's a disc eating pecan tree midway between one of those holes.... I do recommend trying this course if you're in the area. One thing to remember though, try to find the parking lot on the same side of the park as Wild Bill's hobby shop, and not the one by the petting zoo. In fact while you're at it, if you're really looking for something fun to do after the round, you should stop by Wild Bill's, just make sure you have good willpower or really want to spend money. There's so much awesome stuff there to buy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cloud 9

5+    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a challenging little course and a lot of fun to play. Tucked away on a little side street, this course is a hidden gem.

There are a few where you can really air it out, 3 holes where the best route is over water (there is a dry path should you choose), a couple narrow drives, and several where you need a long drive but the trees mandate you throw low with power.

Par is possible on all holes, with a few early opportunities for birdie.
Cons: 9 holes could certainly be considered a con. But the course is interesting enough that you won't be bored if you play it twice.
Other Thoughts: Water comes in play on 3 holes. For the most part it is there just to mess with your mind and isn't a true hazard. However, a wild throw will get wet.

The course is full of mature trees that shed their leaves in the winter. As a result, the course plays much more difficult when the trees are in full bloom.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The best little 9 holer in Texas

5+    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is really just a great course all around. This is a good course for the pro/adv just as it is for the newcomers. The park is also one of the cleanest around as well. The grass is always mowed and there is never any trash around. There is no underbursh or anything like that around either. The baskets and pads are in good shape. The shade here is wonderful as well, especially on a hot summer day. The trees and the water are strategically placed throughout the park which make the basket locations fun, or is it the other way around. The course is not too hard but has a good bit of challenge which alot of 9 holers dont have. It also has many different tees that change the course into a 27 hole as well. Pretty easy to follow for first timers. The big trees are very cool also.
Cons: The water can eat discs if you throw an bad shot on a couple holes and it looks like it can be very hard to get them back. No signs but not that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: This course kind of reminds me of a mini Pecan Park in Nac. The shade is big plus so if you find yourself in the area stop by because you can play lots of golf fast and pretty much at your own pace due to there not being much traffic.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not Your Average 9-holer

5+    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fritz Park is a 9 hole course, yeah right!! This course is anything but your average 9-holer....First off, you arrive at the park and a course info kiosk is to your right(park bench and practice basket down hill and to the left of kiosk). At the kiosk they have a course map(original tees only), PICS OF EVERY HOLE, local mini info, and local tourney info for the surrounding area......As far as the 9 holes go, well, turns out there is close to 27 different tees!! all, i guess original, holes have nice cement tee pads with the number inside the concrete, and most alternate boxes are marked with spray paint and/or black marker flags.(dirt/grass tees). All holes are fairly open with nicely aged trees scattered throughout the fairway...the great thing is most of the trees are so big and tall that there is NO problem bombing one out there. Water comes into play on a couple holes, 3 and 6 come to mind in particular....water can be a hazard on a couple others but you would have to have a pretty bad thow/roll/kick. there are some fairly long holes here, especially for a 9 hole. distances average from around 250'-500'

I was really impressed with this course, to be honest i wasnt expecting all that much, but it turns out this little 9-holer is better than some 18 hole courses ive played. I would have to say its definitely a course for all skill levels, especially with all the alternate tees. The next time i take a newbie this is definitely going to be the place i take them. Its the perfect place for someone to learn the game and perfect for someone like me to teach them and not be bored with a lame/easy course.

EASY TO FOLLOW, with a great flow. First time i went i played by myself and had no problems with navigation, all pins are visible from the box. if you have trouble finding the alternate tees, like i did, just ask a local. the ones i stumbled upon were very friendly and were a great help.
Cons: I didnt see any restrooms, but i later read in donovans review they are across the creek?

NO signs and NO elevation, but as stated in the pros, the baskets are easy enough to find that signs aren't really all that necessary.
Other Thoughts: SHADE, SHADE, SHADE!!!! most of the course was pretty well shaded and It wasnt very busy when i went, and this was a saturday evening.

Another note to add is that this park was the cleanest park i have ever been to and i just want to commend the locals for the course maintance they do at this course...it really shows.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 When only 9 will do!

2-4    12/15/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2008
21 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is just enough water, trees, and variations of hole lengths to make this course rock! The water holes even have a route over dry land if you are not into that. The 2 long holes have just a few trees at the right length to make these still accurate drives. The cement tees have a decent length to them and have the tee numbers right on them. The baskets are in great shape and some are even place near the water, so beware. This course is beautiful and has plenty of trashcans. It is clean and well maintained. They have a nice information board that has the map of the course on it. One look at that and you should be good to go finding your way around. Updated: There is an on site bathroom there across the creek.
Cons: The course is flat and there are not too many technical holes. There are no tee signs. Well, that is it.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor did kick in the second time around. It took no time at all to start getting excited about the next hole. I must say that this is a fun place to play…even in a strong wind at a temperature of 30 degrees. One other note: this course's community is taking great care of this place as mentioned in the other reviews.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Fritz: Just plain fun!

2-4    7/22/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.6 Years
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with lush green grass and clean landscaping...the city and the local golfers do a great job of keeping this course clean. Although the park is actually right in the middle of a neighborhood, the ample amount of large pecan trees give it a secluded feel, which is something I always enjoy in a disc golf course.

For a 9-hole course there are some very interesting and challenging holes. While there are a few that can be parked with a well-thrown driver or midrange, most of the holes require either an excellent drive or a long putt to get the deuce. The land is mostly flat with some minor undulations on several holes...a roller is a very tempting option on most of the long shots, but the thick grass will make you think twice. The pond (with a fountain in the middle) and creek come into play on a few holes. There are a few tight shots through the pecan groves, and there's enough variation to keep the big arms AND the technical players happy.

During the mini alternate tees are used to make a full 18-hole layout, but I can't recall if they were permanently marked.

For me, the biggest Pro here are the locals...these guys are great! The Irving Disc Golf Club is very active and typically has a big turnout for their weekly minis (Saturday morning singles, Saturday afternoon doubles). I played here for the first time last summer and felt very welcomed. There are also many "old school" freestyle players who line up and jam before the minis...its always a blast to watch, and newcomers are encouraged to give it a try.
Cons: Although I think the hole number signs embedded in the concrete pads look cool, there were a few times that I actually stepped on the glass housing and slipped a little...not a major issue though.

Some might think that being a 9-holers is an automatic Con, but not me...this course if just plain fun.
Other Thoughts: I recommend playing the Saturday mini (9am singles - 2ish doubles)...there's usually a big turnout and the locals are good about making new guys feel welcome. They also bring out 3-4 extra baskets and set them up in a slightly more wooded area of the park. Last time I played, the shot that plays over the edge of the creek was set-up as an island hole...pretty sweet :)

Although it's one of the oldest in Dallas, Fritz park remains one of the most popular among all skill levels.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.