Irving, TX
Fritz Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #3 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 274ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 44  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice parking lot with plenty of space to park. Good concrete teepads. Course and park are well maintained. Holes have a little bit of everything from longshort and left/right. Grass was mowed and the day I played a few guys from the parks dept. were out doing maintence to the park. Just shows the city cares about the parks up keep.
Cons: The only real con I have about the course is that the hole signage is very poor, signage would make this a great course.
Other Thoughts: Fun course if your in the area you should check it out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and scenic

5+    9/1/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: starfire56
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a balanced variety of holes. Fun and challengng at the same time. Set in a scenic park with a creek running through it. Holes 3, 4, and 5, run along side of the creek, but are not a factor unless you miss your shot.
Cons: Nice little course, hard to come up with any negatives.
Other Thoughts: Would play it more if I was closer than 42 miles away.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 How Times Have Changed!

1    5/13/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: userissteve
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I used to play this course before I set my discs down for 24 years. It's 30 minutes away and was the closest course. Finally started playing again last year, and today went back to Fritz - oh my goodness! The whole course is mowed, absolutley clean, and just gorgeous. Much different layout - better - than years ago. Plenty of risk/reward and really uses the big creek to its advantage. The course is separated from the main use park by the creek. And yes, there really are opportunities for all of your shots here - all while still having reasonable lines to throw through.
Cons: Tee boxes are still way too short and could have used a little better texturing when installed. I fell on my ass teeing off #2. Some baskets are slightly bent per other reviews, but they're really not in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: The parks did a number 1 job with hardscaping at this park and the course benefits and uses it. There are now at least 5 courses closer to where I live, but I'll be going back out to Fritz often.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Somethin' shady going on!

2-4    7/7/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This may list at 9 holes, but it plays 27 (see below).

Parking is excellent; I pulled into the lot, saw the DG board with a map and announcements next to the #1 tee, and pulled right up to it.

This is a BEAUTIFUL park to play DG in! Massive trees with large canopies, well mowed, green grass, NO undergrowth anywhere, a gently flowing creek, and a small pond with a fountain in it, all along a mostly flat park make this a real pleasure to play.

The shade is great, and the trees are tall enough that sometimes you're playing under the canopy, but sometimes you have room to bomb.

Flow is good and next hole is easy to find, but they're not always close together. I would not call that a con, because each hole is well placed in the park, so a bit of a walk from one to another is ok here.

Holes 2 and 6 are over water, and 3 is next to it. These holes, as well as the rest, use large trees and distance to force you into figuring some shots out.

This is long, but it is NOT mindless distance. There is not one wide open shot, though the lack of underbrush means you can let it rip.

This may be the perfect course for beginners to play with advanced in the same group, as the cleared grounds won't punish the rookies, but the large trees and varied approaches will keep the veterans on their toes.

The locals are extremely hospitable (what's up Casper!), and eager to tour you around.
Cons: Water fountains and restrooms would be nice, but that's not really the DG course's fault.

A full map of all the alternate holes put up on the board would be a great idea.
Other Thoughts: This course plays 27 HOLES. The 'longs' are the standard, with teepad and signs. The 'shorts' are easy to figure out, with well worn dirt teepads pointing to the baskets used. The shorts stay away from all water.

'Ken', who sets up the minis at Bear Creek and at Fritz it seems, has spray painted tee lines that are easy to find for a backwards/safari route as well.

This is a must stop when in the area, whether you've got 30 minutes or 3 hours. You'll be mostly in the shade, you'll have a ton of fun, and you can select your own challenge level. How many courses can say that?

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Los Nueve Loco

5+    5/12/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: Unlearn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course with a great layout and cool obsticles. It has a good number of trees and very little under brush. There is no poision ivy which for me is a great thing. Good tees and very well maintained. The park is quiet and clean with a very nice neighborhood around it.
Cons: The water can be intimidating only because it would very hard to retrieve a lost disk. It would be nice to have a few signs for direction.
Other Thoughts: I agree with the other reviews, this the best 9 holer I have played. The range of distances and obsticles is just right. We play this course a lot on our lunch hour and it plays very well. Lives up to the title, the crazy nine.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/18/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is by far the best 9 hole course I have ever played. It is in a beautifully landscaped park with hundreds of huge pecan trees. It has concrete tee pads with hole #'s set into the concrete. Unlike most neighborhood nines, this is not a pitch and putt course. Only a few of the holes are less than 350' with two being almost 500'. A couple of holes have you throwing over the bend of a large deep creek and one has you throwing over a pond with a huge spraying fountain shooting 100' in the air.
Cons: It's only 9 holes. I don't consider this much of a con because most 18 hole courses don't have this many quality holes.

signs with par and distance would be nice

It's very flat.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in the metroplex.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.