Irving, TX
Fritz Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #6 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 348ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fritz Park Rundown!!!

2-4    8/17/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Pads
-Multiple pads -- though the long are dirt and you have to find them
-Some terrain variety (open shots, treed shots, ponds, creeks)
-Shot variety (short holes and long holes, anis and hyzers and str8, finesse/technical and wide open bombs)
-Really nice park that seems to be kept well groomed
-About 85% shaded...great for the hot ones
-Good roller practice course on some holes....long with low ceilings and few elevation changes
Cons: -Boxes a little small (IMO)
-Sidewalk throughout making run-ins with park goers a possibility
-If you toss in the ponds, it's gone. The creek, not so much.
-Looks as though it could get pretty muddy after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: Really nothing bad to say about this course other than opinionated comments and preference. A+ 9-holer.

If you're near, it'd be worth the toss. Course is definately decent enough to play a few rounds out there. Very easily accompanied by the pro-level Turner Park, just a few miles away.

Check it out, you won't be disappointed. Fun course.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not for the hydrophobic

5+    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: guardianmol
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really love this course. There's a decent amount of shade. Some nice technical shots, and a few air it out shots. Over the fountain shot can be a heromaker or a daybreaker. The baskets are in good condition, and concrete tee boxes are awesome. Can be turned into an 18 if you don't mind reusing baskets and can find the alternate tees.
Cons: Water is in play a lot! Can get pretty muddy after the rain. The fountain does smell bad some days. I wish the alternate tees were marked better.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses to play when I'm leaving work and just fiending for some disc golf. The few holes after the fountain hole tend to bore me. I think it's cause I'm always so pumped for the fountain shot that the others just seem to blend together. Though, I guess there's a disc eating pecan tree midway between one of those holes.... I do recommend trying this course if you're in the area. One thing to remember though, try to find the parking lot on the same side of the park as Wild Bill's hobby shop, and not the one by the petting zoo. In fact while you're at it, if you're really looking for something fun to do after the round, you should stop by Wild Bill's, just make sure you have good willpower or really want to spend money. There's so much awesome stuff there to buy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sweet niner.

1    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long for a 9 hole course. Clean, green and plenty of trash cans. Nice concrete Tee pads and well manicured grass. Has a challenging water shot for lower level players, but there is an alternate route to stay dry. For a lightly wooded course, it has a healthy amount of trees and shade. Relatively easy to navigate, plus there is a course map behind 1&2s tee pad. Water close to the fountain shot is shallow enough to retrieve discs. Mostly a DG only round. Even with its length, it is still a great place to bring a newbie. Just a beautiful course in a pretty picturesque park. A quality 9 holer with a water shot and a "Fountain Shot". There is enough land to set up your own shots with your portable if you get there early enough. Just an easy walk through the park with some splendid golf thrown in, enjoy.
Cons: Most shots are straight, but not totally open and are long. No Tee signs, but the pads have the hole number and distance on them. They need to plant some more trees, especially on hole 2. You have to back track to hole 2s pad. Even though it's a 9 holer, it would still be nice to have a bench or 2. No elevation.
Other Thoughts: Fritz offers a quick challenging round(unless you are a pro), and should be played at least once if you are playing Turner.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Very small course

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: kisses1031
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great for beginners. Too easy for anyone else.
Cons: The water looked like swamp and there was a bunch of trash in it. It was also very close to peoples houses.
Other Thoughts: Probably will be my first and last time there.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 Hole In DFW!

1    12/31/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A nice message board with good info on course at the start
-A great layout for the area given
-Water comes in play
-Good distances on almost all of the holes
-Baskets are worn but work great
-The tees have the number hole on them, but are hard to read
-Very fun and can be challenging
-Alternate tees to play eighteen
-The park is very cleaned and well maintained
-Good scenery
-Easy to navigate
Cons: -Everything good except there are no signs, but it is not to hard to figure out
Other Thoughts: I think this is the best nine hole course I have ever played. It had nice distances on almost all the holes and the whole park had a great atmosphere and I will come back and play here again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Who needs 18?

1    12/20/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great layout, makes good use of the park and the water
-beautiful, well-maintained public park: clean, mowed
-decent variety of distance, esp for a 9 holer
-lots of big mature pecan trees force you to find a line on a few holes
-trees provide good shade
-pond and a creek winding through come into play on several holes
-concrete teepads (see below)
-good course for beginners but still has enough to offer to advanced players as well
-no underbrush, not likely to lose a disc unless you throw in the water
-adequate parking
-not crowded
-great, informative kiosk next to parking lot with a map, pictures of all the holes and mini info
-just really fun!!
Cons: -no signs, but the hole numbers are built into the concrete teepads
-above mentioned numbers in teepads are sometimes hard to read (plastic is cracked, etc)
-some of the concrete pads are short but even more noticeably they are narrow; not too bad on the shorter holes but there are some long holes here too. at least the pads are mostly flush with the ground
-no elevation changes

*Update*
the park condition seems to vary back and forth. sometimes it is spotless, sometimes it has visible trash on the ground and in the creek. the baskets are getting pretty old. single chains so you'd better hit the pole.
Other Thoughts: I had heard a lot of great things about this course and it did not disappoint. This is the little 9 holer that could.

The course is laid out very well on a beautiful, well-maintained park. There are huge pecan trees all over the course and the tees and baskets are very thoughtfully laid out to make the most of these obstacles. The same goes for the creek and pond that come into play on 3,5,6.

This course is really just a lot of fun to play. The variety of distances (260-500) and the number of different lines you can attempt can make you forget that there are only 9 holes. There is really no need for another 9 because the 9 that are there are great. That, and I imagine you could play several rounds in a day and never get bored and never make the same throws (unless you wanted). This is a great place to come to work on the creative aspect of the game and experiment with shots and line shaping.

The park itself is immaculate. The locals must take a lot of pride in their course because it looks pristine. No trash, no vandalized equipment or riff-raff. What a pleasure for a public park. Seems to be not too much traffic either. I was there on a Sunday afternoon and saw three other golfers. (See update in cons)


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cloud 9

5+    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a challenging little course and a lot of fun to play. Tucked away on a little side street, this course is a hidden gem.

There are a few where you can really air it out, 3 holes where the best route is over water (there is a dry path should you choose), a couple narrow drives, and several where you need a long drive but the trees mandate you throw low with power.

Par is possible on all holes, with a few early opportunities for birdie.
Cons: 9 holes could certainly be considered a con. But the course is interesting enough that you won't be bored if you play it twice.
Other Thoughts: Water comes in play on 3 holes. For the most part it is there just to mess with your mind and isn't a true hazard. However, a wild throw will get wet.

The course is full of mature trees that shed their leaves in the winter. As a result, the course plays much more difficult when the trees are in full bloom.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The best little 9 holer in Texas

5+    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is really just a great course all around. This is a good course for the pro/adv just as it is for the newcomers. The park is also one of the cleanest around as well. The grass is always mowed and there is never any trash around. There is no underbursh or anything like that around either. The baskets and pads are in good shape. The shade here is wonderful as well, especially on a hot summer day. The trees and the water are strategically placed throughout the park which make the basket locations fun, or is it the other way around. The course is not too hard but has a good bit of challenge which alot of 9 holers dont have. It also has many different tees that change the course into a 27 hole as well. Pretty easy to follow for first timers. The big trees are very cool also.
Cons: The water can eat discs if you throw an bad shot on a couple holes and it looks like it can be very hard to get them back. No signs but not that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: This course kind of reminds me of a mini Pecan Park in Nac. The shade is big plus so if you find yourself in the area stop by because you can play lots of golf fast and pretty much at your own pace due to there not being much traffic.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not Your Average 9-holer

5+    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fritz Park is a 9 hole course, yeah right!! This course is anything but your average 9-holer....First off, you arrive at the park and a course info kiosk is to your right(park bench and practice basket down hill and to the left of kiosk). At the kiosk they have a course map(original tees only), PICS OF EVERY HOLE, local mini info, and local tourney info for the surrounding area......As far as the 9 holes go, well, turns out there is close to 27 different tees!! all, i guess original, holes have nice cement tee pads with the number inside the concrete, and most alternate boxes are marked with spray paint and/or black marker flags.(dirt/grass tees). All holes are fairly open with nicely aged trees scattered throughout the fairway...the great thing is most of the trees are so big and tall that there is NO problem bombing one out there. Water comes into play on a couple holes, 3 and 6 come to mind in particular....water can be a hazard on a couple others but you would have to have a pretty bad thow/roll/kick. there are some fairly long holes here, especially for a 9 hole. distances average from around 250'-500'

I was really impressed with this course, to be honest i wasnt expecting all that much, but it turns out this little 9-holer is better than some 18 hole courses ive played. I would have to say its definitely a course for all skill levels, especially with all the alternate tees. The next time i take a newbie this is definitely going to be the place i take them. Its the perfect place for someone to learn the game and perfect for someone like me to teach them and not be bored with a lame/easy course.

EASY TO FOLLOW, with a great flow. First time i went i played by myself and had no problems with navigation, all pins are visible from the box. if you have trouble finding the alternate tees, like i did, just ask a local. the ones i stumbled upon were very friendly and were a great help.
Cons: I didnt see any restrooms, but i later read in donovans review they are across the creek?

NO signs and NO elevation, but as stated in the pros, the baskets are easy enough to find that signs aren't really all that necessary.
Other Thoughts: SHADE, SHADE, SHADE!!!! most of the course was pretty well shaded and It wasnt very busy when i went, and this was a saturday evening.

Another note to add is that this park was the cleanest park i have ever been to and i just want to commend the locals for the course maintance they do at this course...it really shows.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Somethin' shady going on!

2-4    7/7/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This may list at 9 holes, but it plays 27 (see below).

Parking is excellent; I pulled into the lot, saw the DG board with a map and announcements next to the #1 tee, and pulled right up to it.

This is a BEAUTIFUL park to play DG in! Massive trees with large canopies, well mowed, green grass, NO undergrowth anywhere, a gently flowing creek, and a small pond with a fountain in it, all along a mostly flat park make this a real pleasure to play.

The shade is great, and the trees are tall enough that sometimes you're playing under the canopy, but sometimes you have room to bomb.

Flow is good and next hole is easy to find, but they're not always close together. I would not call that a con, because each hole is well placed in the park, so a bit of a walk from one to another is ok here.

Holes 2 and 6 are over water, and 3 is next to it. These holes, as well as the rest, use large trees and distance to force you into figuring some shots out.

This is long, but it is NOT mindless distance. There is not one wide open shot, though the lack of underbrush means you can let it rip.

This may be the perfect course for beginners to play with advanced in the same group, as the cleared grounds won't punish the rookies, but the large trees and varied approaches will keep the veterans on their toes.

The locals are extremely hospitable (what's up Casper!), and eager to tour you around.
Cons: Water fountains and restrooms would be nice, but that's not really the DG course's fault.

A full map of all the alternate holes put up on the board would be a great idea.
Other Thoughts: This course plays 27 HOLES. The 'longs' are the standard, with teepad and signs. The 'shorts' are easy to figure out, with well worn dirt teepads pointing to the baskets used. The shorts stay away from all water.

'Ken', who sets up the minis at Bear Creek and at Fritz it seems, has spray painted tee lines that are easy to find for a backwards/safari route as well.

This is a must stop when in the area, whether you've got 30 minutes or 3 hours. You'll be mostly in the shade, you'll have a ton of fun, and you can select your own challenge level. How many courses can say that?

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.