Irving, TX
Fritz Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 498ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    4/15/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 103  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park that the course resides in is very nice, with a curving waterway lined with brick walls bisecting the park. The course is all on one side, and there are even signs as you cross the bridge warning you that you're in a disc golf area.

All the tees are concrete. There is one water carry, although it's not a tough shot for a decent rec player. This part of the park is a little removed from the other areas, so it appears that most of the holes wouldn't have interference. But I got here at dusk, so it's tough to say.

Aside from the water, any challenge comes from the distance on several holes. There are a couple in the 450-500' range.

Navigation seemed okay, but daylight was fading, so I had to consult the map.
Cons: There is definitely the possibility of a lost disc. One hole (#6) has the basket pretty close to the canal. If I played here a lot, there is a 100% chance that my disc would skip, catch some air, and fly into the depths at some point.

The fairway for hole 7 comes pretty close to the tee pad for 8.
Other Thoughts: For a 9-hole park-style course, this is pretty good. There are trees to negotiate; enough to challenge a newer player and provide some shade for anyone else.

Given the volume of courses in the DFW area, I imagine this is one most people on this site would only visit occasionally. But for a course of this size, you can do a lot worse.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Less than expected

1    4/12/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: FarFromPar
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy navigation even without signage
-nice fairways (even tho it looks like it could be mowed)
-very quick round
-enough water and trees to add moderate challenge on a few holes
Cons: -narrow and short teepads
-no signage
-baskets in poor condition (bent and dinged up)
-trash (someone even used the baskets as a trash can)
-pretty boring for the most part
-seems to be lacking variety
Other Thoughts: For all the great reviews i was expecting more but all i found was a pretty boring 9 hole course in need of a little TLC. The thing that bothered me the most were the narrow and short teepads. I felt like many of the holes were too similar, with the exception of holes with possible water hazard. Its not all negative tho, i had a quiet round with enough shade and the park made good use of what land it has, with even a couple long holes to stretch out your arm. Nice flow from hole to hole. All in all, i wouldnt go out of the way to play this course, especially with the awesome turner park not far away.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 44  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice parking lot with plenty of space to park. Good concrete teepads. Course and park are well maintained. Holes have a little bit of everything from longshort and left/right. Grass was mowed and the day I played a few guys from the parks dept. were out doing maintence to the park. Just shows the city cares about the parks up keep.
Cons: The only real con I have about the course is that the hole signage is very poor, signage would make this a great course.
Other Thoughts: Fun course if your in the area you should check it out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Say Goodbye to your rollers.

1    4/20/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: UFOWTF
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging a few holes are scary because of the water. And that makes me want to go back and risk it all. This is what men are made of. But only 3 holes out of 9 are really involving water but a few others if you over shoot or hit a tree and roll.
Cons: The water is dark and deep and lots of signs saying Do not enter it. Sewer water.
Other Thoughts: I saw some interesting individuals and could tell this park has some regulars probably because it has some challenging holes. Throwing over unrecoverable water areas can be fun sometimes. I will convince my buddies to go to this park just to see them cringe.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and scenic

5+    9/1/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: starfire56
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a balanced variety of holes. Fun and challengng at the same time. Set in a scenic park with a creek running through it. Holes 3, 4, and 5, run along side of the creek, but are not a factor unless you miss your shot.
Cons: Nice little course, hard to come up with any negatives.
Other Thoughts: Would play it more if I was closer than 42 miles away.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Nine Hole Course

2-4    11/20/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You'll have a great time playing this course - just a wonderful layout. The water is significantly in play on two holes (maybe three depending on your driving ability), but the only hole I'd say you need to play extra conservative is #3. The majority of the course is under the cover of trees so the wind doesn't seem play a major factor on most holes. I'm definitely keeping this course on my rotation
Cons: The course had to have gone through some type of redesign at one time so be aware of your the random concrete slab causing your perfect drive to go ob.
Tee pads could be bigger and that water is nasty.
Other Thoughts: Some dude in a tent set up at the basket on #2 wasn't shy in nature. I got the impression from locals this may not be a singular event. Depending on your individual personality, this could be a pro and a con so I'll put this comment right here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fits at Fritz

2-4    10/27/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Paulie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Decent baskets
Easy to navigate
Well maintained park
Challenging

Cons: Creeks bottoms are real craggy
Water is murky at best
Steep banks
Other Thoughts: You can play it safe, you can play it well or you can throw your disc in the water.

The water
Hole 1- slim chance of water.
Hole 2- slightly greater chance of water if you throw too hard after your first throw.
Hole 3- play safe, play well or water. The trees like to knock you into the Mariana Trench of the creek. Up for some noodling?
Hole 5- right over the deepest part of the pond. You brought your good arm, right?
Hole 6- over another pond, but it's fairly easy to clear.
Hole 7- another slim chance of water.

All in all, a nice 9 hole course. Despite two discs in the creek, I'll be back. Oh, mark my words, Fritz. Vengeance will be mine.







5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Relaxing and Fun

1    10/22/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: Bmar04
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ground are well kept and and it feels like a nice little slice of 9 hole heaven. Perfect course to play with beginner, only a couple holes to carry water. I enjoyed it, was a very relaxing round.
Cons: I played on a Saturday and there were a lot of mini tournaments going on, so that could be an issue if you're wanting to make an 18 hole day out of it because those guys WILL not let you play through. Also, don't go fetch your disc if you lose it in the water. The Creek is part of the reclamation water in Iriving and there is some nasty things in that water, do yourself a favor and try to stay dry.
Other Thoughts: My wife is wanting to learn how to play. I prolly start her off here for her first course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 How Times Have Changed!

1    5/13/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: userissteve
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I used to play this course before I set my discs down for 24 years. It's 30 minutes away and was the closest course. Finally started playing again last year, and today went back to Fritz - oh my goodness! The whole course is mowed, absolutley clean, and just gorgeous. Much different layout - better - than years ago. Plenty of risk/reward and really uses the big creek to its advantage. The course is separated from the main use park by the creek. And yes, there really are opportunities for all of your shots here - all while still having reasonable lines to throw through.
Cons: Tee boxes are still way too short and could have used a little better texturing when installed. I fell on my ass teeing off #2. Some baskets are slightly bent per other reviews, but they're really not in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: The parks did a number 1 job with hardscaping at this park and the course benefits and uses it. There are now at least 5 courses closer to where I live, but I'll be going back out to Fritz often.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Best 9 hole around

5+    4/13/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: splata
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course so I am a little bias. Even though it's a 9 hole course, it has a lot to offer. The park is always kept in good shape, from the grass being mowed and trash being picked up. It's one of the cleanest courses you'll find. It's a good place for the beginner to the pro players. There are bomb it holes for the big arms. Holes that take finesse shots of all skill levels. Plain and simply just a great course.
Cons: The only con is that some of the baskets are old and need to be replaced. The club has been trying to get the city of Irving to change these out. Hopefully they will sooner than later.
Other Thoughts: We play a mini on Saturdays at 10:00 am. on the 1st, 3rd, and 4th Saturdays of the month. All are welcome to come out and try out the best nine hole course around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.