Irving, TX 
Fritz Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 274ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
It is 18 holes!

1    9/1/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout provides for a variety of shots. Length of holes varies. Lots of different obstacles-creek, pond, trees.
Cons: Pads for newer holes not complete yet. A little difficult to follow. Home made signs on the hew holes.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play with variety. If the course stays with dirt pads on new holes and home made signs it should be downgraded a little. Once those are in it could be bumped some. Some holes would be very frustrating for beginners-6, 8, 15. Fifteen has several mandos and trees and bushes blocking the basket with an ultra small window that is blind. And it is 600+ feet. Could be good or bad, depending on your perspective. Overall a good course that I will play on occasion and it is fairly close to me.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Most underrated course in DFW

5+    8/12/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: RangerDanger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is just a nice course, clean and well maintained by the local club and city. By far the course I've played the most because its so convenient for me, so I'll try to be objective. Great course for beginners and pro's alike. Long technical shots for the bigger arms, but plenty of shorter holes and alternate dirt tee pads for the newer folks. Its got tons of shade, but that doesn't mean you'll hit a lot of trees, if you hit a tree its because you threw a bad shot, not because the window was too small.

I'm big on having a great first hole to set the tone for the day, and the Hole 1 out here is probably the best. Its an easy flat 300ft hyzer around 3 trees blocking the basket. Get your bird and start the round off right.

The locals are usually friendly if you're friendly to them and some of them are willing to help with pointers and tips. Just stay out of the way during their mini's.

I'm really excited for this course to be a full 18, I hope it happens this year.
Cons: There is a creek that runs along the course that can eat some discs if you're not careful. Holes 6 and 8 are the ones you have to worry about it the most though. I'm pretty sure its reclaimed water, so be careful and be prepared for some stank if you gotta jump in.

This course is kind of confusing given they added 3 baskets recently, but it can be difficult to navigate your first time. (I do think they added a new course map, so study that before starting). Correcting players for throwing at the wrong basket on hole 11 happens a lot.

This might be some disc golf politics but something that does bug me about this course is that there are locals who constantly go swimming in the creek retrieving discs. So I always run into players throwing recently lost plastic of mine or my friends that have our phone numbers on them, that were sold to them by the guys fetching them out. The retrievers never call the owners first to ask about a reward or give them some time to grab it. Call it bitching, but I believe in DG karma so if I find a disc I always call or text the owner first. Just my 2 cents.

Edit: One thing I forgot to mention, this course is part of a park and it is separated by the creek but there is sometimes an issue with people walking through the course, you may have to tell some picnickers they are on the fairway. There are signs up all over the place to use caution, the only problem is they're not in spanish. On the weekends you will see larger birthday parties with loudish music. We did have an hispanic family try to use the putting practice basket as a grill. They lined the basket with foil and filled it with charcoal, they tried to hang chicken from the chains before our Spanish speaking buddy corrected them.
Other Thoughts: The old timer locals say this is the oldest original course in Texas and Hole 11 is the oldest hole in Texas(scheduled to be split into 2 holes when they expand the course again) so I definitely recommend everyone give this course a try.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/15/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 112  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park that the course resides in is very nice, with a curving waterway lined with brick walls bisecting the park. The course is all on one side, and there are even signs as you cross the bridge warning you that you're in a disc golf area.

All the tees are concrete. There is one water carry, although it's not a tough shot for a decent rec player. This part of the park is a little removed from the other areas, so it appears that most of the holes wouldn't have interference. But I got here at dusk, so it's tough to say.

Aside from the water, any challenge comes from the distance on several holes. There are a couple in the 450-500' range.

Navigation seemed okay, but daylight was fading, so I had to consult the map.
Cons: There is definitely the possibility of a lost disc. One hole (#6) has the basket pretty close to the canal. If I played here a lot, there is a 100% chance that my disc would skip, catch some air, and fly into the depths at some point.

The fairway for hole 7 comes pretty close to the tee pad for 8.
Other Thoughts: For a 9-hole park-style course, this is pretty good. There are trees to negotiate; enough to challenge a newer player and provide some shade for anyone else.

Given the volume of courses in the DFW area, I imagine this is one most people on this site would only visit occasionally. But for a course of this size, you can do a lot worse.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Less than expected

1    4/12/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: FarFromPar
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy navigation even without signage
-nice fairways (even tho it looks like it could be mowed)
-very quick round
-enough water and trees to add moderate challenge on a few holes
Cons: -narrow and short teepads
-no signage
-baskets in poor condition (bent and dinged up)
-trash (someone even used the baskets as a trash can)
-pretty boring for the most part
-seems to be lacking variety
Other Thoughts: For all the great reviews i was expecting more but all i found was a pretty boring 9 hole course in need of a little TLC. The thing that bothered me the most were the narrow and short teepads. I felt like many of the holes were too similar, with the exception of holes with possible water hazard. Its not all negative tho, i had a quiet round with enough shade and the park made good use of what land it has, with even a couple long holes to stretch out your arm. Nice flow from hole to hole. All in all, i wouldnt go out of the way to play this course, especially with the awesome turner park not far away.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice parking lot with plenty of space to park. Good concrete teepads. Course and park are well maintained. Holes have a little bit of everything from longshort and left/right. Grass was mowed and the day I played a few guys from the parks dept. were out doing maintence to the park. Just shows the city cares about the parks up keep.
Cons: The only real con I have about the course is that the hole signage is very poor, signage would make this a great course.
Other Thoughts: Fun course if your in the area you should check it out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Say Goodbye to your rollers.

1    4/20/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: UFOWTF
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging a few holes are scary because of the water. And that makes me want to go back and risk it all. This is what men are made of. But only 3 holes out of 9 are really involving water but a few others if you over shoot or hit a tree and roll.
Cons: The water is dark and deep and lots of signs saying Do not enter it. Sewer water.
Other Thoughts: I saw some interesting individuals and could tell this park has some regulars probably because it has some challenging holes. Throwing over unrecoverable water areas can be fun sometimes. I will convince my buddies to go to this park just to see them cringe.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and scenic

5+    9/1/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: starfire56
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a balanced variety of holes. Fun and challengng at the same time. Set in a scenic park with a creek running through it. Holes 3, 4, and 5, run along side of the creek, but are not a factor unless you miss your shot.
Cons: Nice little course, hard to come up with any negatives.
Other Thoughts: Would play it more if I was closer than 42 miles away.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Nine Hole Course

2-4    11/20/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You'll have a great time playing this course - just a wonderful layout. The water is significantly in play on two holes (maybe three depending on your driving ability), but the only hole I'd say you need to play extra conservative is #3. The majority of the course is under the cover of trees so the wind doesn't seem play a major factor on most holes. I'm definitely keeping this course on my rotation
Cons: The course had to have gone through some type of redesign at one time so be aware of your the random concrete slab causing your perfect drive to go ob.
Tee pads could be bigger and that water is nasty.
Other Thoughts: Some dude in a tent set up at the basket on #2 wasn't shy in nature. I got the impression from locals this may not be a singular event. Depending on your individual personality, this could be a pro and a con so I'll put this comment right here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fits at Fritz

2-4    10/27/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Paulie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Decent baskets
Easy to navigate
Well maintained park
Challenging

Cons: Creeks bottoms are real craggy
Water is murky at best
Steep banks
Other Thoughts: You can play it safe, you can play it well or you can throw your disc in the water.

The water
Hole 1- slim chance of water.
Hole 2- slightly greater chance of water if you throw too hard after your first throw.
Hole 3- play safe, play well or water. The trees like to knock you into the Mariana Trench of the creek. Up for some noodling?
Hole 5- right over the deepest part of the pond. You brought your good arm, right?
Hole 6- over another pond, but it's fairly easy to clear.
Hole 7- another slim chance of water.

All in all, a nice 9 hole course. Despite two discs in the creek, I'll be back. Oh, mark my words, Fritz. Vengeance will be mine.







6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Relaxing and Fun

1    10/22/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: Bmar04
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ground are well kept and and it feels like a nice little slice of 9 hole heaven. Perfect course to play with beginner, only a couple holes to carry water. I enjoyed it, was a very relaxing round.
Cons: I played on a Saturday and there were a lot of mini tournaments going on, so that could be an issue if you're wanting to make an 18 hole day out of it because those guys WILL not let you play through. Also, don't go fetch your disc if you lose it in the water. The Creek is part of the reclamation water in Iriving and there is some nasty things in that water, do yourself a favor and try to stay dry.
Other Thoughts: My wife is wanting to learn how to play. I prolly start her off here for her first course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.