Irving, TX 
Fritz Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #6 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 348ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Best 9 hole around

5+    4/13/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: splata
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is my home course so I am a little bias. Even though it's a 9 hole course, it has a lot to offer. The park is always kept in good shape, from the grass being mowed and trash being picked up. It's one of the cleanest courses you'll find. It's a good place for the beginner to the pro players. There are bomb it holes for the big arms. Holes that take finesse shots of all skill levels. Plain and simply just a great course.
Cons: The only con is that some of the baskets are old and need to be replaced. The club has been trying to get the city of Irving to change these out. Hopefully they will sooner than later.
Other Thoughts: We play a mini on Saturdays at 10:00 am. on the 1st, 3rd, and 4th Saturdays of the month. All are welcome to come out and try out the best nine hole course around.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9 holes around

5+    10/29/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: hewittdallas
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of the land available.
- Well separated from the other half of the public park by a stream running through the middle (which comes into play).
- Moderate diversity in the pin positions and offers some relatively challenging shots.
- Hole 3 offers some risk/reward for going over the water to the pin and hole 5 will severely punish you for a bad drive.
- Concrete teepads.
- Baskets in good condition (practice basket available).
- Maintenance is top notch and the course is always cut and kept clean.
Cons: - Teepads are nice, but somewhat small and there are a few where falling off the edge could easily result in injury.
- No signs on the course though the flow is pretty easy to figure out.
- The locals have created at least 9 alternative tee positions that can often be identified by a worn spot in the grass. This can be frustrating if multiple people are shooting at the same pin.
- Not to sound judgmental, but the locals here are kind of weird. There are always people just awkwardly hanging out at the picnic table right by the practice pin. Even though I have played this course a lot, I often felt like I was intruding by the way they acted.
- Lots of kids walk through the course going to and from school
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think Fritz is the best 9 hole course I have ever played. It was surprisingly challenging and will test all but the best of players. If you can get past the weird locals and the overcrowding that sometimes occurs on the alternate teepads, this is one of the best "quick round" courses you can ask for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fritz Park Rundown!!!

2-4    8/17/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Pads
-Multiple pads -- though the long are dirt and you have to find them
-Some terrain variety (open shots, treed shots, ponds, creeks)
-Shot variety (short holes and long holes, anis and hyzers and str8, finesse/technical and wide open bombs)
-Really nice park that seems to be kept well groomed
-About 85% shaded...great for the hot ones
-Good roller practice course on some holes....long with low ceilings and few elevation changes
Cons: -Boxes a little small (IMO)
-Sidewalk throughout making run-ins with park goers a possibility
-If you toss in the ponds, it's gone. The creek, not so much.
-Looks as though it could get pretty muddy after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: Really nothing bad to say about this course other than opinionated comments and preference. A+ 9-holer.

If you're near, it'd be worth the toss. Course is definately decent enough to play a few rounds out there. Very easily accompanied by the pro-level Turner Park, just a few miles away.

Check it out, you won't be disappointed. Fun course.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not for the hydrophobic

5+    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: guardianmol
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really love this course. There's a decent amount of shade. Some nice technical shots, and a few air it out shots. Over the fountain shot can be a heromaker or a daybreaker. The baskets are in good condition, and concrete tee boxes are awesome. Can be turned into an 18 if you don't mind reusing baskets and can find the alternate tees.
Cons: Water is in play a lot! Can get pretty muddy after the rain. The fountain does smell bad some days. I wish the alternate tees were marked better.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses to play when I'm leaving work and just fiending for some disc golf. The few holes after the fountain hole tend to bore me. I think it's cause I'm always so pumped for the fountain shot that the others just seem to blend together. Though, I guess there's a disc eating pecan tree midway between one of those holes.... I do recommend trying this course if you're in the area. One thing to remember though, try to find the parking lot on the same side of the park as Wild Bill's hobby shop, and not the one by the petting zoo. In fact while you're at it, if you're really looking for something fun to do after the round, you should stop by Wild Bill's, just make sure you have good willpower or really want to spend money. There's so much awesome stuff there to buy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sweet niner.

1    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long for a 9 hole course. Clean, green and plenty of trash cans. Nice concrete Tee pads and well manicured grass. Has a challenging water shot for lower level players, but there is an alternate route to stay dry. For a lightly wooded course, it has a healthy amount of trees and shade. Relatively easy to navigate, plus there is a course map behind 1&2s tee pad. Water close to the fountain shot is shallow enough to retrieve discs. Mostly a DG only round. Even with its length, it is still a great place to bring a newbie. Just a beautiful course in a pretty picturesque park. A quality 9 holer with a water shot and a "Fountain Shot". There is enough land to set up your own shots with your portable if you get there early enough. Just an easy walk through the park with some splendid golf thrown in, enjoy.
Cons: Most shots are straight, but not totally open and are long. No Tee signs, but the pads have the hole number and distance on them. They need to plant some more trees, especially on hole 2. You have to back track to hole 2s pad. Even though it's a 9 holer, it would still be nice to have a bench or 2. No elevation.
Other Thoughts: Fritz offers a quick challenging round(unless you are a pro), and should be played at least once if you are playing Turner.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Very small course

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: kisses1031
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great for beginners. Too easy for anyone else.
Cons: The water looked like swamp and there was a bunch of trash in it. It was also very close to peoples houses.
Other Thoughts: Probably will be my first and last time there.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 Hole In DFW!

1    12/31/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A nice message board with good info on course at the start
-A great layout for the area given
-Water comes in play
-Good distances on almost all of the holes
-Baskets are worn but work great
-The tees have the number hole on them, but are hard to read
-Very fun and can be challenging
-Alternate tees to play eighteen
-The park is very cleaned and well maintained
-Good scenery
-Easy to navigate
Cons: -Everything good except there are no signs, but it is not to hard to figure out
Other Thoughts: I think this is the best nine hole course I have ever played. It had nice distances on almost all the holes and the whole park had a great atmosphere and I will come back and play here again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Who needs 18?

1    12/20/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great layout, makes good use of the park and the water
-beautiful, well-maintained public park: clean, mowed
-decent variety of distance, esp for a 9 holer
-lots of big mature pecan trees force you to find a line on a few holes
-trees provide good shade
-pond and a creek winding through come into play on several holes
-concrete teepads (see below)
-good course for beginners but still has enough to offer to advanced players as well
-no underbrush, not likely to lose a disc unless you throw in the water
-adequate parking
-not crowded
-great, informative kiosk next to parking lot with a map, pictures of all the holes and mini info
-just really fun!!
Cons: -no signs, but the hole numbers are built into the concrete teepads
-above mentioned numbers in teepads are sometimes hard to read (plastic is cracked, etc)
-some of the concrete pads are short but even more noticeably they are narrow; not too bad on the shorter holes but there are some long holes here too. at least the pads are mostly flush with the ground
-no elevation changes

*Update*
the park condition seems to vary back and forth. sometimes it is spotless, sometimes it has visible trash on the ground and in the creek. the baskets are getting pretty old. single chains so you'd better hit the pole.
Other Thoughts: I had heard a lot of great things about this course and it did not disappoint. This is the little 9 holer that could.

The course is laid out very well on a beautiful, well-maintained park. There are huge pecan trees all over the course and the tees and baskets are very thoughtfully laid out to make the most of these obstacles. The same goes for the creek and pond that come into play on 3,5,6.

This course is really just a lot of fun to play. The variety of distances (260-500) and the number of different lines you can attempt can make you forget that there are only 9 holes. There is really no need for another 9 because the 9 that are there are great. That, and I imagine you could play several rounds in a day and never get bored and never make the same throws (unless you wanted). This is a great place to come to work on the creative aspect of the game and experiment with shots and line shaping.

The park itself is immaculate. The locals must take a lot of pride in their course because it looks pristine. No trash, no vandalized equipment or riff-raff. What a pleasure for a public park. Seems to be not too much traffic either. I was there on a Sunday afternoon and saw three other golfers. (See update in cons)


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cloud 9

5+    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a challenging little course and a lot of fun to play. Tucked away on a little side street, this course is a hidden gem.

There are a few where you can really air it out, 3 holes where the best route is over water (there is a dry path should you choose), a couple narrow drives, and several where you need a long drive but the trees mandate you throw low with power.

Par is possible on all holes, with a few early opportunities for birdie.
Cons: 9 holes could certainly be considered a con. But the course is interesting enough that you won't be bored if you play it twice.
Other Thoughts: Water comes in play on 3 holes. For the most part it is there just to mess with your mind and isn't a true hazard. However, a wild throw will get wet.

The course is full of mature trees that shed their leaves in the winter. As a result, the course plays much more difficult when the trees are in full bloom.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The best little 9 holer in Texas

5+    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is really just a great course all around. This is a good course for the pro/adv just as it is for the newcomers. The park is also one of the cleanest around as well. The grass is always mowed and there is never any trash around. There is no underbursh or anything like that around either. The baskets and pads are in good shape. The shade here is wonderful as well, especially on a hot summer day. The trees and the water are strategically placed throughout the park which make the basket locations fun, or is it the other way around. The course is not too hard but has a good bit of challenge which alot of 9 holers dont have. It also has many different tees that change the course into a 27 hole as well. Pretty easy to follow for first timers. The big trees are very cool also.
Cons: The water can eat discs if you throw an bad shot on a couple holes and it looks like it can be very hard to get them back. No signs but not that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: This course kind of reminds me of a mini Pecan Park in Nac. The shade is big plus so if you find yourself in the area stop by because you can play lots of golf fast and pretty much at your own pace due to there not being much traffic.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.