Irving, TX
Fritz Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #9 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 292ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Somethin' shady going on!

2-4    7/7/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This may list at 9 holes, but it plays 27 (see below).

Parking is excellent; I pulled into the lot, saw the DG board with a map and announcements next to the #1 tee, and pulled right up to it.

This is a BEAUTIFUL park to play DG in! Massive trees with large canopies, well mowed, green grass, NO undergrowth anywhere, a gently flowing creek, and a small pond with a fountain in it, all along a mostly flat park make this a real pleasure to play.

The shade is great, and the trees are tall enough that sometimes you're playing under the canopy, but sometimes you have room to bomb.

Flow is good and next hole is easy to find, but they're not always close together. I would not call that a con, because each hole is well placed in the park, so a bit of a walk from one to another is ok here.

Holes 2 and 6 are over water, and 3 is next to it. These holes, as well as the rest, use large trees and distance to force you into figuring some shots out.

This is long, but it is NOT mindless distance. There is not one wide open shot, though the lack of underbrush means you can let it rip.

This may be the perfect course for beginners to play with advanced in the same group, as the cleared grounds won't punish the rookies, but the large trees and varied approaches will keep the veterans on their toes.

The locals are extremely hospitable (what's up Casper!), and eager to tour you around.
Cons: Water fountains and restrooms would be nice, but that's not really the DG course's fault.

A full map of all the alternate holes put up on the board would be a great idea.
Other Thoughts: This course plays 27 HOLES. The 'longs' are the standard, with teepad and signs. The 'shorts' are easy to figure out, with well worn dirt teepads pointing to the baskets used. The shorts stay away from all water.

'Ken', who sets up the minis at Bear Creek and at Fritz it seems, has spray painted tee lines that are easy to find for a backwards/safari route as well.

This is a must stop when in the area, whether you've got 30 minutes or 3 hours. You'll be mostly in the shade, you'll have a ton of fun, and you can select your own challenge level. How many courses can say that?

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Los Nueve Loco

5+    5/12/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: Unlearn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course with a great layout and cool obsticles. It has a good number of trees and very little under brush. There is no poision ivy which for me is a great thing. Good tees and very well maintained. The park is quiet and clean with a very nice neighborhood around it.
Cons: The water can be intimidating only because it would very hard to retrieve a lost disk. It would be nice to have a few signs for direction.
Other Thoughts: I agree with the other reviews, this the best 9 holer I have played. The range of distances and obsticles is just right. We play this course a lot on our lunch hour and it plays very well. Lives up to the title, the crazy nine.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 When only 9 will do!

2-4    12/15/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 205  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2008
21 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is just enough water, trees, and variations of hole lengths to make this course rock! The water holes even have a route over dry land if you are not into that. The 2 long holes have just a few trees at the right length to make these still accurate drives. The cement tees have a decent length to them and have the tee numbers right on them. The baskets are in great shape and some are even place near the water, so beware. This course is beautiful and has plenty of trashcans. It is clean and well maintained. They have a nice information board that has the map of the course on it. One look at that and you should be good to go finding your way around. Updated: There is an on site bathroom there across the creek.
Cons: The course is flat and there are not too many technical holes. There are no tee signs. Well, that is it.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor did kick in the second time around. It took no time at all to start getting excited about the next hole. I must say that this is a fun place to play…even in a strong wind at a temperature of 30 degrees. One other note: this course's community is taking great care of this place as mentioned in the other reviews.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Fritz: Just plain fun!

2-4    7/22/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10 Years
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with lush green grass and clean landscaping...the city and the local golfers do a great job of keeping this course clean. Although the park is actually right in the middle of a neighborhood, the ample amount of large pecan trees give it a secluded feel, which is something I always enjoy in a disc golf course.

For a 9-hole course there are some very interesting and challenging holes. While there are a few that can be parked with a well-thrown driver or midrange, most of the holes require either an excellent drive or a long putt to get the deuce. The land is mostly flat with some minor undulations on several holes...a roller is a very tempting option on most of the long shots, but the thick grass will make you think twice. The pond (with a fountain in the middle) and creek come into play on a few holes. There are a few tight shots through the pecan groves, and there's enough variation to keep the big arms AND the technical players happy.

During the mini alternate tees are used to make a full 18-hole layout, but I can't recall if they were permanently marked.

For me, the biggest Pro here are the locals...these guys are great! The Irving Disc Golf Club is very active and typically has a big turnout for their weekly minis (Saturday morning singles, Saturday afternoon doubles). I played here for the first time last summer and felt very welcomed. There are also many "old school" freestyle players who line up and jam before the minis...its always a blast to watch, and newcomers are encouraged to give it a try.
Cons: Although I think the hole number signs embedded in the concrete pads look cool, there were a few times that I actually stepped on the glass housing and slipped a little...not a major issue though.

Some might think that being a 9-holers is an automatic Con, but not me...this course if just plain fun.
Other Thoughts: I recommend playing the Saturday mini (9am singles - 2ish doubles)...there's usually a big turnout and the locals are good about making new guys feel welcome. They also bring out 3-4 extra baskets and set them up in a slightly more wooded area of the park. Last time I played, the shot that plays over the edge of the creek was set-up as an island hole...pretty sweet :)

Although it's one of the oldest in Dallas, Fritz park remains one of the most popular among all skill levels.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/18/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is by far the best 9 hole course I have ever played. It is in a beautifully landscaped park with hundreds of huge pecan trees. It has concrete tee pads with hole #'s set into the concrete. Unlike most neighborhood nines, this is not a pitch and putt course. Only a few of the holes are less than 350' with two being almost 500'. A couple of holes have you throwing over the bend of a large deep creek and one has you throwing over a pond with a huge spraying fountain shooting 100' in the air.
Cons: It's only 9 holes. I don't consider this much of a con because most 18 hole courses don't have this many quality holes.

signs with par and distance would be nice

It's very flat.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in the metroplex.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Not too bad...

12/26/2007   8/5/2008
Review By: punkfan55
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Long drives. Has a mix of tough and easy holes.
Cons: Not very easy to find the next hole. They need to fix the signs.
Other Thoughts: This is not a tough course, but it is still a good course to play.

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.