Disc Golf Store
Cambridge, MD 
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Beginner Course

1    8/30/2014   8/30/2014
Review By: gemiller
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice easy course for beginners, we were here for a weekend on the boat and I took a bunch of people who have never played before and they all got to play and actually succeed. A lot of courses make a beginner just want to quit.
Cons: Hole 1 - Brush is a good chance of saying goodbye to a disc.
Hole 9 - Plays close to the parking lot, I'd be worried for my car based on most people playing this course have never played before.
Other Thoughts: Well maintained grounds, lots of things to do here included disc golf if you're here for the night.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent short 9 for a hotel

1    6/12/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 short holes with nice tee signs and discatcher baskets. Well designed with tees and baskets well placed for the most part near trees to provide a nice obstacle on an otherwise relatively short and easy course. Made good use of the little elevation available, and the course is well maintained. Course is one loop around and navigation is pretty easy. It's basically a disc only area of the hotel resort, so there shouldn't be much conflict with other people. Amenities galore on site here since it is a resort hotel.
Cons: Hole 9 plays a little too close to the parking lot. There is a good chance to lose a disc in the rough before the Choptank river, or the river itself. Course is really only designed for beginners and relatively short and easy.
Other Thoughts: The wind was whipping around quite a bit when I played which added a nice challenge to the mostly short, flat, open course. The tees are natural which isn't really a pro or con in my book, although it can make it hard to figure out which direction to the basket. I played tee 4 to basket 5 by accident, and it actually plays well either way. I doubt the course gets crowded so you can probably play any safari you want.

This is a great course to introduce people to the game, it's not going to impress most veterans although I appreciated some of the little nuances and details that went into the course. The resort itself is pretty nice with all kinds of activities. For anyone traveling through the area going to the beach, it's a decent stop to stretch out your legs/arms and won't take long to finish.

I'd also recommend to start on hole 7 like opti says and park by the condos near the restaurant all the way back down the road past the hotel. You will see the baskets past the tennis courts.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not to shabby

1    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: revmatty
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 23.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent course if your visiting from out of town. Friendly staff, well maintained, easy to navigate, and a great view of the bay. Not to mention the cold drinks you can get on grounds after a round or two.
Cons: A couple tee's with trees branches hanging over, #9 plays towards the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Should anyone find any discs my co-worker lost on #2 and #5 they are yours for the taking. Consider them a gift from a fellow DGer back in Minnesota.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Resort gives nice exposure to sport

1    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice view of bay, quality course maintenance, great tee signs, and very few issues with navigation and flow.
Cons: 5 of 9 holes are under 185 feet, no need to bring your bag out of your car, just a few mids and putters. No clear tee pads, you just stand on either side of the sign.
Hole 9 is kind of close to the parking lot, a light wind took one of my discs right out into the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: You drive past the immaculately landscaped golf course that has elevation, water fountains, and art work hoping this continues into the disc golf course, clearly ball golf is treated like the popular kid in town and disc golf is the dorky kid who plays with the cat poop in the sandbox, but kudos to the Hyatt for introducing disc golf to their guests and allowing on guest to play their course. I would play it again just for the numerous ace runs.

Hole 4 has a left dog leg, but it needs a mando to make people follow the intended flight path. Hole 7 is the only 300 ft. hole (301), but it is wide open.

I directly passed the course on the way to Shumaker pond without needed to veer from my path at all. It was a welcomed break from the long drive.

Locals say wind often affects this course drastically.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Birdie Hunt on the Bay

1    9/16/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The mighty Choptank River (where I am from any big water like that is called an intracoastal waterway....this river is easily a mile across so don't be disillusioned and expect some little river..it's a damn bay to me) is feet away which provides a pleasant atmosphere as well as some fun breezes. Well groomed grounds and a simple course thats easy to navigate. Excellent facility for first timers. Exposes sport to a wide audience without jeopardizing safety due to it's location to the rear of the resorts grounds. Despite the short length, only one 300 foot hole, theres a few fun holes here. I enjoyed hole 3 which begs to be tomahawked/thumbered over a low hanging branch that forms a perfect overhand window. It's fun when a tee actually promotes a different throw rather than the typical driving style. Hole 6 is a fine hole as well with plenty of wind from the "river" and a patch of old hardwoods to weave through and uphill slightly. A bunch of ace chances 1,2,3,5,8,9 especially but with a tree involved usually to make ace runs and approaches a bit tricky. #4 is a big sweeping hyzer or a risky throw over waist high grass wetlands to a tight pin position....definetely the trickiest hole if you play the high grass as OOB. #7 allows you to get one big 300 ft open drive thrown on an otherwise dainty course. I was able to play 2 rounds and be back on my way in less than an hour. A perfect stop between Cape Henlopen, Trap Pond, Schumaker Pond and the fine courses in the Baltimore/DC region.
Cons: It's a shortie course with no elevation. Tees are natural, though real tees are not needed here. Hole 9 finishes close to the resort and the parking lot..be careful there. Some may be turned off by wind and the high grass around wetlands on holes 5 and 6 can be a disc eating nuisance on an otherwise low stress course. Course is perfect for resort guests, beginners, and just as a chance to stretch your legs a bit if driving through...it's not worth an extra trip and not worth staying at the resort for.
Other Thoughts: The course is to the rear of the resort propery past the main hotel building behind the tennis courts. Hole 1 is close to the hotel itself. I parked in the residential lot way in the back of the property by the restaraunt and would reccomend this as you can finish with the more interesting holes and avoid the crowded hotel lot. Holes 8 and 9 are rather bland holes and it was more fun finishing on hole 6. I tried to break 20 for each round to keep it interesting. Anyone else find it funny that a lavish resort is across the street from a Wal Mart? Seems like no one cares if outsiders come and play here. Nice!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Resort Intro

1    8/19/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Beautiful resort grounds, nice view of the Choptank. Good tee signs. Easy to navigate, as tees are near previous baskets, and baskets are visible from tees. Bathroom near tee #1.
Cons:
Single tee (grass), single basket position. Short and flat. Tall grasses and some bushes to left and behind some of the baskets. Some tees maybe too close to previous basket. Basket #9 perhaps too close to parking lot.
Other Thoughts:
Nine-hole course, distances ranging from 135' to 301', average being just over 200'. A couple very large tree trunks, and/or a bush or two, are the only obstacles on most holes, while a few are wide open.

To find the start, as you reach the main complex, turn right, keeping the buildings to your left and the ball golf course to your right. Enter the large parking lot to your left at its midpoint. Head to the back, slightly left, to find tee #1/basket #9.

A decent enough course to introduce people to the game, although the tall grasses near the first few holes aren't the best feature to have with learning players. Birdie course for more experienced players.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New Course Is Fun

2-4    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Minnick85
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenic location on the Choptank River, Course is new and in Great Condition.
Cons: Last hole is near to parking so you must be careful.
Other Thoughts: Plenty of Parking. Most Holes are typical from what I have seen of other courses however there are a few mid course holes that are challenging with a 90 degree hook on one and an uphill drive thru parallel rows of trees on another.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.