Weatherly, PA 
Eurana Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #8 (Taken 4/2010)
4 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short, but tight

2-4    10/20/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: TMF2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun.....some well designed holes for such a short course. Some hard turns in both directions which require different types of shots. Changes in elevation add to variety.
Cons: The tee pads HAVE to be worked on. Some are at downright silly angles. 9 of the baskets are low end models. Could use a few arrows and a couple tee signs need to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: This is a short course that any level of player can have fun on. There are enough trees and tight turns to challenge more skilled players. While it can't be said to a top end venue, you can have fun here and work on your short game and trouble shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Use of Space

1    5/19/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Eurana Park is a well maintained public space nestled in the cozy town of Weatherly. Given the directions available, the course and the first tee aren't difficult to find. Parking is ample and the park itself is clean.

Given the small footprint of the park, the course makes maximum use of space, incorporating different fairway shapes (some more extreme than others), lengths, and elevation changes. Variety is key in spaces like this and this detail wasn't lost when this course was installed.

The first hole is a straight, open run at the basket across a grassy fairway with old growth trees bordering the hole. Every hole thereafter is in the old growth trees. Although some of the remaining eight holes could be considered somewhat short (as little as 153'), the design of the course requires accuracy to birdie many of the holes and there are very few "gimmies". That said, despite being wooded and technical, the course is fair. Most throws that deviate from the fairway can be recovered without being too punishing.

Several holes push the risk vs. reward aspect, such as hole #4. This is actually the shortest hole on the course and has a left turning fairway that plays to a very fast green. Overdrive this hole and you face a tough upshot. Pure the fairway and you'll be rewarded with sweet chain music under par.

Benches were plentiful as were garbage cans. Not once did I see any trash on the course. Further, the trees and brush seemed to be trimmed back nicely.

The occasional tee signs helped locating the baskets and determining the distance. Additional signage included painted numbers & dots on the trees that lead to the next hole, although in most cases this wasn't necessary as clearly visible (and usually tree-lined) paths lead you to the next tee.
Cons: There are a few holes where you're playing directly behind neighboring houses and this is always a dicey situation.

As a counterpoint to the technically challenging aspect, there were holes that were somewhat short. The course made the best use of the land available, but some of the holes needed to be a bit longer to feel legit.

Many of the tee pads are starting to show signs of aging as the ground and roots below them heave and warp the throwing surface. In a few spots, it's safer to stand & deliver rather than try a run up.

Some of the tee signs had fallen apart or disappeared completely.

The signage pointing to hole #9 actually sends you to an old tee and pin position. After giving up, I spotted the 9th basket on my way out of the park and doubled-back to find the tee and play the hole.
Other Thoughts: I know the designer and I promised I wouldn't pull any punches. That said, I really didn't need to throw any punches because I really, really liked this course and found few flaws. Despite the limited space, I think the most (and best) course was crammed into the least area.

I can't say Eurana Park is a destination play, but it's still a great option for anybody in this area of the Poconos that wants to get out for a nice, quick round. If I happen to pass through the area, this will be on my short hit list to play again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Technically Short!

1    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are a lot of neat things about playing here:

- The park is in a great "natural" woodsy setting. It's hard to believe that this course is in a town park! It's relaxing and great on a sunny day, as there is plenty of shade. Once you leave hole #1 you're basically making your way into a dense forest with many trees serving as obstacles between you and the basket. As such, this is primarily a technical course, which is a pro for me because I think that adds a whole other dimension to the experience. I would, however, like to see more variety as well (see cons)

- Great risk reward with basket placement, elevation changes, and both hyzer/anhyzer doglegs.

- The course has nice amenities and isn't hard at all to find. Signage and nice grippy flypads add to the course too.

Summary of holes:

#1 - The course's only open shot with one tree hazard in front of the basket. A nice relaxing way to start off the round.

#2 - A 45 degree anhyzer dogleg with rhododendrons on both sides of the fairway looking to grab your disc.

#3 - The elevation changes here with a nice uphill drive to the basket.

#4 - A hyzer dogleg in a well guarded placement of trees. Incredibly short, at only 153 feet!

#5 - Another tight wooded blind shot slightly downhill. Apparently someone aced this because the moron wrote on the basket >:(

#6 - An uphill wooded hole slightly to the left. You must clear a narrow lane of trees if you want to go under par.

#7 - Straight shot between a tight narrow set of trees. #8 is very similar.

#9 - The last hole is a fantastic way to end the nine holes. It's a very steep downhill drive to the basket with a lane of trees that can't be wider than 3 feet. The tee is likewise angled, as it's right along the steep hill, meaning that you gotta bend your knees a little bit to maintain balance. I would love to see this hole become a mando to make it all the more interesting!

Cons: - It's a little weird playing by people's backyards on some holes

- While the tight wooded technical shots are great, I'd like to see some more variety. Hole #1 is the only open hole, and I think at least a 3 to 1 wooded to open ratio would boost a rating for this course.

- Very short holes! One of them is only 153 feet! I'd go so far as to say you could get away with a midrange here -- at most a nice fairway driver.

Other Thoughts: For being a short nine hole course, this place really tests your skills. Many of the holes are technical, but a major drawback is the short lengths from tee to basket. The short lengths are compensated by the spectacular beauty of the park and the serene natural feel, despite being in a town park.

Eurana is a great companion to F.E.W Dam and Hickory Run!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/15/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: dmach
Played: 76  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is a very unique course, placed in a nice wooded park. hole #1 is the only open hole, with trees on both far sides of a picturesque meadow. after that, its all woods. good use of elevation on a few of the holes. and there is even a creek that comes to play on hole #1 and #9. there are some short holes, but the trees make it so its not so easy every time. this course is also only a few blocks from my home, so i try to get here a few times a week. definitely worth coming to check it out!!
Cons: the only con about this course in my eyes is that there isnt really enough room for 9 more holes. but thats not really a bad thing, at least we have one now!!
Other Thoughts: great addition to the rest of the local courses. me personally, ive had scores ranging from -3 on good days, to +5 on one "really" bad day, so scores can go either way. there are some short holes, but they are not always a gimmie, but yet there are some longer holes that you can get a nice powerful drive on. if you are a quicker paced player, like myself, you can easily get through 18 holes in aobut 45 min. there is a also concession stand that you can get drinks, and snacks and ice cream in the summer when its open. and they even carry a little selection of plastic for first timers, or if you are just passing through and decide to play with out your equipment.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 cool little course

5+    11/19/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: aklimbing
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Technical course with some fun holes. Elevation changes makes the course interesting (in a good way).
Cons: The trails to each hole are getting better. Alternate tee boxes would be a great way to make 18 holes more fun.
Other Thoughts: The more the course is played, the better it will get.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Eurana Park Review...

5+    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: mike
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very technical course. Course has both lefty and righty shots. Lots of trees so the shot placement is critical. Fly18 Teepads work great even when wet! The walk throughout the course isn't too bad on 'older' legs.
Cons: Short course....but it's understood based on the location of the course. Some directional arrows would be helpful however there are white dots painted on trees for following.
Other Thoughts: During the summer, the concession stand has beverages, snacks, and a limited supply of plastic. The park will be installing a bulletin board with a course map and scorecards in the near future. Hopefully with the success of Eurana Park, the community will find more land and approve and install 18 more holes for disc golf!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.