Kitchener, ON 
Chicopee DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 160ft.   3 / 200ft.   3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun hilly terrain

5+    5/27/2013   8/30/2013
Review By: mandrew.manlypants
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: Fun & well thought out course with many elevation changes. Fairway is typically open & trimmed grass, which helps for some of the longer downhill throws. Multiple tees (three options) allow for a variety of play. Wear decent walking footwear and be prepared to hike up some hills.
Cons: Tough to play in the wind - the downhill throws especially can really catch the wind and go way off course. Adds to the fun, though.
Other Thoughts: Although they ask that you pay, we typically just go in and play and are rarely bothered.

 Long and varied

5+    6/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: 3j0hn
Played: 84  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a ski hill in the winter. It has 13 holes that wind up and down the ski slopes, and 5 holes that wrap around the large drainage pond.

It has a nice mix of different types of risky, challenging holes:
-Eleven holes have extensive out of bounds off the fairway.
-Four holes have significant water to punish stray drives and bad upshots (and with really bad luck it can come into play on a fifth).
-Five holes have steep up-slopes.
-Two holes are very long downhill bombs.
-Four holes have tight woods.
The course mixes these up nicely, so you usually aren't looking at the same type of hole twice in a row. Being able to drive long is useful (and necessary from the long blue tees), but accuracy is still necessary on nearly every hole.
Cons: Seasonal: the most challenging holes are close for the ski season.
Expensive to play by disc golf standards.
Long walks between some holes.
The path to holes 16 and 17 are a bit hidden, and can be hard to find even with the map.
Can be a bit punishing on beginners.
If the hill has not been mowed recently the long grass can make finding your drive difficult on the hill holes.
Other Thoughts: I really didn't like this course the first couple times I played it. But since, I have bought an annual membership, and it has become my home course. This is pretty cost effective if you are a local and play weekly. If you are not a local, try to catch a member so that you can get the discounted "guest" rate.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great course

1    5/27/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: darkhawk
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers, a good mix of technical and enjoyable shots.
It is sprawled out over the property and the hills demand a different set of skills.
Very nicely marked the baskets have arrows to point to next hole
nice score card available
-Water, HILLS and Trees.
-Washrooms
-An impressive pros-shop
-More secure parking then other coursed I have played.
Cons: Broken into sections so some extra walking.
Other Thoughts: It is the closest in the area that I have found that reminds me of a course I played and loved in Canmore, I plan to go back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ok

1    8/14/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: Pete and Vendy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Big elevation changes.
Scenic first 5 holes around a little pond.
The thousand foot hole downhill is unique.
Easy to find the next hole.
You won't lose a disc.
Clearly the winner in amenities with a first class chalet for all your snacking and bathroom needs.
Cons: First 5 holes are really short and easy and only the fear of throwing in the water gives them any challenge.
The wind coming down the slopes made for some bitterly disappointing putts.
You won't feel challenged without tree hazards.
Other Thoughts: It was interesting to play once but we won't be going back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth the $5

1    8/21/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: EricAvery
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a word: Awesome.
I really enjoyed the shotmaking demands of the hillside/sloped portion of the course.
A lot of up and down angles, shot decisionmaking and hill technique that comes with Chicopee where 12 of the 18 holes involve elevation change as an element.
Excellent variation in terrain, lefts, rights, long and short, tight and wide, open and closed.
The amenities are nice. Having an ice cold Gatorade and a turkey sandwich after the first 18 was great.
Well groomed.
Best marked course I have played on: simple and ingenius arrows emebedded in the ground at the base of each basket indicating direction to next tee, with additional signs along the path to the next baskets means you will NOT get lost.
The buried 4 foot bright red and bright blue wood tee markers were easily visible and worked well.
In summary a very smoothly run course that provides demands and challenge, joy and heartbreak.
Everyone talks about the 1000 foot shot of 18, but I especially enjoyed throwing # 15.
Big vista view.
I think you can buy a beer at the lounge upstairs and sit on the patio deck after your rounds which has a nice ring to it.
I really enjoyed playing this course. Like a good book it started off slow then built up and up to a big bang at the end.
Cons: $5 per round. I hate paying but with the amenities and service it was a bit like a disc golf resort so it is worth the 5 bucks in my opinion. One employee admitted that if I played more than 1 round on the same $5 they would have no way of knowing.
Not sure how the natural tees would fare on a very wet day.
Would prefer a posted sign for each pro and am tee instead of just one sign per hole.
A certain level of challenge is missing that you would find in a more treed course. I would not guess this course was professionally designed but it was fun.
You share the space with 9-5 daycamp kids as well as hikers and mountainbikers so distraction and delays a possibility, especially 1, 9 and 18.
Closed at night so not a glowie friendly course which is sad. Closed Thanksgiving through Springtime so no snow frolf which also is too bad.
Other Thoughts: Do not be intimidated by the concept of climbing. If you play a bit of frolf at all then zigzagging up the hill is no problem. Everyone talks about the 1000 foot shot off 18, but I especially enjoyed throwing # 15. All ski runs have nicknames, so I would call # 15 "Beautiful Terror!" There is a combination of an amazing view and one very difficutl throw with alot of risk and temptation: Throwing across the pointy ridge of the ski hill with gusty tough to read leeward and wayward winds, a groomed downward ski slope on one side and a severe drop off with tangled disc eating rough on the other, an impediment building on a tough S shaped throw made my palms sweat. Loved it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.