Springfield, IL 
Lincoln Park - North Share
Uploaded By: HighFlyer88 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Flat and Open

5+    5/10/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is a decent mix of distances and lines on this course with elevation on a couple holes. There are multiple tees on some holes with number markers by them. This course has a few cool holes. 2 has some very unique terrain and a awesome basket position. 15 is a great valley par 4 with a tricky green. 16 is a challenging long, low, downhill hole that requires a great drive to get a look at birdie.
Cons: Overall, this course is flat, open, and boring. One of the par 4s is very poorly designed as the approach most people are left with is much to short and almost everyone gets a birdie 3 on the hole.

The grass tees are not great.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

1    2/26/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is laid out through a flatter and more open area of the park than the south course. Most of the holes are grassy with mature trees in play. A few holes bring a little brush into play, but overall this course has a park feel. There are a few elevation changes, and they're used well to add some fun and challenge to the course.

There's a nice mix of hole lengths, especially with dual tees on many holes, and 3 distinct tees on a few. Several of the alternate tees offer a different line to the hole, always a plus for the variety. The trees in play are used well to define some different lines throughout the course, there's more line shaping required than you'd expect for how open most of the course is. There are a few really nice holes out here, 15 and 16 really stand out as I think back on the round. The next tee markers at the base of each pin are fantastic, there are some walks between holes but if you pay attention these make it really easy to follow.
Cons: There are some safety issues on this course, with lots of holes that bring roads into play. That also takes away from the feeling of seclusion, you can see roads from pretty much every hole on the course. The course feels really open, the design did a great job with the available terrain and foliage, but a large amount of the course is on pretty open fields.

The rest of the cons are hopefully temporary, I'd love to go back down to Springfield and see them taken care of so I can update my review and rating. Right now there aren't any tees, and the grass areas that are (sometimes) marked with flags are getting muddy and rutted out. The hole markers are just numbered posts, it will be nice to see real signs with hole distance and layout out there.
Other Thoughts: I always love to see multiple courses in one park, it makes for better tournament possibilities, and more variety when you get out to play. This course is still a little rough, but it's obvious work is going into it. Beginners will find it a little long, even from the short tees, though it's not too punitive so it might not be too frustrating. More experienced players will find some challenges here that complement the shorter and more technical south course well. Big arms will have some chances to air it out, though some ob will keep you honest.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good compliment to sister course...

1    5/25/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 45  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice addition to the already great course in Lincoln Park. It is very different than the South Course...but not in a bad way. I prefer the South course...but it is nice to have a much different course in the same park. Not nearly as much elevation to work with in this half of the park...but they used the trees and other terrain to really make the course interesting. The course flows fairly well...pretty easy to follow along. Like I said in my review of Lincoln South...this park is immaculately groomed and cared for. Both courses are far enough away from other park activities that you don't have to worry about throwing into other park users. This course has some nice tight shots that you have to make. Very nice new DGA baskets.
Cons: The course is new (still in development)...so most of my issues I'm sure will be addressed. No permanent tee boxes yet. Many of the trees could really use the canopy to be raised a bit. You have to throw under trees at times where the branches are so low you have to duck to go under them.
Other Thoughts: This course, while not as intersting as the other course it shares the park with, is a fun course to play. It will just get better as the Springfield crew tweaks it and it takes it's final shape. Great compliment to the other two courses in Springfield.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Complimentary Course

1    5/25/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a very solid addition to the Springfield area. I like the use of the land that was available. While the topography isn't near as interesting as the South course, they really maximized what was available. There are many difficult shots on this course...most of which require you to keep the disc low. Low-laying branches abound throughout and certainly up the degree of difficulty quite a bit. With a little bit of time, there are some young trees planted amongst the large mature trees already there that will mature out there and make the course even tougher. The current tee and pin placements appear to be well thought out and will be solid if they choose to concrete them in the future. The course flows very will with very few exceptions. The park is immaculately maintained.
Cons: I chose to look at this course as what it will be for the most part. Even though there is not much to speak of as far as tee signs/ tee pads, I know there are going to be soon and they did mark the temporary tee pads very well. There were only one or two that I had a hard time finding. The flat ground lends itself to really retaining water. The course was soaked with standing water when we played and one hole is going to have serious flooding issues (can't remember the number). It had a temporary lake (flood water) all the way up to the basket. Some of the trees could use a bit of trimming because the low branch issue is a bit extreme in places.
Other Thoughts: In general I really enjoyed the course. While I scored the courses similarly, they are very different courses. I don't see myself scoring this course much higher than another half disc or so...which is ok. I still enjoyed it, but the South course has quite a bit more upside with a few bugs worked out there. The North course is a winner and fun to play. You can't beat 36 holes of quality disc golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New--Not Done

1    9/18/2009   1/17/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Disclaimer. I played this course when it was not finished. It is still not finished. Check website for updates. I had a guide that help me find all the tee pads and gave me a ton of info on the course. I would have never found my way without him. After I paly it again i'll adjust the rating if need be.*

This section of the park is flatter than the other course. It has large mature trees scattered and is is fairly open. It is a very well kept park and the grass is cut. Minor elevation comes into play on a few holes.

There is a good variety of shots and distances.

There are several memorable holes.

The road out of bounds comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Right now you will not be able to find the tees. They are marked by small utility flags. Natural Tee Pads. They will be concrete in the future.

There are no tee signs. There will be tee signs in the future.
Other Thoughts: Come and spend the day in Springfield. Lincoln Park South is a great course and one of my favorites. Across town Douglas is a fun short course with elevation. These 3 courses offer a great mix of disc golf.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice addition to the south course

1    1/9/2010   1/10/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 356  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -North has a change of scenery from the south, nice rolling hills on several holes, and about the same amount of OB as South, one of my favorite things about the south course and this course.
-North has a lot of shot variety, many of the holes are basic, straight ahead shots, but are designed in such a way that the straight line is tough or nearly impossible, forcing the player to take a hyzer or anhyzer line. During the season, many of these will be roller holes because of the low ceiling. 18 is a great example of this where you can throw a super accurate shot up the gut, or take the safer rhbh hyzer routeout to the road and back toward the pin.
-A few placement-paramount par 3s and 4s. The ones that stick out in my mind are 6 which is a long r-->l bomb into some small trees with a tricky upshot between some pines to get the 3. Hole 15 was probably my favorite hole which started out with a tight tunnel shot along the road and finished long over a rolling hill, with a precarious green near a steep hill running to the road...excellent.
-Low ceilings all over this course, excellent use of city park woods.
Cons: -Course is still in development, tees are still being placed, and thus no concrete, and only flags marking tees, but I expect that to be finalized and concrete poured in Spring.
-There are a couple problems with the layout, hole 13 throws right over the intended tee for 16. IMO they should keep the tee for 16 as that is an awesome shot, and move the tee for 13 so they don't overlap fairways.
-Course starts and finishes a ways from the parking lot, which is kind of a pain, but not a serious con.
Other Thoughts: When all is said and done, this course will be just a hair below South course, but with 2, 3.5+ rated courses in one park, this will be a destination park for traveling dgers, I'm very excited to see this course develop, I'm sure once all the amenities are in place ie tee pads and signs, I'll bump it up to a 3.5. Nice job on the design springfield!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New Lincoln park course

1    11/4/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 143  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is still in the finishing stages. All of the baskets are in, but the tees are only numbered flags. Speaking with a couple of locals, it seems that the new course will play as such: the old holes 15, 16, and 18 will be 1,2, and 3 respectively. (The old course will add three holes and be renumbered to accommodate this change). This course has some nice elevation changes, several holes play along the outer-most edge of park, where errant throws may go over the street (possibly a con, but we'll see).
Hole 1: Next to parking lot of Park building. Throws r-l, ground slopes down into long gulley. From pin go left to next tee
Hole 2: throws up and over hill around back of park building. Steep drop-off behind pin. From pin, look left for next tee
Hole 3: Basically straight throw to end of green near parking lot. From pin, look right across street for next tee.
Hole 4,5, and 6: Tees not marked. Took educated guess for 4, and then 5 and 6 are pretty linear along the green.
Hole 7: To the right of 6's pin. Throws l-r to end of green
Hole 8: Throws back across green towards street
Hole 9: Across street from 8. Throws down a narrow chute of mature, low- hanging trees. The tee for 10 is to the left of the tee for 9
Hole 10: Throws open across rolling field. Pin is tucked in between 3-4 massive trees. Next tee behind pin atop slight rise
Hole 11: Throws longish across field with trees as obstacles and trees protecting pin at top of rise near street. Next tee across street.
Hole 12: Short hole. Throws downhill between numerous trees. Can throw straight, left or right, each with trees in the way. From pin, go left and up hill to edge of hill for next tee
Hole 13: Throws diagonally across open field.
Hole 14: Go past 13's pin to tee. Throws through some trees to the far side of green near street
Hole 15: Tee along edge of park. Throws l-r. Pin on edge of hill, drop-off to street below.
Hole 16: Couldn't find tee. Threw from near 13's tee downhill to tree-protected basket 16.
Hole 17: Couldn't find tee. Made educated guess just past 16's pin. Throws r-l through many trees. From pin, go right and uphill to next tee.
Hole 18: Throws short l-r. Old trees along right side, street to left
Cons: I'm not going to fault anything, as they are not finished. I expect waste receptacles, tee signs, etc. are all in the plan.
Other Thoughts: This is a very early review of an almost-finished course, but shot variety and use of land is quite nice. Once the tees are in, it'll be a great course. An excellent way to throw 36 holes!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.