Springfield, IL
Lincoln Park - North Share
Uploaded By: HighFlyer88 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 366ft.   3 / 366ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Flat and Open

5+    5/10/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is a decent mix of distances and lines on this course with elevation on a couple holes. There are multiple tees on some holes with number markers by them. This course has a few cool holes. 2 has some very unique terrain and a awesome basket position. 15 is a great valley par 4 with a tricky green. 16 is a challenging long, low, downhill hole that requires a great drive to get a look at birdie.
Cons: Overall, this course is flat, open, and boring. One of the par 4s is very poorly designed as the approach most people are left with is much to short and almost everyone gets a birdie 3 on the hole.

The grass tees are not great.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Fun Course

2-4    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Red/White/Blue tee pads (some shared)
- Fun layout with good risk and reward challenge
- For those with a lot of shots in your bag you will have a lot of fun.
- Good use of available land
- Great use of the road and parking lots as OB
- Many risky greens
- Lots and Lots of line choices
- True par 4s
- Many other activities in the park, including a water park.
- Non dgers seem to know whats going on and are courteous. A welcome change compared to what im used to.
Cons: - Inconsistent tee pads (I'm not holding this against the course. With budget cutbacks the cement pads are on hold)
- A few holes have un-level grass tee pads. #12 from the blue is half uphill, half level. #13 is uphill, others are not bad.
- #18 could use some serious trimming. There is not really a good line from the blue tee.
- No descriptive tee signs
Other Thoughts: *Played from the blue tees only*
North is the more fun out of the two courses. It is mostly flat with some elevation change, which is used well. This is a great course for INT level players to work their game. I would say course par for INT level would be a 56-57. Hole #11 is a definite par 4 and holes #15, #16, and #18 are par 3.5s. ADV and PRO players will enjoy this course as well but not find it as challenging.
Those with a limited shot selection may find redundancy here. But those with lots of lines to choose from will enjoy the replay value and appreciate the wide selection of line choices. Lefties and Righties are pretty equal here. Straight turnovers and straight hyzers are essential shots to have.
One of my favorite design qualities to this course, both actually, is the amount of risk at the greens. Steep declines and the road come into play often. Confident putting and approaches are mandatory.
A nice ting about the cement pads not being installed yet is that the tees can still be changed and the layout tweaked until they are ready. You can see evidence of this and I appreciate that those in charge are striving for the best design possible.
If you're in the area I recommend playing both of these courses. It's a short trip off of I55.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Noob Review

1    6/29/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Redleg
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My first review on this course was on my 3rd ever round of Disc Golf. Now have a few more under my belt!
This is the longer and flatter of 2 courses in this park and uses the outer perimeter of the north part of the park. There is a good use of elevation and many mature trees that the course has been designed around. Several of the holes have multiple tee positions for Red, White and/or Blue Tees. Playing the Blue and/or White tees will make the hole longer in most case but also completely change your line to the hole keeping your game fresh. Not all have concrete tee pads but there is a plan to install at new pads in the park and every hole will have at least have the Red tees with a tee pads. This will end some of the mud and level issues noted in earlier reviews. Thanks go to SDGC and the Park District for pursuing that this year. Over all challenging enough to keep a seasoned player coming back but open enough for new players to be able to play and not have their spirit crushed. Great place to intro people to the game off the Red Tees, and good course so let the better players show their stuff with the White and Blue tees.
Cons: The Road, (used by foot and wheeled traffic) can come into play on most holes. But not so much as to interfere with play as long as you have some control and pay attention. There are posts for each hole but no signs for hole information (ie distances, hole positions A or B) There may be a change for that coming but not definite yet. The course is laid out on one big loop, there is about 1/8th mile between Tee 1 and Hole 18 so plan accordingly for a short hike up front or at the end. Also if you only want to get a quick 9 in this might not be your course since # 9 & 10 are about mile from #1 & 18
Other Thoughts: This is a one of 2 great courses in a great park making it a good destination for someone passing through. It is also good for the local who plays there regularly since you have 2 course to choose from that have multiple tees and pin placement on a majority of holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

1    2/26/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is laid out through a flatter and more open area of the park than the south course. Most of the holes are grassy with mature trees in play. A few holes bring a little brush into play, but overall this course has a park feel. There are a few elevation changes, and they're used well to add some fun and challenge to the course.

There's a nice mix of hole lengths, especially with dual tees on many holes, and 3 distinct tees on a few. Several of the alternate tees offer a different line to the hole, always a plus for the variety. The trees in play are used well to define some different lines throughout the course, there's more line shaping required than you'd expect for how open most of the course is. There are a few really nice holes out here, 15 and 16 really stand out as I think back on the round. The next tee markers at the base of each pin are fantastic, there are some walks between holes but if you pay attention these make it really easy to follow.
Cons: There are some safety issues on this course, with lots of holes that bring roads into play. That also takes away from the feeling of seclusion, you can see roads from pretty much every hole on the course. The course feels really open, the design did a great job with the available terrain and foliage, but a large amount of the course is on pretty open fields.

The rest of the cons are hopefully temporary, I'd love to go back down to Springfield and see them taken care of so I can update my review and rating. Right now there aren't any tees, and the grass areas that are (sometimes) marked with flags are getting muddy and rutted out. The hole markers are just numbered posts, it will be nice to see real signs with hole distance and layout out there.
Other Thoughts: I always love to see multiple courses in one park, it makes for better tournament possibilities, and more variety when you get out to play. This course is still a little rough, but it's obvious work is going into it. Beginners will find it a little long, even from the short tees, though it's not too punitive so it might not be too frustrating. More experienced players will find some challenges here that complement the shorter and more technical south course well. Big arms will have some chances to air it out, though some ob will keep you honest.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun For All

1    9/26/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Warrick1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice layout around the north end of park. Course includes many trees and has several options to the basket on most holes. My wife and I are relatively new at DG and we both could play this course and enjoy it. Multiple tees allow beginners as well as advanced players to enjoy course. We also liked the more open aspect of this course.
Cons: The tees are still being marked and a couple of holes had been redone for an upcoming tournament. But once those are done, this will be an easy course to follow. No tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Great for beginners from the red tees - more challenging for advanced players from the white and blue tees. Really like having the distance options. My wife and I really had a good time on this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/18/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: Stoney311
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2nd 18 hole course in the same park! This course plays a little longer and flatter than the south course but it will make you use more of shot arsenal, rollers, forehand, annys, and hyzers as the straight at the pin option is usually not the best one. Has nice Mach 3 baskets with hole number clearly visible. A couple Do or Die putts, 2 and 15 come to mind, where if you run at it too hard you risk going OB because of steep hills behind baskets. The tee areas are now marked with blue 6x6 post with hole number on them, but tees at this point are still natural.
Cons: Natural tee pads at the moment. No sign at tee to show shot route or hole number, but will be soon. Long walk back to car after 18th hole, but hey exercise is good right?
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course. South is the more established but if your already at he park and it has two 18 hole courses why not play them both?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good compliment to sister course...

1    5/25/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 45  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice addition to the already great course in Lincoln Park. It is very different than the South Course...but not in a bad way. I prefer the South course...but it is nice to have a much different course in the same park. Not nearly as much elevation to work with in this half of the park...but they used the trees and other terrain to really make the course interesting. The course flows fairly well...pretty easy to follow along. Like I said in my review of Lincoln South...this park is immaculately groomed and cared for. Both courses are far enough away from other park activities that you don't have to worry about throwing into other park users. This course has some nice tight shots that you have to make. Very nice new DGA baskets.
Cons: The course is new (still in development)...so most of my issues I'm sure will be addressed. No permanent tee boxes yet. Many of the trees could really use the canopy to be raised a bit. You have to throw under trees at times where the branches are so low you have to duck to go under them.
Other Thoughts: This course, while not as intersting as the other course it shares the park with, is a fun course to play. It will just get better as the Springfield crew tweaks it and it takes it's final shape. Great compliment to the other two courses in Springfield.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Complimentary Course

1    5/25/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 16.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a very solid addition to the Springfield area. I like the use of the land that was available. While the topography isn't near as interesting as the South course, they really maximized what was available. There are many difficult shots on this course...most of which require you to keep the disc low. Low-laying branches abound throughout and certainly up the degree of difficulty quite a bit. With a little bit of time, there are some young trees planted amongst the large mature trees already there that will mature out there and make the course even tougher. The current tee and pin placements appear to be well thought out and will be solid if they choose to concrete them in the future. The course flows very will with very few exceptions. The park is immaculately maintained.
Cons: I chose to look at this course as what it will be for the most part. Even though there is not much to speak of as far as tee signs/ tee pads, I know there are going to be soon and they did mark the temporary tee pads very well. There were only one or two that I had a hard time finding. The flat ground lends itself to really retaining water. The course was soaked with standing water when we played and one hole is going to have serious flooding issues (can't remember the number). It had a temporary lake (flood water) all the way up to the basket. Some of the trees could use a bit of trimming because the low branch issue is a bit extreme in places.
Other Thoughts: In general I really enjoyed the course. While I scored the courses similarly, they are very different courses. I don't see myself scoring this course much higher than another half disc or so...which is ok. I still enjoyed it, but the South course has quite a bit more upside with a few bugs worked out there. The North course is a winner and fun to play. You can't beat 36 holes of quality disc golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lincoln park

2-4    5/12/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: bpierce08
Played: 83  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -nice location in the park.
-nice numbered posts telling you which hole and tee pad it was.
-a lot of variety of shots to choose whether be a forehand hyzer or a backhand hyzer.
-beginner friendly.
-right next to south course.
Cons: -no concrete teepads on all holes. (which is still in progress i believe).
-no maps of the holes.
-can be kinda confusing which the next hole is but can be figured out by following the arrows on the previous basket to the general area they are pointing to.
Other Thoughts: The course is still in progress but has got a lot better these past few months. the springfield members have been doing a lot of work to these courses and you can tell because it has been paying off. I really like how it is turning out.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lincoln Park - Norht

5+    5/3/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: TROTTER
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is equipped with NexTEEs...

This is the 2nd 18 hole course in the same park...

18 distinct holes never duplicating the same line.

15 and 16 along the top of the course is what we consider the signature holes on the north course.

Other Thoughts: 1, 2 and 3 were taken from the South Course layout - used to be 15, 16 and 18

When in your in the parking lot the New Blue Tee for # 1 is near the fire hydrant across the street - You are throwing a blind shot over the hill top through the mature trees.

When you are playing #11 at the top of the course, if there are other activities going on in the large field you are throwing across - please use the red tee area behind the backstop up on the right along the access road.

more info at www.discgolfclub.org

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.