Springfield, IL 
Lincoln Park - North Share
Uploaded By: HighFlyer88 Hole #17 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 258ft.   3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Fantastic Potential

2-4    11/28/2009   3/10/2010
Review By: Ziggy
Played: 242  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Seemless integration of the park facilities. This course works it way around Hockey, Softball, Cross Country, and several other activities that can crowd other courses.

Good use of various holes. Left. Right. Up. Down. Long. Short. Natural obstacles are noted and often sweared at.

Like how every shot in the bag is needed in order to approach this course.

Dual routes, left routes, right routes - offer balance - Does not favor one hand versus the other.

Par 4 holes are introduced to both courses at Lincoln Park as a result of installing this new course. I'm not talking about sheer distance. I'm talking about legitimate two shot holes that require placement. Not grip it and rip it.

Several do or die putting greens.

Natural Out of Bounds with Park Roads coming into play. No water to jump into and search for lost discs.

You should not lose a disc out here. No brambles or major rough.

Fantastic relationship with the Park District who often will go out of their way to stop what they are doing and let you pass through hucking plastic.
Cons: Blind shot on #13. Cant really see cars coming.

Natural tees

Some dude posting this....
"I only used one disc the whole time and just kind of carelessly threw it and it failed to impress me..."
and overlooking the incredible country club city park possibilities for a fantastic atmosphere of plastic hucking.
Other Thoughts: http://www.pdga.com/event?TournID=9915

Be sure to check out the Motherlode PDGA tourney on May 14 weekend

you wont regret playing tourney golf there with one of the most friendliest organizations I came across.

Hole #1 is old #15 downhill.
Hole #2 is old #16 on the side of the hill
Hole #3 is old #18 with the concrete blocks/retaining wall
Hole #4 is across the street going northeast from #3
Hole #5 is directly east of #4 basket
Hole #6 is North of #5 basket towards the evergreens
Hole #7 is North of #6
Hole #8 is west of #7 (side by side)
Hole #9 is across road west of #8. Good Roller hole through the trees.
Hole #10 is about 100feet? west of #9 tee.
Hole #11 is about 300 feet south of #10 basket
Hole #12 is across the street north of #11 basket
Hole #13 is about 100 feet east of #12
Hole #14 is east of #13
Hole #15 (signature hole?) is side by side #14
Hole #16 is west of hole #15
Hole #17 is south of #16
Hole #18 is south of #17

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I'm glad they used this land for disc golf, it's definitely got a little bit of potential to be a nice supplement to the South side of this park. While the tees are still not in place and there were flags in their place, I had a pretty good time just walking through this half of the course
Cons: It's not very interesting compared to it's counterpart.
I tried to play through this part of the course but I ended up starting at around hole #4 and playing them completely out of order because I couldn't follow the flow.
I wouldn't recommend it. :(
Other Thoughts: While this park is still not done, it's not worth checking out, even if you're in the area and just played the South side. It was more of a walk through the park. I only used one disc the whole time and just kind of carelessly threw it because this course failed to really impress me. I love the Springfield community and the other half of this course, but this just wasn't cutting it for me at all. Hopefully when it's finished, I'll get to play it again and add a few points to the rating. :)

www.discgolfclub.com

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New--Not Done

1    9/18/2009   1/17/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Disclaimer. I played this course when it was not finished. It is still not finished. Check website for updates. I had a guide that help me find all the tee pads and gave me a ton of info on the course. I would have never found my way without him. After I paly it again i'll adjust the rating if need be.*

This section of the park is flatter than the other course. It has large mature trees scattered and is is fairly open. It is a very well kept park and the grass is cut. Minor elevation comes into play on a few holes.

There is a good variety of shots and distances.

There are several memorable holes.

The road out of bounds comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Right now you will not be able to find the tees. They are marked by small utility flags. Natural Tee Pads. They will be concrete in the future.

There are no tee signs. There will be tee signs in the future.
Other Thoughts: Come and spend the day in Springfield. Lincoln Park South is a great course and one of my favorites. Across town Douglas is a fun short course with elevation. These 3 courses offer a great mix of disc golf.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice addition to the south course

1    1/9/2010   1/10/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 364  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -North has a change of scenery from the south, nice rolling hills on several holes, and about the same amount of OB as South, one of my favorite things about the south course and this course.
-North has a lot of shot variety, many of the holes are basic, straight ahead shots, but are designed in such a way that the straight line is tough or nearly impossible, forcing the player to take a hyzer or anhyzer line. During the season, many of these will be roller holes because of the low ceiling. 18 is a great example of this where you can throw a super accurate shot up the gut, or take the safer rhbh hyzer routeout to the road and back toward the pin.
-A few placement-paramount par 3s and 4s. The ones that stick out in my mind are 6 which is a long r-->l bomb into some small trees with a tricky upshot between some pines to get the 3. Hole 15 was probably my favorite hole which started out with a tight tunnel shot along the road and finished long over a rolling hill, with a precarious green near a steep hill running to the road...excellent.
-Low ceilings all over this course, excellent use of city park woods.
Cons: -Course is still in development, tees are still being placed, and thus no concrete, and only flags marking tees, but I expect that to be finalized and concrete poured in Spring.
-There are a couple problems with the layout, hole 13 throws right over the intended tee for 16. IMO they should keep the tee for 16 as that is an awesome shot, and move the tee for 13 so they don't overlap fairways.
-Course starts and finishes a ways from the parking lot, which is kind of a pain, but not a serious con.
Other Thoughts: When all is said and done, this course will be just a hair below South course, but with 2, 3.5+ rated courses in one park, this will be a destination park for traveling dgers, I'm very excited to see this course develop, I'm sure once all the amenities are in place ie tee pads and signs, I'll bump it up to a 3.5. Nice job on the design springfield!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New Lincoln park course

1    11/4/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 161  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is still in the finishing stages. All of the baskets are in, but the tees are only numbered flags. Speaking with a couple of locals, it seems that the new course will play as such: the old holes 15, 16, and 18 will be 1,2, and 3 respectively. (The old course will add three holes and be renumbered to accommodate this change). This course has some nice elevation changes, several holes play along the outer-most edge of park, where errant throws may go over the street (possibly a con, but we'll see).
Hole 1: Next to parking lot of Park building. Throws r-l, ground slopes down into long gulley. From pin go left to next tee
Hole 2: throws up and over hill around back of park building. Steep drop-off behind pin. From pin, look left for next tee
Hole 3: Basically straight throw to end of green near parking lot. From pin, look right across street for next tee.
Hole 4,5, and 6: Tees not marked. Took educated guess for 4, and then 5 and 6 are pretty linear along the green.
Hole 7: To the right of 6's pin. Throws l-r to end of green
Hole 8: Throws back across green towards street
Hole 9: Across street from 8. Throws down a narrow chute of mature, low- hanging trees. The tee for 10 is to the left of the tee for 9
Hole 10: Throws open across rolling field. Pin is tucked in between 3-4 massive trees. Next tee behind pin atop slight rise
Hole 11: Throws longish across field with trees as obstacles and trees protecting pin at top of rise near street. Next tee across street.
Hole 12: Short hole. Throws downhill between numerous trees. Can throw straight, left or right, each with trees in the way. From pin, go left and up hill to edge of hill for next tee
Hole 13: Throws diagonally across open field.
Hole 14: Go past 13's pin to tee. Throws through some trees to the far side of green near street
Hole 15: Tee along edge of park. Throws l-r. Pin on edge of hill, drop-off to street below.
Hole 16: Couldn't find tee. Threw from near 13's tee downhill to tree-protected basket 16.
Hole 17: Couldn't find tee. Made educated guess just past 16's pin. Throws r-l through many trees. From pin, go right and uphill to next tee.
Hole 18: Throws short l-r. Old trees along right side, street to left
Cons: I'm not going to fault anything, as they are not finished. I expect waste receptacles, tee signs, etc. are all in the plan.
Other Thoughts: This is a very early review of an almost-finished course, but shot variety and use of land is quite nice. Once the tees are in, it'll be a great course. An excellent way to throw 36 holes!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.