Cle Elum, WA 
Cle Elum High School DGC Share
Uploaded By: puaahunter Hole #9 (Taken 7/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Construction changes

1    7/11/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30.2 Years
Pros: Beautiful shaded pine woods that are thick enough not to be dried out, rare this time of year in that area. Signs(ones that are there) are well done and railroad tie pins have yellow bands with # facing tee so not too hard to spot with some practice. Easy stop to throw on way across state.
Cons: Some signs are down, tees are natural and not well defined. It seems front 9 is played more often and is easier to follow. Big drawback currently is that there is construction and some holes are missing. hole 1, pin 8 - tee 12 are in zone and missing. I was also unable to find pin 17 or any of 18.
Other Thoughts: With the construction I would throw this one as a 9 hole, and a pleasant one at that. skip 6 and 15(or practice your approach shot, they are both under 40 yds) play tee 8 to pin 12(down hill to left). 13 and 14 are almost 90 degrees to left and harder to find, then finish with 16, dogleg up hill.
It's really too bad this area isn't better maintained, the land is beautiful and would support a great course.

 Needs some TLC

1    5/23/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet course, offers short and long drives through tall pine trees as obstacles and some elevation changes with very little underbrush allowing you to find your disc after the THUNK sound!. And was FREE!
Cons: Navigating your way through this course is difficult, Some wood pallets have been removed and they are now natural tees (pine needles), RxR ties that are not that visible, Some tee signs are missing or broken in half, Some RxR ties are placed right next to the following tee pad making it a dangerous hazard if someone was playing behind you
Other Thoughts: This course is located behind the Cle Elum High school and hole #1 is just behind center field of the BB diamond next to the track about 30 feet into the forest on a mound. Some general clean up of the deadwood or downed trees would improve this course, maybe repaint the RxR ties so they are more visible and utilize the logs to create paths or fairways? With some TLC this can be a great course.

I know that the high school has P.E. classes that use the course. All it takes is a disgruntled student who hates P.E. To karate chop a sign and do a round house on an RxR tie on his way home. Better yet coming home after detention from the P.E. class because he failed to dress out that day!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Cle Elum High School DGC

1    4/30/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Cle Elum DGC is located on a beautiful wooded plot of land directly behind the football field on the high school campus. The course is densely populated with many Pines and not much underbrush, making it fairly easy to find your disc. As the previous reviewer stated, the course looks as if it was an Eagle Scout project, with painted wooden tee signs (marking the distance in yards and includes the par) and railroad ties partially buried (with faded numbers and if your lucky a bright pink ribbon tied around it) as the targets.

This course was created for the recreational player in mind, but is still appropriate for amateur players alike (if not playing it as a par 62, but rather 54). The course does a nice job utilizing the elevation present, allowing for both upshots through the dense forest and then eventually back down. Almost every fairway is tight, with towering trees on either side of you and the occasional bush that presents some difficulty and obstructs your throw to the pin. Holes range from about 125-340 feet, and at times can be quite challenging. However, there are several holes out there that allow for easy birdies and even aces!
Cons:
For starters, the tee pads in which players throw from are wooden pallets buried in the dirt level with the ground. However, some are missing, not buried, or even worse broken and extremely unsafe. Often times, I found myself standing behind or to the side of the tees so I wouldn't trip over them.

Navigation was another major problem. The first nine holes were very easy to locate (with a map), but the final nine seemed to be where it got tricky. I was able to locate hole #10 after a few minutes (turn around after hole #9 and look to your left after about 75ft. back down the fairway of #9). The remainder of the holes continued to be difficult to find, whether it was the tee or the pin.

This leaves me to the last issue, vandalism. The reason the back nine was so hard to locate was due to all the destruction of the tees, tee signs, and even the pins. Since the course is located behind a high school and elementary school, I am sure kids often walk through the course on their way home. Because of this, the course suffers, which truly is a shame.
Other Thoughts:
I really had a blast playing this course, as it forced me to work on my wooded approach and fairway accuracy the entire time. The course was easily accessible (right off I-90, about 5 minutes away), so it was the perfect place to stretch the legs and play. There was plenty of parking and a port o' potty right by the tennis courts. Cle Elum High School DGC is perfect for course baggers like myself and anyone looking to develop their short game.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cle Elum Pole Hole Course Could Be Easily Improved!

1    4/24/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits in the woods behind the Cle Elum High School baseball and football fields. It reminds me of one of those Eagle Scout project courses where the scout has to complete a project to finish his Eagle Scout community service. The difference here is this is one pretty nice piece of land for a course. It's big enough for a recreational 18 hole course. It has the required elevation, a nice amount of trees and very little underbrush.
The targets are railroad ties buried on end with a faded hole number painted on them. The teepads are wooden pallets buried flush with the ground. The signs that are left are informative although they measure the distance in yards instead of feet. Also, the listed pars are too easy, like a 310 foot par 5. These couple of things makes me think that this could have been a scout project. But there are many fun or technical throws to be made here.
Cons: Navigation was a major issue for me. I got through the front nine with little problem. But it all fell apart for me on the back nine. To start with, I never could find the #10 teepad. I did, however, find that pole. After that, I was never able to connect the dots or find both the pad and the pole. The so-called teepads are a terrible idea. Trying to throw off a broken pallet is not a good idea. Many of the signs are either broken or missing.

The poles? I built a pole hole course many years ago. After playing courses with baskets, I just can't give a decent rating to a pole hole course. Like the old saying goes, "Once you go baskets, you never go back"! The poles here are extremely hard to indentify through the trees.
Other Thoughts: This course greatly frustrated me because with a few simple, inexpensive improvements, it would be a pretty nice little object course in a town with no other courses anywhere close.

1) Rebuild the teepads with some concrete building blocks. That would be a lot easier than building concrete pads.

2) Paint two lines on the poles. The first about 18-24 " off the ground and the second maybe 6" from the top. Make it so you have to hit between the lines. With an pole hole, you always putt at the very bottom of the pole so if you miss, you never sail far past the pole. This would add substantially to the challenge.

3) The poles are so hard to see through the forrest. How about attaching a round, brightly colored piece of metal to the top of each one. Or bolting a small orange traffic cone to the top of each. One of the early poles had a cone atop it and was so much easier to find.

4) Get the missing signs replaced/repaired.

Making these relatively cheap improvements would greatly enhance the course enjoyment llevel. I'd be willing to raise my rating with some minor improvements.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pole Hole Fun!

2-4    4/30/2010   9/29/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a little object course in the back woods of the Cle Elum High School. I was on I-90 coming back from Spokane and decided to see if I could find it knowing it was at the High School, I asked around and was pointed to hole one on top of a little dirt bike ramp. The course layout is done pretty well, who ever was responsible for this did a great job here. Lots and lots of trees make for very tough little technical holes, but there is not a lot of underbrush which is nice, because who likes looking for discs? Great job with with left and right turns, and the tee signs are a nice touch. Not very long, you will use a lot of midrange and putting but very very fun for an object course and next time I'm in the area I would play it again.
Cons: Someone has gone through and vandalized some of the very nicely done tee signs which is a real shame because the ones that are left help the golfers very much as it is hard to see what pole or tree you are aiming at with all of the other trees. The course is quite short and some of the measurements are a little off from the tee signs. The tee pads are wooden pallets, very short and very dangerous to try a run up on, so I used the dirt behind these.
Other Thoughts: It's too bad they don't have baskets but it's still a very fun little course for what it is supposed to be and if you lived in the city you would be grateful as it is better than no course at all.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 got wood?

1    7/26/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes.
nice layout.
good shade on a scorching hot day!
nice signage.
great use of terrain- throwing off hills, up hills, down hills.
great mix of shots: hysers, anhysers, straight ahead drives, layups, forehand, backhand, and tomahawk throws were all used during my round.
secluded. i was definitely the only one out there! [granted it was a hot sunday morning in july!]
Cons: short holes.
TONS of trees - seriously, bring your cheap discs! i spent lots of time drilling my discs in trees. my main driver i used is now completely jacked up!
no baskets. [holes are railroad ties buried on end.
dangerous tee pads- decrepit old pallets partially buried. [nice gesture, but i shot just off to the side of them for fear of twisting my ankle!]

i couldn't find info anywhere online and i had a hard time finding it. [see other thoughts]
Other Thoughts: I stumbled upon this course by accident. I was looking for the Rat Pac Disc Golf Course [http://www.ratpactrail.org/ra...discgolf.htmin Cle Elum, WA. But using their directions online, i was unable to find it.

Having no car and a full Sunday morning in Cle Elum to kill, and itching for some Disc Golf, i asked a nice walker if she knew how to find the course. she sent me up the miner trail [starting out near the flagpole park] to the trail exit that puts you off near the roundabout. then i asked the lady at Shell how to get to the high school. after bumping around there for a bit, i finally found hole #1. i sure wish it was better marked or there was more info available for it.

but my question is this: Is there still another Disc Golf course in Cle Elum?

this one has the same type of holes as the one pictured on the Rat Pac Disc Golf website, but i didn't recognize any of the terrain. Also, the directions on the website [while they didn't lead me to their course] definitely did not or could not lead to the Cle Elum High School.

i have an email in to the course designer of the Rat Pac course, hoping for some further information.


***i uploaded many pictures with pretty descriptive captions, so please check them out!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center