Saugatuck, MI 
Shore Acres Park Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #4 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 237ft.   3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Can Be Here All Day

5+    6/3/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: nothing but chains
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The hole locations makes it very challenging on a few holes.
Some very hard tee shots involving you to curve your disc around trees.
Some wide open holes as well where you can just chuck as hard as you want with nothing in the way.
Everything about this course is amazing.
Great way to hang out with friends and do something that is time consuming and free!!!
Cons: Bring water.
Other Thoughts: Don't expect to be good if it is your first time. This course is very hard for a first time discer

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Discin' in the Dunes!

1    10/13/2013   10/13/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fantastic use of the existing landscape and topography.
- Awesome tee pads. Finished with just the right roughness for that perfect grip. A little sandy on some but that's just the nature of playing in a setting like this.
- No one hole looked like another. Great variety of open, tight and ridiculously narrow shots.
- Not brutally long but some long holes in the mix to keep the big arms happy.
- Nice use of risk/reward. Errant shots are punished here but not horrifically so. Many of the holes place value in accuracy over distance.
- Fun. Every hole was just plain fun.
- Great course to bring beginners. As I already stated not an excessively long course as to not frustrate the newbs too much but still interesting for the pros.
- Trash? What trash? Very nicely kept up park. Trash cans throughout.
- Benches EVERYWHERE. Sooo nice after ambling up and down some of those sandy dunes.
Cons: - When I played there this park was BUSY. A lot of non-dg'ers were walking the trails that criss-cross many of the fairways. Definitely some safety hazards present here so pay attention to the activities around you.
- Navigation needs to be improved. No next tee signs and a course map is sorely needed. At the first tee. The posts with the hole information are nice and all but it was still a little confusing where the basket is located. Along this item I noticed there were some areas marked off with white paint. Is that OB? No idea. So some more detailed maps at each tee box would be handy because the white lines could not be seen from the tee.
- #9 and #10 are just too close together IMHO. People teeing off on the #9 tee could easily make it to the #10 basket in the gold position with a slightly of course RHBH shot. I know, it's kind of a picky con but get over it. ;)
Other Thoughts: What a great course. Certainly not your run of the mill professional caliber monster with 1k' long holes but definitely a riot to play. One thing to keep in mind here is the wind. Not a con mind you, but just something to be aware of this close to the lake. The wind coming off the lake can be brutal.

I think if the navigation was tidied up a bit this is certainly a 4.0 course in my book. I will definitely be back and play it again. If you are in the area check it out. Certainly worth the time and effort to play here especially with all the touristy towns nearby including, Saugatuk, Holland, South Haven and Saint Joseph. Just a great area to hang out and visit.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Uninspiring golf.

1    6/19/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Great location near Lake Michigan.
-Very long course.
-Beautiful
Cons: Confusing layout. I'm still confused by the signs. There are multiple baskets per hole?

Chased out aggressively by a league wanting to play two hours before league play began.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a local. As an outsider looking in, I really can't recommend someone come here if they're not a local. I didn't think the local players were nice at all. I was there hours before their league play started at 6pm and I was still receiving negative comments from members of the league (no idea the league name. Blue shirts.)

Add to this the confusing nature of the course and it's a clear "do not recommend" to those who aren't already regulars. The course itself is good, but the overall feeling of being there was very negative and hostile. To be clear, I was not playing during league time and there were a lot of other non-league players there.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Variety Course

5+    5/16/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: Trespayne
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety-Some shots are wide open, some are lightly wooded, and some heavily wooded. Some shots are long (a few over 400) and some mid range. Signage is good for most of the course.

Course is well kept, and generally pretty clean.

Have been there over 5 times and have never had an issue with people on the course. Always very friendly
Cons: There are not a lot of really good birdie opportunities, which may not be a con for everybody. There are probably 3-4 that you are expected to get a birdie on, the rest are tough birdies.

There are also not a lot that you would get a bogey on. The long shots are wide open, and the tougher wooded shots are not long enough or punishable enough to cause a bogey even with a bad first throw.

Being close to Lake Michigan and quite open, it can be very windy at times. It is usually not too noticeable most of the time, but putting can be affected a bit from it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great course. I keep coming back because of location to me (15 miles), but even beside that it's a great one to play. The variety is what I like most.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Fun, Mid-level Challenge Course with Some Outstanding Holes

5+    12/17/2012   12/17/2012
Review By: Central Scrutinizer
Played: 108  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 25.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As advertised, a good mix of open and wooded well-designed holes with a good dose of elevation in play. The designers obviously had a good eye for Disc Golf holes.

Nice concrete tees and Discraft Chainstar baskets.

Artificial OB is plentiful and well-placed. Always a plus.

There is a practice basket and a soccer field if you desire to practice throwing drives.

Port-a-johns and nice trash receptacles are here and there as well.

The course flows well. I don't remember there being any badly extraneous long walks between holes.

The challenge level in general is about on par with the original 18 at Flip City, for example, which I find extremely fun to play. At the same time, there are four or five holes more challenging than that, particularly the run of tightly wooded holes from #3-#7 that are on par with the kind of stuff I remember from Cass Benton when it first opened.

I would like to highlight Hole #12 (if I remember the # correctly...). It's a moderately open hole near 300' with four or five very nicely placed tree obstacles in its midsection that define several windows to choose from the tee. A park two-track dirt road defines the boundary to the right, which comes into play if you're taking the biggest and easiest of the available windows from the tee. It's simple and yet outstanding. I'd like to think more of this kind of hole would be easy to find at most courses but I don't see them enough. It's also preceded by a fun and unique little tightly wooded hole that I liked a lot for the same reason...You have multiple choices at the tee from which to choose, and the easiest first option gives you the most perilous second shot (a downhill putt that could get away from you). A cool tree defines the middle of the hole with a branch sticking right where you want to throw if you're trying the anhyzer options. Nice work on this area of the course!

Cons: Although the course as a whole is lefty-righty balanced, there is one serious design flaw. Of the seven tightly-wooded holes, six are dogleg-right...and on the only one shaped dogleg-left (#18) I still found it useful to tip the angle of my driver with a little anhyzer to keep it out of trouble on the left. They're all good holes in their own right, but I would've liked to have seen two or three moderate to sharp dogleg-left holes for the sake of balance.

If you're a tournament-cashing pro, you will probably smoke this course like you do most. It must be nice. :-)

The tee signs have been vandalized, but to be honest, I don't count that against a course unless the navigation is extremely bad. It isn't. I had to look around a little during my first round but figured it out fairly easily. There is only one spot where it's tricky, and it's when you walk to #3's tee passing by #8's tee to get to it. #3-#7 play in a small circle, then you're at #8 and you carry forth with the rest of the course.

I can't help but nitpick a little...

#10 was too easy, especially considering what appears to be some extra room with which to work. I was 5 for 5 with easy pickup deuces even despite the artificial O.B. behind the basket. A good sign that a hole might be too easy is if I step up and deuce it 5 consecutive times. :-)

Hole #15 (the one that shoots toward a brown metal park maintenance shed) looks promising from the tee, a risk/reward window at left and a layup for par window at right...but upon further inspection, the r/r window isn't really tempting enough. It's very easy to throw a hyzer through the right layup window leaving you with a 100' upshot or so and get par every time, but the r/r window where it is situated from the tee won't yield very many deuces. However, if the tee was moved merely 30' forward and to the 11 o'clock position from where it is now, the layup option still exists with one new tree in the way to make it a little more challenging...and the r/r window is suddenly tempting and might actually yield a deuce if you try...but you also risk bogeying if you hit those trees.
Other Thoughts: I had so much of a blast playing Shore Acres Park today, I decided to play a fourth...then a fifth round, despite the protests of my middle-aged hips and knees! The challenge level, like I said above, is right there where I have lots of fun, where someone such as myself (no power...300' drives but decent control and an above average short game) can shoot even with a decent round. Sure, I love tough courses like Fallasburg too where I'm easily at 3.5 per hole, but for some reason this level makes the neurons in my brain sing happy songs. There is a place for courses like this and a place for courses like Fallasburg too, and I suspect the vast majority of the Disc Golfing population feels at home at a course like this.

Other cool features...Perched atop the property and watching over the course is a cool 1920s mansion, now owned by the township, where tours are sometimes available if you're into that sort of thing.

There is also quite a bit of prickly pear on the course, which is always a treat to this Michigander. Michigan prickly pear kind of looks like a hybrid between Texas prickly pear and cow patties...

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

nice, tough course

5+    6/18/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -variety, there are only a couple of very simple holes on the course, both geographically and skill wise. You need a variety of shots to score well.
-easy to navigate for the most part
-some holes are open bombers and some are poke and pray needle-threaders
-nice concrete tee boxes and the baskets are in great shape
Cons: -the signage has been abused by the weather and idiot park-goers.
-a few holes are very difficult with the trees
Other Thoughts: Not a course for beginners, unless they have a lot of resolve to play the game. Course is very long and some children might struggle walking the entire course. There are many very diffcult holes, some just being dumb luck to par.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 active park

1    5/27/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good overall fair design, plenty of left shots but also righty, not much for boring straight holes here
- Good elevation, landscape, grooming
- Fairly minimal ivy (in fairways)
- Signs, pads, ample parking
Cons: - A few signs missing/vandalized
- Tees can be covered in sand, bring your own broom
- #16 could be unsafe for a jogger coming down the path if the person on the tee isn't paying attention
- 3-5 woods holes are just too tight, offering up no fairway (hole #6 especially- ZERO chance of a good drive)
Other Thoughts: Scope out the holes, often blind.
Fun
Best hole: tie between #3 and #14- #3 is an uphill shot that at first bends slight left but finishes further right, basket on the edge of a steep thickly wooded hill. Short, it really offers no rhbh shot for the park job, without super luck or skill, this hole will teach you that you need sidearm. #14 is a long downhill hole off the edge of a dirt hill, it can be reached by big arms, but they must clear a small pond in front of the basket (dry when I played).
Worst hole- #6- an uphill hole in tight woods with truly no fairway, you'd have to get insanely lucky or hit the best shot ever to park it, most good shots will just get tree-nied and end up at the bottom of the hill for a 3.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has had some recent upgrades to start off the 2013 summer, including new posts at the tees that give accurate hole layouts and new pin positions. Also all tees are cemented now and in great shape.

The elevation changes are moderate and are in play on the majority of the holes. I really have fun on the wooded holes because it can make or break your round depending on the "tree love" you get.

There is a nice mix of hyzer/ anhyzer shots necessary and several blind shots (thankfully the new posts help guide you!) offer a higher degree of difficulty but nothing impossible for beginners.

The unanimous favorite hole is #14 which is thrown from the top of a sand dune/ bluff and the new hole position puts the basket ~500 feet out. Definitely a hole to empty your bag on. Also the water hazard is completely dry 99.9% of the time, I've never seen any water in it. The course is sand so any water soaks up quick.
Cons: I don't really have many cons for this course. I could be nit-picky and say there should be more garbage cans but there are still a couple.
Other Thoughts: Wear shoes and watch out for catci. Bring some water and spend a day playing a couple of rounds, it's definitely a great course to spend an afternoon at.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/13/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: alot of land to play on, majority of the holes had signs, cement tee pads, some benches, decent baskets.
Cons: short cement tee pads, long waiting for next hole, to mnay people playing (not use to it) trash barrels need to be changed,
Other Thoughts: will not return, to long of a course because of all the waiting for the next hole to open up.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Shore Acres Review

5+    8/13/2011   5/3/2012
Review By: markdh92
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: An extremely varied course. Some holes are uphill, others downhill. Some are open , some are wooded. Great variety on the course.
Cons: Often windy due to closeness to Lake Michigan. Shots are sometimes blind if you haven't played the course before.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center