Disc Golf Store
Saugatuck, MI 
Shore Acres Park Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #8 (Taken 10/2010)
-- / --   3 / 424ft.   3 / 424ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice enough

1    8/20/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A number of well-designed holes makes this course a bit above average. It contains a nice balance of woods (precision) vs. fields (power & control). A bit of elevation change on a couple of holes was nice as well. Kind of cool teeing off on hole #1 on the lawn in front of a mansion.
Cons: Pretty, but not amazing. The way it's named and where it's located gave me hopes of tee pads with stunning Lake Michigan dune views. Unfortunately, that doesn't happen. Also, they need a course map at the start, or paint a bar of each basket to point the way to the next hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Discin' in the Dunes!

1    10/13/2013   10/13/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 36  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fantastic use of the existing landscape and topography.
- Awesome tee pads. Finished with just the right roughness for that perfect grip. A little sandy on some but that's just the nature of playing in a setting like this.
- No one hole looked like another. Great variety of open, tight and ridiculously narrow shots.
- Not brutally long but some long holes in the mix to keep the big arms happy.
- Nice use of risk/reward. Errant shots are punished here but not horrifically so. Many of the holes place value in accuracy over distance.
- Fun. Every hole was just plain fun.
- Great course to bring beginners. As I already stated not an excessively long course as to not frustrate the newbs too much but still interesting for the pros.
- Trash? What trash? Very nicely kept up park. Trash cans throughout.
- Benches EVERYWHERE. Sooo nice after ambling up and down some of those sandy dunes.
Cons: - When I played there this park was BUSY. A lot of non-dg'ers were walking the trails that criss-cross many of the fairways. Definitely some safety hazards present here so pay attention to the activities around you.
- Navigation needs to be improved. No next tee signs and a course map is sorely needed. At the first tee. The posts with the hole information are nice and all but it was still a little confusing where the basket is located. Along this item I noticed there were some areas marked off with white paint. Is that OB? No idea. So some more detailed maps at each tee box would be handy because the white lines could not be seen from the tee.
- #9 and #10 are just too close together IMHO. People teeing off on the #9 tee could easily make it to the #10 basket in the gold position with a slightly of course RHBH shot. I know, it's kind of a picky con but get over it. ;)
Other Thoughts: What a great course. Certainly not your run of the mill professional caliber monster with 1k' long holes but definitely a riot to play. One thing to keep in mind here is the wind. Not a con mind you, but just something to be aware of this close to the lake. The wind coming off the lake can be brutal.

I think if the navigation was tidied up a bit this is certainly a 4.0 course in my book. I will definitely be back and play it again. If you are in the area check it out. Certainly worth the time and effort to play here especially with all the touristy towns nearby including, Saugatuk, Holland, South Haven and Saint Joseph. Just a great area to hang out and visit.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 active park

1    5/27/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good overall fair design, plenty of left shots but also righty, not much for boring straight holes here
- Good elevation, landscape, grooming
- Fairly minimal ivy (in fairways)
- Signs, pads, ample parking
Cons: - A few signs missing/vandalized
- Tees can be covered in sand, bring your own broom
- #16 could be unsafe for a jogger coming down the path if the person on the tee isn't paying attention
- 3-5 woods holes are just too tight, offering up no fairway (hole #6 especially- ZERO chance of a good drive)
Other Thoughts: Scope out the holes, often blind.
Fun
Best hole: tie between #3 and #14- #3 is an uphill shot that at first bends slight left but finishes further right, basket on the edge of a steep thickly wooded hill. Short, it really offers no rhbh shot for the park job, without super luck or skill, this hole will teach you that you need sidearm. #14 is a long downhill hole off the edge of a dirt hill, it can be reached by big arms, but they must clear a small pond in front of the basket (dry when I played).
Worst hole- #6- an uphill hole in tight woods with truly no fairway, you'd have to get insanely lucky or hit the best shot ever to park it, most good shots will just get tree-nied and end up at the bottom of the hill for a 3.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shore Acres Review

5+    8/13/2011   5/3/2012
Review By: markdh92
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: An extremely varied course. Some holes are uphill, others downhill. Some are open , some are wooded. Great variety on the course.
Cons: Often windy due to closeness to Lake Michigan. Shots are sometimes blind if you haven't played the course before.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun variety

1    3/11/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mix of terrains and foliage, keeping things interesting and fresh throughout the course. Some shots play through tight wooded alleys, some through scattered mature trees, and some through open sandy grasslands. Elevation comes into play on most holes, adding challenge and fun. There are some fun downhill shots and elevated tees, some tricky uphill shots, and some pins with nice rollaway potential lurking on missed putts. The sandy soil seems to make for great drainage with no mud or stancing water in evidence.

The variety here is pretty good, with a balanced mix of right and left turning holes that call for a variety of shots along with a couple multi-shot holes that make you plan your landing zone. There are some shorter ace run type holes mixed in, and a couple that let you air it out a little with a decent mix in between. Concrete tees are in pretty good shape, baskets seemed fairly new and in great condition. Signage is pretty good, with hole layout and distance.
Cons: There are some navigation issues here, with a few unmarked walks between holes that aren't obvious and no signage helping with that. A few tee signs were missing, others seemed to reflect a different pin position or earlier layout so the distances and hole layouts weren't completely accurate. The open field shots had some long grass that could be potentially frustrating when throwing longer shots then having to search for them, there was also some trash and random junk in a few spots.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time here, definitely a course worth playing with nice variety and a few really cool shots. Beginners will find the course tough but approachable, the rough isn't killer and only a few holes are all that long. More experienced players will find some nice challenges and plenty of chances to use different discs and shots, it's not a gold level course but it provides a great test for intermediate to advanced level players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where's the beach?

1    7/3/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: jasonc
Played: 130  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This relatively new course has excellent concrete tee pads and Discraft Chainstar baskets. All baskets have been recently re-labeled with proper numbers.

A couple of locals we talked to before the round informed us that recent course upgrades have included a 2nd pin location on each hole. We were lucky enough to show up on a day when all baskets were in the longs. A big arm is needed to score well in this configuration.

The course offers great variety, with the shorter holes playing difficult, tight fairways through the more heavily wooded areas in the park.

Most holes offer some type of elevation challenge.
The benches and brooms at each tee were a nice touch as well. The locals were very friendly and helpful. 2 of them told us that this course is more challenging than Flip City.
Cons: This is probably a temporary issue, but signs need to be updated to reflect the 2nd pin positions on each hole.

Other park users, mostly people walking to and from the beach have no clue that they are passing through the course. We had to wait on several holes because families were walking through the fairways. Please pay attention to the non-disc golfers and use spotters when playing in a group.
Other Thoughts: The sand presented a unique challenge, especially on some approach shots where I would normally take 2 or 3 steps.

I was not expecting desert conditions even though we were so close to Lake Michigan. However, we saw plenty of cacti throughout our round. This certainly spurred an investigation of the dog's paws after we finished.

Hole info here says there is water on #14. We did not see any water come into play on any hole.

Newer players may become frustrated with the difficulty here, but it is a wonderful place to learn how to shape lines and deal with the wind. This course will easily be a 4.0 or 4.5 when the signs and maps are updated to reflect the long pin info.

I would certainly play this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Michigan Discin'

2-4    4/8/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Shore Acres, minutes away from Lake Michigan, is home to a challenging 18-hole disc golf course in the style fairly typical of Western Michigan. Overlooking the course's parking lot is a large historical mansion. Stiff lake winds make the open grassy areas a constant adventure to navigate, while the wooded holes boast tight fairways, tasty
elevation changes, and good wooded-to-open or open-to-wooded style holes.
- The course possesses a great balance throughout. Long and short distances are well represented, although nothing reaches 450'. The longer holes are a mix of wooded and open, or half-and-half. Out of the shorter holes, only one is a cheap ace run. The others present pin-ball tree walls or tricks of elevation to contend with. Greens take advantage of elevation to create rollaway or wind gust risks when possible.
- Several holes give you extremely tight lines to hit. #2 shoots up hill into a wall of trees and then downhill to the pin. Unless you can go over the trees, you're left with only one or two very narrow windows. #11 has a nice tight fairway that does present an ace line for those with the right touch.
- Great use of elevation throughout. Every hole has some trick of elevation to keep in mind.
- Concrete tee pads, many with brooms to help keep the omnipresent sand momentarily at bay.
- Practice basket.
- Port-a-john on site near parking lot.
Cons: - #3's tee has a pine tree very close to the right front of the pad. Exercise caution when teeing off, as slamming your hand into it is a real danger.
- The flow isn't intuitive in a couple places your first time through. Pay attention to the hole numbers on signs or you might end up playing the holes in an incorrect order. Especially a problem at #3 and #9.
- The main open field just past the parking lot is strewn with a ton of random junk: bent metal strips, random broken ceramic, etc.
Other Thoughts: - Several interesting plant species on site: Michigan red bamboo patches appear in a couple of places, and small odd succulent/ cactus plants dot the open grassy areas. Due to the close proximity to Lake Michigan, the course has a much sandier soil than most courses farther to the east.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Shore Acres

5+    5/17/2012   9/17/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice long concrete tee pads. Tee signs with hole location and direction needed to go to get to the next tee. Very nice mix of open long drive holes with the technical drives through wooded areas. The course forces you to use a lot of different types of shots in order to score well.
Cons: On hole five after taking our first drive we had to walk a bit in order to find where the basket was located. so blind shots was a small problem. nice that brooms were there but most were broken and only about 2 foot long.
Other Thoughts: I really loved playing the course didn't score very well but that wasn't due to the course. it just motivates me to get back there sometime and try and improve my score since i now know where all the holes are. Had some fun throwing on 14 down the long hill towards the pond. They have moved the basket to the tree line behind the hole adding about another 150 feet or more. really liked 17 trying to navigate the open fairway and trying to hit the small opening in the tree line to put me in line with the hole.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 feels quite secluded

1    8/22/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perhaps because we arrived before daylight; after driving all night; had breakfast in a diner; and then played this at first light....Shore Acres had a wonderful feel too it. Somewhat reminded me of an ocean side course with the sand and the dew on the grass; bird's chirping, etc.
Long, concrete tees all holes. (On many holes; rubber mat tees were still evident; so, concrete fairly new).
Brooms to sweep sand, on many tees.
Lots of what I considered to be quality shots through tight lanes.
Water hole across pond on #14.
Nice balance of shots required; with some quality anny shots (for rhbh).
Roll away greens in many spots. This is one of the outstanding features here; and is quite present at many courses in western Michigan.
I thought we both played roll aways well. I also made a couple quality putts; and yet, we both finished over par. (With that said,I only had two birds, so, didn't shoot that great).
Some of the wooded approaches; if kicked off the fairway, had pretty severe hill side fall off; into schule.
Trash receptacles.
Homey seating areas.
Abandoned building at beginning of course, somehow added to interesting feeling of course.
We enjoyed playing here quite a bit, and debated playing a second round; even though we had courses planned for the entire day. This ended up being better than anything we played in Grand Rapids. (Though, Riverside is a nice course).
Cons: There were no scorecards or maps at the start. We simply went to first tee and began to play. We did find our way around 18 holes without too much trouble; but, for instance; number 10 bucket labeled as #6....#11 tee sign also had #9 written on the post for sign, etc. We played #10 twice; due to a walk back situation; and I'm still not sure it was the correct play of the hole; as there was another bucket deeper right; and the length of the hole we played seemed out of place with the rest of the course lengths (too short). I did deuce it both times though! Also, many of the footage numbers on the signs seemed short to us...
Sand influenced run ups on most upshots. (Just the nature of the course to me; but some may find this a con). Definitely was a factor in play....
Other Thoughts: Our enjoyment level here was a 4. Navigation issues need to be worked on a bit. I understand that when course upgrades are in progress, it is impossible to get everything done at once; so, I'm not complaining, just pointing out, that right now, this one's a bit tough to navigate.
Seems to be getting better all the time.
We finished around 8:30 a.m., and there were six cars in the lot already; on a Friday! So, evidently, we are not the only ones appreciating improvement efforts here....

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 cacti in the dunes

1    5/16/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: mabraddock
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: new course design flows pretty well, although i hadn t played the original... beautiful park located in the dunes of saugatuck... good baskets, and now alcohol friendly!!
Cons: the new holes haven t been beaten in yet, and definitely missing signage...
Other Thoughts: i really liked this course and would recommend it to anyone wanting to play in the sand... i lived in the dunes for ten years and this is the only place i have ever seen cacti... get five and six beaten down and the rest of the pads in and i d give it a four...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.