Saugatuck, MI 
Shore Acres Park Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #13 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 347ft.   3 / 347ft.   3 / 343ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Variety Course

5+    5/16/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: Trespayne
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety-Some shots are wide open, some are lightly wooded, and some heavily wooded. Some shots are long (a few over 400) and some mid range. Signage is good for most of the course.

Course is well kept, and generally pretty clean.

Have been there over 5 times and have never had an issue with people on the course. Always very friendly
Cons: There are not a lot of really good birdie opportunities, which may not be a con for everybody. There are probably 3-4 that you are expected to get a birdie on, the rest are tough birdies.

There are also not a lot that you would get a bogey on. The long shots are wide open, and the tougher wooded shots are not long enough or punishable enough to cause a bogey even with a bad first throw.

Being close to Lake Michigan and quite open, it can be very windy at times. It is usually not too noticeable most of the time, but putting can be affected a bit from it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great course. I keep coming back because of location to me (15 miles), but even beside that it's a great one to play. The variety is what I like most.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Fun, Mid-level Challenge Course with Some Outstanding Holes

5+    12/17/2012   12/17/2012
Review By: Central Scrutinizer
Played: 108  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 25.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As advertised, a good mix of open and wooded well-designed holes with a good dose of elevation in play. The designers obviously had a good eye for Disc Golf holes.

Nice concrete tees and Discraft Chainstar baskets.

Artificial OB is plentiful and well-placed. Always a plus.

There is a practice basket and a soccer field if you desire to practice throwing drives.

Port-a-johns and nice trash receptacles are here and there as well.

The course flows well. I don't remember there being any badly extraneous long walks between holes.

The challenge level in general is about on par with the original 18 at Flip City, for example, which I find extremely fun to play. At the same time, there are four or five holes more challenging than that, particularly the run of tightly wooded holes from #3-#7 that are on par with the kind of stuff I remember from Cass Benton when it first opened.

I would like to highlight Hole #12 (if I remember the # correctly...). It's a moderately open hole near 300' with four or five very nicely placed tree obstacles in its midsection that define several windows to choose from the tee. A park two-track dirt road defines the boundary to the right, which comes into play if you're taking the biggest and easiest of the available windows from the tee. It's simple and yet outstanding. I'd like to think more of this kind of hole would be easy to find at most courses but I don't see them enough. It's also preceded by a fun and unique little tightly wooded hole that I liked a lot for the same reason...You have multiple choices at the tee from which to choose, and the easiest first option gives you the most perilous second shot (a downhill putt that could get away from you). A cool tree defines the middle of the hole with a branch sticking right where you want to throw if you're trying the anhyzer options. Nice work on this area of the course!

Cons: Although the course as a whole is lefty-righty balanced, there is one serious design flaw. Of the seven tightly-wooded holes, six are dogleg-right...and on the only one shaped dogleg-left (#18) I still found it useful to tip the angle of my driver with a little anhyzer to keep it out of trouble on the left. They're all good holes in their own right, but I would've liked to have seen two or three moderate to sharp dogleg-left holes for the sake of balance.

If you're a tournament-cashing pro, you will probably smoke this course like you do most. It must be nice. :-)

The tee signs have been vandalized, but to be honest, I don't count that against a course unless the navigation is extremely bad. It isn't. I had to look around a little during my first round but figured it out fairly easily. There is only one spot where it's tricky, and it's when you walk to #3's tee passing by #8's tee to get to it. #3-#7 play in a small circle, then you're at #8 and you carry forth with the rest of the course.

I can't help but nitpick a little...

#10 was too easy, especially considering what appears to be some extra room with which to work. I was 5 for 5 with easy pickup deuces even despite the artificial O.B. behind the basket. A good sign that a hole might be too easy is if I step up and deuce it 5 consecutive times. :-)

Hole #15 (the one that shoots toward a brown metal park maintenance shed) looks promising from the tee, a risk/reward window at left and a layup for par window at right...but upon further inspection, the r/r window isn't really tempting enough. It's very easy to throw a hyzer through the right layup window leaving you with a 100' upshot or so and get par every time, but the r/r window where it is situated from the tee won't yield very many deuces. However, if the tee was moved merely 30' forward and to the 11 o'clock position from where it is now, the layup option still exists with one new tree in the way to make it a little more challenging...and the r/r window is suddenly tempting and might actually yield a deuce if you try...but you also risk bogeying if you hit those trees.
Other Thoughts: I had so much of a blast playing Shore Acres Park today, I decided to play a fourth...then a fifth round, despite the protests of my middle-aged hips and knees! The challenge level, like I said above, is right there where I have lots of fun, where someone such as myself (no power...300' drives but decent control and an above average short game) can shoot even with a decent round. Sure, I love tough courses like Fallasburg too where I'm easily at 3.5 per hole, but for some reason this level makes the neurons in my brain sing happy songs. There is a place for courses like this and a place for courses like Fallasburg too, and I suspect the vast majority of the Disc Golfing population feels at home at a course like this.

Other cool features...Perched atop the property and watching over the course is a cool 1920s mansion, now owned by the township, where tours are sometimes available if you're into that sort of thing.

There is also quite a bit of prickly pear on the course, which is always a treat to this Michigander. Michigan prickly pear kind of looks like a hybrid between Texas prickly pear and cow patties...

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

nice, tough course

5+    6/18/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -variety, there are only a couple of very simple holes on the course, both geographically and skill wise. You need a variety of shots to score well.
-easy to navigate for the most part
-some holes are open bombers and some are poke and pray needle-threaders
-nice concrete tee boxes and the baskets are in great shape
Cons: -the signage has been abused by the weather and idiot park-goers.
-a few holes are very difficult with the trees
Other Thoughts: Not a course for beginners, unless they have a lot of resolve to play the game. Course is very long and some children might struggle walking the entire course. There are many very diffcult holes, some just being dumb luck to par.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has had some recent upgrades to start off the 2013 summer, including new posts at the tees that give accurate hole layouts and new pin positions. Also all tees are cemented now and in great shape.

The elevation changes are moderate and are in play on the majority of the holes. I really have fun on the wooded holes because it can make or break your round depending on the "tree love" you get.

There is a nice mix of hyzer/ anhyzer shots necessary and several blind shots (thankfully the new posts help guide you!) offer a higher degree of difficulty but nothing impossible for beginners.

The unanimous favorite hole is #14 which is thrown from the top of a sand dune/ bluff and the new hole position puts the basket ~500 feet out. Definitely a hole to empty your bag on. Also the water hazard is completely dry 99.9% of the time, I've never seen any water in it. The course is sand so any water soaks up quick.
Cons: I don't really have many cons for this course. I could be nit-picky and say there should be more garbage cans but there are still a couple.
Other Thoughts: Wear shoes and watch out for catci. Bring some water and spend a day playing a couple of rounds, it's definitely a great course to spend an afternoon at.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/28/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: Skin5482
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved the challenge that this course presented. I'm use to the courses around Chicago which are usually pretty flat or have a few trees in the way. This course was a wake up call to my game. The trees, elevation changes and distance really pushed me to view the best path to the hole instead of taking a quick glance and throwing. The maps at the tees were helpful but could've been better so I'd list them as a pro and a con. The conctrete tee pads were nice and seeing a brrom placed at a few tees was a nice addition too.
Cons: Some holes were hard to spot even when you got close to them. The maps were nice but they were very 2d, it would be nice if they could indicate changes in elevation. Also, some maps were damaged which made it dificult to figure out where to throw.
Other Thoughts: If I lived closer I'd play this course a few times a month just to improve my game. My brother and I really enjoyed playing this course this past weekend.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Course by the Beach

1    8/11/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shore Acres is a well-kept course that offers a lot of variety with its hole designs. Some holes are in the woods with narrow fairways while others are in the open and only have a few obstacles to worry about (though the obstacles that are there can cause problems if you're not careful). This course has a lot of blind tee shots, not just because of the trees but also because of the hilly environment (the elevation does come into play on quite a few holes). With that said, you would think it would be easy to lose your disc, but that normally isn't the case with this course. The woods may be thick with trees, but there aren't many weeds in there and the grass is usually pretty short. Some holes favor forehand drives while others favor backhand drives. The length of the holes vary, and they also have alternate hole locations. There are a few OB areas throughout the course that makes some of the holes a little trickier to play. The signs are helpful, and brooms are sometimes provided at each tee pad so players can sweep off any dirt or sand that might be on them.
Cons: This wooded area is real sandy because of how close it is to Lake Michigan, which, unfortunately, is why there isn't much grass on a lot of fairways. That's also why some of the tee pads can be real sandy, and they don't always provide brooms to sweep them off. Some of the holes can be real muddy for awhile after it rains, and, during the summer, the mosquitoes can also become real bad as a result. There are a few holes in the woods that seem a little too narrow because of all the trees in the way. Also some of the signs have been subjects of vandalism.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one of my favorite courses in Michigan. It's not perfect, but the holes offer different layouts that can be real fun to play and can also test your skills because of the tricky shots they offer. The course is in good shape, and it's a course that people of all skill levels can enjoy. Best of all, this course is so close to Lake Michigan that if you play here on a hot summer day you can take a dip in the lake afterward to cool off.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun challenging course

1    5/21/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: jimmie51
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would have started off my pros with how fun the course is, but as I got the the 17 tee I ran into a group of locals. They invited me to finish the course with them and I have to say what a great group of people. They were very helpful and friendly. The course itself was alot of fun. Challenging and yet forgiving. It's the type of course that won't get old after you have played it 50 times. This course will change as the seasons change so the "sweet spot" will change and the seasons do. A beginner could play this course and have a lot of fun and yet its still challenging for the more advanced players.
Cons: The tee's can be a bit confusing, and there are some holes where figuring out where the basket is a little tricky, but there are hole maps at every tee that show you where the next tee is. This isn't really a con, to be honest I don't really have any cons, but it was the one thing that threw me off. Once you play the course one time it will be no problem, its very easy to figure it out from there.
Other Thoughts: Over all great course. Great people and a challenging yet very enjoyable course. With it only being 30 min from my house I will be playing this course a lot this summer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A little Partial

5+    9/7/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: T Wrecks
Played: 78  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of shot variety here. This course has a good balance for shots, from long open drives, to finesse tee shots to make it down tight fairways. I think theres a lot of variety here for all levels of players. OB makes the holes play even better, especially in the wind. Sand, Water, Bamboo, Cactus, Pine Trees, and Melonheads. What more can you ask for?
Cons: Broken Brooms, and not enough trash cans. With all the sand some of the teepads can get pretty sandy. On most of the tees, there are remnants of brooms that people broke.
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are nice and long, but some additional baskets, or holes would be nice. If you have some time, take a break after hole 11 and go swimming in lake Mi.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Signs.- Super Nice and pretty on par to whats up.
-Cement Tee Pads - Seems pretty new and pretty long compared to most others which is nice.
-A lot of Variations in shots.
-New Baskets. - Discatchers I think and brand new.
-Score Cards.
Cons: - A good amount of blind Shots.
- Very Buggy in the bag.
- A lot to the right
Other Thoughts: I played with the guy who designed it and a guy who plays there a lot so it was a lot easier for me to get around. A lot of bugs. It's on a Mountain Bike trail so watch out for bikers. Signs mark all O.B.'s It needed to be mowed a bit but they said they were getting someone to come out and mow.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course!

2-4    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: Jak3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome course, some very fun holes. Layed back, not overcrowded. The cliff hole is fun.

Someone was nice enough to donate some rubber mats to use as tee-pads for the time being - Thank you kind sir

Alot of cactus growing out there, i didnt even know cactus existed in Michigan, awesome.
Cons: Theres one basket next to a bunch of ehhh sewer structures that seems a bit out of place...

Tee-pads need to be filled in.

Last time i was out there i ran into two separate people who were just "throwing around" they offered to let me play thru, both times as i walked to retrieve my disc for my second shot on two separate holes i got bombarded by disc as the guy couldnt wait for me to play the hole before he started chucking drives at my head.... Get out of here and take your 15 unleashed animals with you.

Watch out for this prick, he seemed like a course regular.
Other Thoughts: Overall its a new and fun course, i look forward to going back for a 3rd time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.