Saugatuck, MI 
Shore Acres Park Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #14 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 438ft.   4 / 593ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great Course on Michigan Dunes

1    5/23/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: Reniger
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Great Layout
Very good use of elevation, wooded and open areas, guard trees, left-to-right and right-to-left holes, short and long holes.
•Very Well Maintained
Local DGC performs upkeep, signage, pads, baskets and very nice hand-made benches at each hole. All baskets were in great shape and most holes had a second basket (they are currently about half way through building a second 18 hole course)
•Well Groomed
Tightly trimmed fairways, some tall rough, but not overbearing, heavily wooded holes still maintained and playable. Clean, textured concrete pads in good condition.
•Good Signage
Map and scorecards at the 1st. Good signage at each hole with most holes having two baskets - both marked at the teepad.
•Trash Cans on Every Hole
No trash to be found at this park whatsoever besides the occasional cigarette.
•Friendly DGC
Ran into two locals from the DGC cleaning benches, picking up trash, cleaning tee-pads and removing graffiti. Both invited my girlfriend and I back for that night's Glow Round while we were in town on vacation
Cons: Very few and very minor cons;
•Slightly Crowded
For as much room as this park uses, there are multiple overlapping holes. Pin 7 shoots within feet of pad 3. Pads 4 and 10 are on top of each other causing some crowding. Nothing bad by any means, but, a bit crowded.
•5-6 VERY Tight Woods
3, 4, 7, 11, and 18 are wooded, but have good paths for a challenging line. Holes 5 and 6 are so tight that there is no way through the trees without pure luck. Could use a couple trees removed to create a hard line in from one side or the other.
•Slightly Confusing
We did get lost on two holes trying to find the next pad. Didn't lose much time, but, a couple more signs could help newcomers.
Other Thoughts: Overall, in my top 5 Michigan courses. Challenging, but, not discouraging - great variety of hole types (L/R, R/L, Elevation, Open, Wooded, Long, Short, Grass/Sand) - VERY well maintained - Trash Cans/Bench on every hole - Good community in the area, lots of players cheering on players on other holes and grouping up to speed rate of play.

I really enjoyed this course for the layout, challenge, scenery (small cactus, sand dunes and a '20s mansion overlooking the course) and the upkeep performed to this park.

Would definitely recommend if you're able to get out to the south Holland area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shore Acres (I call it home)

5+    9/1/2011   9/3/2011
Review By: lazydisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is so well designed. Great use of terrain all the way thru. This course will have you throwing sideways on slopes, over hills and shrubs, up hills into woods, down into woods and across fields. Changeups between raw power shots (hole 14) to pull your punch (hole 10 short) to crazy tricksy (hole 17). Sometimes when I come out to play the holes are short..sometimes long. Havent figured out when they change..kinda nice to be surprised.
The layout of the course allows you to customize your round also. Lots of junctures allow to cut hole sections out. or loop around to play them again. The flow of this course is incredible. Ive tried sooo many ways to run this course.. not a single hiccup anywhere.
Concrete Tees, benches or similar at each hole, with trashcans it major break points. Shiney chain baskets. Signs detailing basket and next hole location. Junction at tee 10 and 4 has patio chairs even. Bathrooms at either end of course. Portopottie tho. Well groomed fairways.
Neat plants around, I didnt know that both bamboo and catcus grew in michigan..and at the same spot. Plenty of changes in the scenery all year long.
I love this course, I play it at least 5 times a week, and it never gets old. I still find parts of it immensely challenging, and this course has increased my skill greatly. The people that play here are very friendly from what Ive seen.
Cons: People that do not golf. This is not a Disc Golf only course. Its a township park. Pay attention when throwing over blind spots. Alot of people mistake the fairways for trails. Vandals have been active during the summer months but I figure when school gets back in, it will decrease.
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Cant express this enough. Its truly a gem. I started playing in Western Montana, and this course reminds me alot of the course back home. If you are anywhere in the area this course is a MUST play. I will continue to play this course as often I can. See you out there!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 michigan cactus?

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 259  Reviewed: 254  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Location--absolutely beautiful piece of land with an awesome duneside locale. Michigan cactus and bamboo? are plentiful through the course.

Signage--Wow! signs are beautiful, accurate and informative.

Layout/flow--Flows well, no need for a map. places following a longer hole have stakes (much like Branstrom) to tell ya where to go.

Variety--starts open, goes into the woods and goes back and forth into and out of the woods. and the woods is thick!

Hole 14 and 17--Loved them. Hole 14 should be the signature hole on this course. start at the top of the hill with a huge bomb shot about 400 feet to a small pond you have to either throw over (near impossible) or throw around (way smarter). Hole 17 throw across a road into a small window in very thick woods. We all hit the hole amazingly enough.

Baskets---Beautiful, make you hate discatchers a little more.
Cons:
Variety--a little heavy on right fades. a LOT of blind shots.

Baskets--a lot are marked with the wrong hole number, assuming these are recycled from old layout.

Other Thoughts: This course will only get better with age. We will definitely be making another trip to saugatuck for this true west michigan gem.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  oh yea

1    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: HuntDawg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: longer holes and nice area to play in. theres a 650 foot hole that is very challenging but fun to throw
Cons: confusing at hole 6 or 8 i dont remember we just skipped to the clossest tee witch was 11
Other Thoughts: watch out for those melonheads man
they will get ya

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.