Saugatuck, MI 
Shore Acres Park Share
Uploaded By: MDeezy Hole #10 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 active park

1    5/27/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good overall fair design, plenty of left shots but also righty, not much for boring straight holes here
- Good elevation, landscape, grooming
- Fairly minimal ivy (in fairways)
- Signs, pads, ample parking
Cons: - A few signs missing/vandalized
- Tees can be covered in sand, bring your own broom
- #16 could be unsafe for a jogger coming down the path if the person on the tee isn't paying attention
- 3-5 woods holes are just too tight, offering up no fairway (hole #6 especially- ZERO chance of a good drive)
Other Thoughts: Scope out the holes, often blind.
Fun
Best hole: tie between #3 and #14- #3 is an uphill shot that at first bends slight left but finishes further right, basket on the edge of a steep thickly wooded hill. Short, it really offers no rhbh shot for the park job, without super luck or skill, this hole will teach you that you need sidearm. #14 is a long downhill hole off the edge of a dirt hill, it can be reached by big arms, but they must clear a small pond in front of the basket (dry when I played).
Worst hole- #6- an uphill hole in tight woods with truly no fairway, you'd have to get insanely lucky or hit the best shot ever to park it, most good shots will just get tree-nied and end up at the bottom of the hill for a 3.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 70  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has had some recent upgrades to start off the 2013 summer, including new posts at the tees that give accurate hole layouts and new pin positions. Also all tees are cemented now and in great shape.

The elevation changes are moderate and are in play on the majority of the holes. I really have fun on the wooded holes because it can make or break your round depending on the "tree love" you get.

There is a nice mix of hyzer/ anhyzer shots necessary and several blind shots (thankfully the new posts help guide you!) offer a higher degree of difficulty but nothing impossible for beginners.

The unanimous favorite hole is #14 which is thrown from the top of a sand dune/ bluff and the new hole position puts the basket ~500 feet out. Definitely a hole to empty your bag on. Also the water hazard is completely dry 99.9% of the time, I've never seen any water in it. The course is sand so any water soaks up quick.
Cons: I don't really have many cons for this course. I could be nit-picky and say there should be more garbage cans but there are still a couple.
Other Thoughts: Wear shoes and watch out for catci. Bring some water and spend a day playing a couple of rounds, it's definitely a great course to spend an afternoon at.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/13/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: alot of land to play on, majority of the holes had signs, cement tee pads, some benches, decent baskets.
Cons: short cement tee pads, long waiting for next hole, to mnay people playing (not use to it) trash barrels need to be changed,
Other Thoughts: will not return, to long of a course because of all the waiting for the next hole to open up.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Shore Acres Review

5+    8/13/2011   5/3/2012
Review By: markdh92
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: An extremely varied course. Some holes are uphill, others downhill. Some are open , some are wooded. Great variety on the course.
Cons: Often windy due to closeness to Lake Michigan. Shots are sometimes blind if you haven't played the course before.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun variety

1    3/11/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mix of terrains and foliage, keeping things interesting and fresh throughout the course. Some shots play through tight wooded alleys, some through scattered mature trees, and some through open sandy grasslands. Elevation comes into play on most holes, adding challenge and fun. There are some fun downhill shots and elevated tees, some tricky uphill shots, and some pins with nice rollaway potential lurking on missed putts. The sandy soil seems to make for great drainage with no mud or stancing water in evidence.

The variety here is pretty good, with a balanced mix of right and left turning holes that call for a variety of shots along with a couple multi-shot holes that make you plan your landing zone. There are some shorter ace run type holes mixed in, and a couple that let you air it out a little with a decent mix in between. Concrete tees are in pretty good shape, baskets seemed fairly new and in great condition. Signage is pretty good, with hole layout and distance.
Cons: There are some navigation issues here, with a few unmarked walks between holes that aren't obvious and no signage helping with that. A few tee signs were missing, others seemed to reflect a different pin position or earlier layout so the distances and hole layouts weren't completely accurate. The open field shots had some long grass that could be potentially frustrating when throwing longer shots then having to search for them, there was also some trash and random junk in a few spots.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time here, definitely a course worth playing with nice variety and a few really cool shots. Beginners will find the course tough but approachable, the rough isn't killer and only a few holes are all that long. More experienced players will find some nice challenges and plenty of chances to use different discs and shots, it's not a gold level course but it provides a great test for intermediate to advanced level players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shore Acres (I call it home)

5+    9/1/2011   9/3/2011
Review By: lazydisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is so well designed. Great use of terrain all the way thru. This course will have you throwing sideways on slopes, over hills and shrubs, up hills into woods, down into woods and across fields. Changeups between raw power shots (hole 14) to pull your punch (hole 10 short) to crazy tricksy (hole 17). Sometimes when I come out to play the holes are short..sometimes long. Havent figured out when they change..kinda nice to be surprised.
The layout of the course allows you to customize your round also. Lots of junctures allow to cut hole sections out. or loop around to play them again. The flow of this course is incredible. Ive tried sooo many ways to run this course.. not a single hiccup anywhere.
Concrete Tees, benches or similar at each hole, with trashcans it major break points. Shiney chain baskets. Signs detailing basket and next hole location. Junction at tee 10 and 4 has patio chairs even. Bathrooms at either end of course. Portopottie tho. Well groomed fairways.
Neat plants around, I didnt know that both bamboo and catcus grew in michigan..and at the same spot. Plenty of changes in the scenery all year long.
I love this course, I play it at least 5 times a week, and it never gets old. I still find parts of it immensely challenging, and this course has increased my skill greatly. The people that play here are very friendly from what Ive seen.
Cons: People that do not golf. This is not a Disc Golf only course. Its a township park. Pay attention when throwing over blind spots. Alot of people mistake the fairways for trails. Vandals have been active during the summer months but I figure when school gets back in, it will decrease.
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Cant express this enough. Its truly a gem. I started playing in Western Montana, and this course reminds me alot of the course back home. If you are anywhere in the area this course is a MUST play. I will continue to play this course as often I can. See you out there!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/28/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: Skin5482
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved the challenge that this course presented. I'm use to the courses around Chicago which are usually pretty flat or have a few trees in the way. This course was a wake up call to my game. The trees, elevation changes and distance really pushed me to view the best path to the hole instead of taking a quick glance and throwing. The maps at the tees were helpful but could've been better so I'd list them as a pro and a con. The conctrete tee pads were nice and seeing a brrom placed at a few tees was a nice addition too.
Cons: Some holes were hard to spot even when you got close to them. The maps were nice but they were very 2d, it would be nice if they could indicate changes in elevation. Also, some maps were damaged which made it dificult to figure out where to throw.
Other Thoughts: If I lived closer I'd play this course a few times a month just to improve my game. My brother and I really enjoyed playing this course this past weekend.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Course by the Beach

1    8/11/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shore Acres is a well-kept course that offers a lot of variety with its hole designs. Some holes are in the woods with narrow fairways while others are in the open and only have a few obstacles to worry about (though the obstacles that are there can cause problems if you're not careful). This course has a lot of blind tee shots, not just because of the trees but also because of the hilly environment (the elevation does come into play on quite a few holes). With that said, you would think it would be easy to lose your disc, but that normally isn't the case with this course. The woods may be thick with trees, but there aren't many weeds in there and the grass is usually pretty short. Some holes favor forehand drives while others favor backhand drives. The length of the holes vary, and they also have alternate hole locations. There are a few OB areas throughout the course that makes some of the holes a little trickier to play. The signs are helpful, and brooms are sometimes provided at each tee pad so players can sweep off any dirt or sand that might be on them.
Cons: This wooded area is real sandy because of how close it is to Lake Michigan, which, unfortunately, is why there isn't much grass on a lot of fairways. That's also why some of the tee pads can be real sandy, and they don't always provide brooms to sweep them off. Some of the holes can be real muddy for awhile after it rains, and, during the summer, the mosquitoes can also become real bad as a result. There are a few holes in the woods that seem a little too narrow because of all the trees in the way. Also some of the signs have been subjects of vandalism.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one of my favorite courses in Michigan. It's not perfect, but the holes offer different layouts that can be real fun to play and can also test your skills because of the tricky shots they offer. The course is in good shape, and it's a course that people of all skill levels can enjoy. Best of all, this course is so close to Lake Michigan that if you play here on a hot summer day you can take a dip in the lake afterward to cool off.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where's the beach?

1    7/3/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: jasonc
Played: 142  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This relatively new course has excellent concrete tee pads and Discraft Chainstar baskets. All baskets have been recently re-labeled with proper numbers.

A couple of locals we talked to before the round informed us that recent course upgrades have included a 2nd pin location on each hole. We were lucky enough to show up on a day when all baskets were in the longs. A big arm is needed to score well in this configuration.

The course offers great variety, with the shorter holes playing difficult, tight fairways through the more heavily wooded areas in the park.

Most holes offer some type of elevation challenge.
The benches and brooms at each tee were a nice touch as well. The locals were very friendly and helpful. 2 of them told us that this course is more challenging than Flip City.
Cons: This is probably a temporary issue, but signs need to be updated to reflect the 2nd pin positions on each hole.

Other park users, mostly people walking to and from the beach have no clue that they are passing through the course. We had to wait on several holes because families were walking through the fairways. Please pay attention to the non-disc golfers and use spotters when playing in a group.
Other Thoughts: The sand presented a unique challenge, especially on some approach shots where I would normally take 2 or 3 steps.

I was not expecting desert conditions even though we were so close to Lake Michigan. However, we saw plenty of cacti throughout our round. This certainly spurred an investigation of the dog's paws after we finished.

Hole info here says there is water on #14. We did not see any water come into play on any hole.

Newer players may become frustrated with the difficulty here, but it is a wonderful place to learn how to shape lines and deal with the wind. This course will easily be a 4.0 or 4.5 when the signs and maps are updated to reflect the long pin info.

I would certainly play this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun challenging course

1    5/21/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: jimmie51
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would have started off my pros with how fun the course is, but as I got the the 17 tee I ran into a group of locals. They invited me to finish the course with them and I have to say what a great group of people. They were very helpful and friendly. The course itself was alot of fun. Challenging and yet forgiving. It's the type of course that won't get old after you have played it 50 times. This course will change as the seasons change so the "sweet spot" will change and the seasons do. A beginner could play this course and have a lot of fun and yet its still challenging for the more advanced players.
Cons: The tee's can be a bit confusing, and there are some holes where figuring out where the basket is a little tricky, but there are hole maps at every tee that show you where the next tee is. This isn't really a con, to be honest I don't really have any cons, but it was the one thing that threw me off. Once you play the course one time it will be no problem, its very easy to figure it out from there.
Other Thoughts: Over all great course. Great people and a challenging yet very enjoyable course. With it only being 30 min from my house I will be playing this course a lot this summer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.