Disc Golf Store
Ludlow, VT 
The Maples at Okemo Share
Uploaded By: sickmove Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 98ft.   3 / 132ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
very fun

2-4    8/17/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: discrun
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: i was reading some of the other post and I am not sure if they have played this course since the changes to the baskets and hole locations. This is a fun mt course. The setting is beautiful. The new tee boxes are very nice and the new baskets are a huge improvement. I think they did a good job redoing this course and they obviously work hard keeping it nice.
Cons: tee boxes are not level. Other than that I think this course accomplishes what they are looking for. Great family fun.
Other Thoughts: I will go back to this course again soon. I think one of the more enjoyable mt courses in the state.

Ego building and crushing

2-4    9/2/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: Adventureortiz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a tight little course and they have added a back 9 which makes this course worth the trip. The front 9 is a mix of short holes and funky tight "fairways". Hole 3 has no fairway at all to speak of. I threw over the top of the trees and that played pretty well actually. The Back 9 are longer holes and much more open. Nice use of the woods edges as obstacles. Hole 15 basket is up on 15 foot mound which makes it a fun challenge.
Cons: The back 9 cross over each other and a few front 9 holes in a few places. This could be confusing for some but the signage is pretty clear (and the map they give you). When I played, the course was pretty empty ( only 2 or 3 others out there) but if it got busier many of the tee boxes were VERY close to the previous basket. Could make for some dangerous stuff out there. Home built baskets on front 9 are cool but the chains could be lighter weight or maybe angled in more as they some times "protect the basket" instead of catch discs.
Other Thoughts: I am an intermediate beginner and I was even after playing 24( I played 18 then repeated 1-5 and finished with hole 18 again). So it would seem this is a beginner course. If you have a disc you can throw 175 straight on a line... You will do pretty well on the front 9. There seems to be a lot of property to work with so it would have been nice to spread stuff out a bit. Worth playing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but pretty

1    8/21/2011   8/25/2012
Review By: Ctrenta
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty course. All of the tees are easy to find.
Cons: The holes are on the long side and some of them are tough, seem very pro-oriented.

You have to pay to play
Other Thoughts: One of the holes is across a creek and it's challenging for novices. The cool part is there's another tee you can use for an easier drive.

Hope it gets utilized more. It's an underrated attraction at Okemo Mountain Resort during the summer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing special, but if you're in the neighborhood...

1    8/3/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 49  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice scenery at Okemo ski resort. Tees are natural, but they are flat, safe, and fault lines are clearly marked with wood planks. Baskets are homemade and have a cool, salvaged, DIY aesthetic. Each hole has a clear sign and maps are available when you pay "greens fees" so navigating the course is no problem.

The course loops back to the start and foliage is well maintained. A couple neat holes.

The course is located at a nice resort with a lot of other amenities during the summer, especially for kids. Elevation is present and incorporated into many holes. Discs are available for rental ($3 on top of 'greens fee') and they are good beginner discs. When I went, the disc selection was basically Innova Champion Leopards, Panthers and Aviar Putters. The Champion plastic was in good condition and the discs were well suited for beginner throwers.
Cons: The baskets, while they look cool, could use more slack in the chains. They are not particularly well suited for longer putts. Some of the short tees were tough to find; only the long tees were marked with a sign.

The terrain was quite difficult. a lot of steep slopes. In order to get from the tee to the basket on 2 and 5, you actually have to cross a bridge around the fairway because the slopes were too steep. This made spotting discs somewhat difficult. Hole #4 is a blind shot around trees. The holes are unusually short, even the 'pro' tees. #9 does go +400 feet though. The shots were mostly dead straight, with a few gentle curves. There is only one hole in the woods. All in all, the course was quite underwhelming in terms of challenge and variety.

Elevation, while present was not entirely well optimized. A good player could place shots well enough to avoid any elevation related challenges. You do have to pay to play and even though it's only $3 to play all day and $3 more to rent discs, it's barely worth the cost. You could probably get away without paying, but I'm not condoning it. The terrain here is also very under-utilized, and they probably could expand to 18 holes and adventure a little further up the mountain. The course stays pretty close to the base. While fairways do not cross, they are crammed together quite tightly.
Other Thoughts: If you're already staying at Okemo, this course is worth checking out. I drove up from Mount Snow (about an hour's drive) to check out the course and probably wouldn't come back. It was enjoyable, but Southern VT probably has much better to offer. That being said, this is a good course to take kids and beginners to in order to introduce them to the game, as the short tees are good beginner distances and the disc rentals are great for beginners as well. Experienced players will probably be underwhelmed.

Let me know if there's anything I can do to improve my reviews. I'm hope to continue to make them better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Build a Back 9!

1    8/4/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: benlh15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty easy nine hole course over a beautiful scene at the foot of Mt. Okemo. The homemade baskets are cool, and they work! The up and down effect is also neat, but there could definitely be more obstacles. The fairways are pretty empty and there are plenty of chances for aces.
Cons: The only real con is that the course is short and easy. Only nine holes, and many of them are straightforward, and short.
Other Thoughts: The people in the fitness center are nice and helpful, and apparently my -2 through 9, was only a stroke off the course record.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Gravity Hound

5+    9/9/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: Gravity Hound
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The homemade holes give you a local feel. Hole signage is sweet and quite informative. The course is groomed often, so it's hard to loose discs in the fairway. There are a nice variety of holes, all using the natural terrain.
Cons: Most of the course is out on an open slope - Wind can tear down the mountain and effect play.
Other Thoughts: The dense forest/marsh along hole 5 and creek on 8 requires proper footwear. Late summer is a great time to play if you like Blackberries. Blackberry bushes are along holes 1,2 & 8.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: great white buffalo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super nice tee signs, and very nice grass tee's on hard flat ground. The baskets are quite unique and catch much better than anticipated. Everything marked very well, and never a problem locating the next hole. Nice views albeit from the base of the mountain.
Cons: This course has some of the most spectacular trees in the east, but none of them are in play on any hole. The whole course is in the midst of thousands of trees, unfortunately hole #8 is the only one that has any trees and it is just 2
Other Thoughts: the potential for a stunning course is here if they decide to move all of the baskets, save a few, into the trees and make use of this wonderful piece of land

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.