Layout Extinct

Corunna, MI 
McCurdy Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Beastman Hole #13 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 391ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  pretty nice course

5+    5/17/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: balyeatb20
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: pretty nice open shots for the most part. like hole number 4 a lot.
Cons: 5 and 6 way too many trees! and watch your throws on 8 and 9 theres water near them!!
Other Thoughts: shot 51 my 5th time playing. the back nine you really get to open up your drive game.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  work in progress

1    4/20/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: cody420
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really liked holes 8 and 9. With the shot towards the water and down the hill. The foul lines were great it showed the hole and distance with a bright orange color.
Cons: hard to find holes. Many people in the way of shots. Hole 18 is in the middle of a baseball dimond where T-ball was going on. Lots of little kids running everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed the course Needs some work on hole placement. Also from 16 to 17 you have to backtrack a bit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than nothing, I guess.

1    12/26/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *** Review Based on the Front 9 Only ***

Many holes with distances over 300 feet and most over 200 feet keep stronger players from being totally bored. Some disc control is required to avoid the occasional copse of trees, buildings, cars, and other park users. The course makes good use of the very few terrain and vegetation changes in the park.

The tee box foul lines are nicely done - painted in a vibrant safety orange with hole # and footage painted on in black. The full color map/scorecard is quite nice and it really aids in navigation around the course. The park itself was spotless.

Holes #8 and #9 really stand out on this course! Both incorporate the only terrain changes in the park with #8 being a short, blind drive around the back of the sledding hill and #9 being a big-arm toss from the top of the same hill with a shule-ridden swail being the punishment for a lack of disc control. In addition, both offer significant risk/reward opportunities with baskets just feet from a steep cliff leading to the Shiawassee River. Overdrive #8 or your overshoot your putt on #9 and you will lose your disc!
Cons: The tee boxes are not well marked and are difficult to find, particularly as the course layout is quite strange and the flow from hole-to-hole is nonexistent. We had to refer to the map for the next tee on almost every hole!

I felt parts of this course are actually dangerous due to odd tee and pin placement in this multi-use park. In a couple of places you have to walk back up the fairway of the hole you just completed to get to the next tee. In other places, the baskets are placed in or very near parking lots, throws across and toward hiking/biking trails,basketball/baseball/picnic areas, and even roads are required, and in one case, the tee box is actually ON the bike path.
Other Thoughts: I hate being the dissenting opinion in rating this course, but.......

The flat, mostly open layout is great for novices or the occasional player, but the distances on many holes that makes this course interesting for more advanced players will likely leave them frustrated.

I will be updating my review to add the back 9 next time I head downstate (they appear to be marked better and have more consistent flow).

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: The holes were fun to play, and this course has some good potential.
Cons: The first 9 holes were very hard to locate without a map. Once you get to the back nine, the holes seemed to flow better. I suggest having a map. Hole number eight was the hardest hole for us to find, it was located behind the big sledding hill. No tee pads, only lil orange flags on the first 9 holes to mark the tee spot. Once you find the tee spot there are orange planks of wood in the ground that have the hole # and how many feet.
Other Thoughts: This course could really benefit from having some more visible pad markers, and maybe some signs. We did run into a gentleman that was doing construction near hole# 5, he actually played 3 holes with us, it was his first time ever playing disc golf. After looking all over for the next tee, the gentleman did say he was going to volunteer and make marker posts for each tee. All in all its a fun course, just hard to navigate without a map and/or better tee markers. Once a lil more work is done and the holes are marked better, this course could very easily have a rating of very good to excellent.

 

1    9/11/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly open and moderately short. The back nine does allow for those who have big guns to really let loose, as it holds five of the courses eight par 4's. Some holes do possess a level of challenge when playing through the lightly wooded front nine.
Cons: Tee areas can be difficult to locate, mostly on the front nine. They are only marked with paint on the grass or at best a small flag. The back nine is more clearly marked. The grass was not well maintained.
Other Thoughts: The river can come into play on four of the holes (2, 8, 9, & 10), especially for the beginner. Watch hole 8, it is a short one. Don't over throw it, or you will lose a disc.
Being a new course, I hope some improvements will be made for next year as far as the up-keep, tee pads, and tee markers. All in all, still fun to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/15/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-The course is in a nice city park, and is a good place to have a disc golf course for the people in the area. For the most part this is your typical city course, but it does have a couple things that stand out about it. Hole #8 is a 175 ft. ace run with a river right behind it, Hole #9 is a 485 ft. bomber off a sledding hill also with the river next to the basket.
Cons:
-This is still a new course and has its flaws. There are no tee pads, just orange flags. Even with the map you can get confused in many places too.

-Alot of the tee to pin placements seem boring and could probably be better (But hopefully that will change).

-I would also really like to see the river be utilized more than it is now.
Other Thoughts:
-When I played here, I met one of the guys who designed the course. He said that the tee placements arn't final and might be moved.

-This course is a fun play and has really good potential, but if your traveling from out of the area I would say give it another year before you go out of your way to play here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: Beastman
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park setting on front nine with restrooms and tables. Back nine play around two softball fields. A beginner friendly park with not too many trees or obsticles. There is a post for tee #1 with a box that has course maps and scorecards.
Cons: No tee pads or signage. Park setting could be a problem if someone was picnicing in a fairway or if one gets away from you. Tall grass on back nine.
Other Thoughts: Softball fields come into play on holes 3,11,15. A nice course overall to work on your game. We stopped into McNeil Street Market on McNeil Street he sells Discraft Discs and gave us a course map. And thanks go out to the people that made this course happen and give their time to maintain this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  decent coarse

5+    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: mechanickis
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well it's somewhere new to throw...lol.... pretty simple, well for the seasoned players, challenge for the new... nice long holes on some
Cons: pin place ments are kind of wierd, some of the holes you can't really throw cause of people and their picknics,or the baseball/softball games,your gonna miss out on some holes, best to play early when bugs are not out
Other Thoughts: other than that, after playing this coarse a couple times you get to know it..... ohhh yeah......the back nine, i would use a white disc if you got one cause the grass is no joke, you will be lost and if you are.... when you throw get a point of reference.... ex. like the nearest tree behind where you threw ..... will make it easier...trust me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Just Opened

1    8/7/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: tjloopie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Open, Good for a beginner
Cons: Not well marked (yet?), many of the holes are around other park fixtures
Other Thoughts: There will probably never be T-boxes, I spoke with a park operator, and they don't want more things to mow around. They are just putting together some good maps. Over time this course may get some upgrades, but for now... it feels like they rushed to put it in.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 McCurdy Park

5+    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: runninlikebarry20
Played: 102  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Cons: The lawn maintenance is bad. The back 9 was mowed by a friend and I with our own mowers, just so you could enjoy playing it. Mosquitoes are TERRIBLE so be prepared. No markers to detail which hole is which. Occasionally "maps" are left on the ground next to orange flag marker # 1. Dont play on softball night in Corunna if you want to play all 18. Several holes are placed in areas by the game fields where unruly players have parked blocking the baskets and continue to do so week after week after week.
Other Thoughts: Overall well worth playing all 18. I dont know who is in charge of this course, but it needs a lot of improvement. I have already started contributing my time towards maintenance and hopefully will be able to for the long haul.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.