Layout Extinct

Louisville, KY 
Iroquois Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun, but crowded

1    4/25/2009   2/10/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a mix of open field holes and woods holes, with several in between with open fairways and some late trouble around the pin. In the woods there are a few holes that use the small hills well to add a challenge, as well as a few holes with small water hazards in play for a little more risk. The terrain available was used well to keep this course interesting and varied throughout.

The course has lots of fun ace runs, including a short downhill hyzer shot that's a really fun toss with a putter. There are a couple longer holes, mostly in the open, that let you throw a drive once in a while. The course has good flow for the most part, and is fairly easy to follow. The signs are older, but they are still readable and have the hole layout and distance, and are enough that you don't have to walk ahead to know where to throw.

There are concrete pads, and most are in good enough shape to throw from. The baskets are showing their age, but they catch ok. There is a nice practice area including a practice tee before the first hole, which was a nice way to pass the time while we waited for the crowd at the first tee to thin out.
Cons: The crowds on this course were pretty bad. There were a lot of people on the course, and many were in huge groups. The large groups were not good about letting small groups play through, nor were they good about waiting for fairways to clear before throwing. It was a frustrating round with so many people on the course who didn't seem to understand course etiquette.

The course is showing it's age quite a bit. There is pretty bad erosion on much of the course, that has left lots of mud pits, as well as creating dropoffs around some of the tees. Some of the concrete tees are cracking and breaking down.

There isn't enough variety here to make it very challenging or interesting. Too many of the shots are straight or rhbh hyzer friendly, so you don't have to use very many different shots to score well. Nearly all the holes are reachable by intermediate level players, making this a deuce or die course for any experienced players.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place for a quick fun round, or for newer players to learn the game. There isn't a lot of punishment for bad shots, or too many places to lose discs so newer players won't find this course too frustrating. More experienced players might have fun with the ace runs here, but won't find much challenge here.

Stop by this course if you are in the area and want an easy fun round. If you're looking for a challenge though, look at some of the other courses in the area for more of a test.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    2/10/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Half of the holes are very beginner friendly, with minimal trouble. This is somethign I like to see on most courses to help promote the sport to all people not just the PROS.

2) The first few holes are fairly open giving you a chance to warm up a bit. It's always nice to be able to just let the first few drives fly without having to worry about pinpoint accuracy.

3) The next 9 or 10 holes are awesome weaving up and down through the woods. It calls for a lot of different shots to have accurate drives or approaches. I thoroughly enjoyed the 240 downhiller. Lots of different ways to attack the basket (I stood up there and let about 5 discs go on different lines)

4) Concrete Tee pads all seem to be in good shape. Some have water over them right now but I am sure that is not normal.

5) Very creative use of the wooded area with the uphills and downhills.

6) #15 and #17 are great holes, I just wish I knew where the baskets were off the tee.

7) Basket location made shot shaping very fun, you had to be able to throw different shots to get into the basket locations!

8) Good variety in hole difficulty. Some easy ones to gun for birdie, and other ones where playing for par was the safe bet!

9) Wooded areas arent overgrown with small trees allowing for some misthrows in the woods and not penalizing the beginner too much!
Cons: 1) Extremely wet ground (in the low lying areas) on half of the holes. The wooded holes are better because of fallen leaves, but the clay underneath is still very slippery.

2) #15 #16 and #17 are very confusing and they also run very close to each other. If the course was busy I imagine some injuries might be possible, especially if the trees were full of leaves.

3) Boring lengths of holes, no real long ones to throw in a couple bombers.

4) Bridges could use some help to make them more attractive and also a little safer.

5) Signage got confusing in a few spots.

6) Baskets are tough to see on some holes. Some have green painted on the posts at the base but not all of them. I would like to see them all painted at the bottom and possibly around the rim on top also!
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course with good variety in hole and shot shaping. The only negatives I saw were a few layout issues and also the lack of a really long hole. The wooded holes were my wifes and my favorites. Also it seems to be that this course is just always wet after any kind of rain (or snow melt). It would be nice to see some drainge put into a couple spots that might really make the course better. I couldn't rate this higher than a 3.5, although if the simple issues were corrected I would easily rank this as a 4 course. The conditioning because of wetness also affects my rating here as I had been told it is mucky when it rains.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but not challenging

5+    12/9/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has been around a long time. It's where I learned to play and holds a special place in the hearts of many local golfers.

Iroquois is a great place to learn the game and will challenge newer players. It has with lots of fun holes of varying distance and a few elevations changes.
Cons: For a more advanced player, this becomes a deuce or die course. And while it is still fun to play, it lacks challenge. Bad shots are almost never punished leaving you with a good opportunity for par.

Since this was the only course in Louisville for many years, it's seen a tremendous amount of over-use, has not been well maintained and erosion is taking it's toll on the hilly holes.

When it rains, the course can get very wet and muddy around tee pads, pins, and some of the fairways.

The course doesn't have a lot of shot variety. Nearly all the holes require a straight or hyzer shot; only one or two holes are anhyzers (depending how you throw them).
Other Thoughts: Iroquois is a fun course to play whether you're a newer or more seasoned players. But if you're looking for a good challenge or want to take your game to the next level, check out Charlie Vettiner and the Fun Farm.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.