Layout Extinct

Louisville, KY 
Iroquois Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
4 / 347ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Edicut

5+    10/7/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: tacoma38
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Hard to find any!! with all the people!
Too many distractions to have a great game!!!ANY MORE!!Hate to say this about the course but every other game...Someone is doing something stupid in the middle of the course.
Cons: I been playin this course for 20 years!! I love this park!!!The park doesnt seem to care about this course,they have cars shows in one end of the course...Last show on 9/26/09 destroyed all the wooden walk ramps that went over the ditches.people tryed driving over them?Huge tire ruts everywhere! Trees damage everywhere from last Jan storm ...Come on!!!.All summer??..Tees sunk in the ground!Signs missing!...people everywhere.they could be walking dogs to having a picnic to local school kids running thru the course.They ruined this course for people that like to go doing school hours to miss the mass growd of day shift!...Edicut!!!There is none in this park like I said people are all over the course running... to just standing around talking at the holes.This course was a Diamond in this City!! .Shame No one Cares about the Park!!!Take that back,the Disc Golf players care about the course,,,they seem to do all the work them selves! And very little to no help from the park!!Mayor!!!!..I understand they are going to do the course over soon!! Its why over due!! They need to post signs Educating people on how to play and Game Edicut!! This Course has None!!! This course Is so over played!!You have see to believe!
Have to report there have been some improvements on the course.Due to Disc golf players!!!!!! cleaning Branchs and trees off the course..I seen this myself!!..Not the park doing there JOB!!!
Other Thoughts: This course should be up above the road circling the park! Not In its parking lot!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Iroquois Park

5+    9/23/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: jgraham
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good course for beginners and confidence building. A couple holes even the newest of players have chances to ace, also there are a few holes with challenging approaches.
Cons: Worn out and sometimes a little crowded. Some of the tees are too close to fairways or baskets. not a very long course and could use some better fairways requiring more precise drives.
Other Thoughts: Course is in the process of being redone, I can't wait because it's only 5 minutes from where i live and from what i've heard it will still be beginner friendly but more advanced holes will be added!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home

5+    9/22/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: kirvin2
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Is not too difficult for beginners, yet still interesting enough for the avid disc golfer. Offers recreational golfers some chances for birdies and even an ace or two. A good variety of wooded and open fairways and some small hills. Very easy to follow.

Cons: This is an old course and it gets a lot of use. The wooded fairways are beaten bare and are eroding. Most of the tee-pads are sinking into the ground and get flooded over during a rain.

Other Thoughts: The course is to be completely torn out and a new course built to replace it. The locations of the holes and tee-pads are already marked, but the old course is still in use. The new course will still be amateur friendly but will have some challenging holes added further up on the hill. I will miss the old course because I learned on her. She has served us well and has turned out many disc golfers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/13/2008   12/16/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Iroquois Disc Golf Course is an older course that is laid out over a level terrain with only slight to moderate elevation changes throughout. I am unsure of what make/model the baskets are, seems like there are a couple of different types of baskets on the course. Most all the baskets are older, and have some wear, but they aren't in bad shape. All holes have concrete tee pads and signs. The tee pads are level, but do show signs of wear.

The course makes one continuous loop from start to finish and is reasonably easy to follow. I had a little trouble locating the 14th tee my first time there, but otherwise, flows pretty good. (No14 is located next to the basket for No4, once you finish the 13th hole, go back around the pond [toward No8 & No5] and the tee pad will be across from No4's basket)

The course typically isn't crowded, but if there were a lot of people playing, the fairways on No5/No8 parallel each other in close proximity so you would need to keep watch through this section. All fairways are clearly defined. The course does not have a lot of over-growth, and has been clean and easy to get through both times I've played it. There are a couple of benches scattered throughout the course (No1, 10, & 13) with trash receptacles.

The course definitely shows its use, but all in all is not in bad shape. The area around most of the baskets and tees has been worn significantly, so it is mostly dirt and pretty sloppy when it rains.

Iroquois is not a long course only averaging around 272FT/Hole, but is a lot of fun to play and it has a nice layout. For the experienced player with a big arm, it's mostly mid-range and putters off the tee. The course is mostly set up for straight and RH hyzer shots, but does set-up to allow a variety of other shot types as well. There is a good mix of open holes and wooded holes, but I wouldn't call any of the holes tight or technical.

There is plenty of parking, but no public restrooms close that I am aware of. This course is on a rotation schedule for the weekly 2-man during the summer. I have had positive experiences with the local golfers during my visits to the course.
Cons: No major cons to this course, the sloppy conditions from all the wear around the tee pads and baskets when the course is wet is probably about it.
Other Thoughts: Iroquois is not a real long or challenging course, but it is a lot of fun to play. If you are in the area and are looking for a longer more challenging course, Charlie Vettiner is just up the road and you will find what you are looking for there. There is a practice hole, complete with tee pad right by the parking lot, just short of hole 1. This is a nice feature that I haven't seen on any of the other courses. Gives a good chance to warm up a little prior to stepping up to the first tee. The course does show it's use, but just re-iterates the fact that it is a nice, fun course to play.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun, short course

5+    11/14/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Varying challenges in the terrain, can be played very quickly. I like 7 where a well placed downhill shot can earn you an ace. Also several other holes (2, 4, 5, 9, 12, 18) can be aced with a good lucky throw. If you overthrow 13 you can end up in a smallish pond. As simple as the course is, it is just fun to play.
Cons: Upkeep is not great and the large amount of traffic shows heavily on the course. Also there were some wind storms this year that downed some trees, so there are several places where trees lie in the way, and several areas where tree debris was piled up high (lost a disc in the one by hole 5.
Other Thoughts: I would rate this course a 3.5, but I must take something away due to lack up upkeep. Heavy traffic has caused worn areas which either go unfixed, or have old pallets or planks covering them. Overall though it is a very fun quick course, and great for beginner to intermediate level players.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Training Course

5+    10/20/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love that this course has a practice tee and basket. I wish more courses would follow suit. This course has been my training ground. It's not a long course, but everyone seems to complain about it being too short. They must be throwing 300+ drives. I think it is an interesting and challenging course with diverse terrain and a smart lay-out. A great course for beginners, but lots of fun for the seasoned player, too. And it's a classic, designed by "Steady Ed" himself. Respect.

Update: Now that I have a year of play under my belt it does seem kinda short, but still really fun! I still play here at least once a week.
Cons: It's pretty beat down, lots of dead ground and can get pretty muddy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: I really wish there were more courses in Louisville. It would give Iroquois a much needed break. How about Seneca Park? It would make a great centrally located course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    6/23/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's beginner friendly. Lots of open/semi-open holes and not too many long ones make it a pleasant round for newer players.

You get a little variety in terms of a few wooded holes and a few holes where elevation comes into play.

Signs and teepads are mostly adequate.
Cons: The course has terrible drainage in places, and I've seen the area around 15-16-17 be a swampland even days after a rain. Additionally, the parks dept doesn't mow those areas when they are swampy, so the grass can get really high in places.

The biggest reason I don't play this course as much as I used to is the relative ease of the course. I prefer a course that's a bit longer and and bit more challenging.
Other Thoughts: The course is among the older courses in the state (if not the world), and when this course was designed, people weren't throwing plastic as far as they do today. That's partly why this course isn't longer.

When the weather is nice, you will often find a group on every hole at this course. Louisville needs more courses!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

4/7/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course with a wide variety of shots. Great place to learn. Mostly short, pitch and putt, holes but it has 3-4 that require some D.
Cons: Can get pretty sloppy in the rain. Seasoned players might think it's pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: If in town and you have to pick between Iroquois or Charlie Vettiner.....go to Vettiner. But if you have time for both, then it's worth a play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

3/5/2008   3/5/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Place to learn the sport. Variety of shots, from long to short, wide open to tight, uphill and downhill, and shots around water. Lots of opportunities for birdie 2's.
Cons: Built on natural wetlands area. Can become quite Swampy after rain.
Other Thoughts: I spent my first 10 years playing here on a regular basis. You can learn a great deal about basic hyzers and anhyzers playing here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 204  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: classic Louisville course - open holes, with the woods on the hills, lots of birdie options, and the rough is minimal, wherever you land you probably have an open shot
Cons: gonna get changed up soon - erosion has taken quite a toll on the trees
Other Thoughts: -originally designed by Steady Ed Hendrick

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.