Layout Extinct

Louisville, KY 
Iroquois Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Fun, but crowded

1    4/25/2009   2/10/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a mix of open field holes and woods holes, with several in between with open fairways and some late trouble around the pin. In the woods there are a few holes that use the small hills well to add a challenge, as well as a few holes with small water hazards in play for a little more risk. The terrain available was used well to keep this course interesting and varied throughout.

The course has lots of fun ace runs, including a short downhill hyzer shot that's a really fun toss with a putter. There are a couple longer holes, mostly in the open, that let you throw a drive once in a while. The course has good flow for the most part, and is fairly easy to follow. The signs are older, but they are still readable and have the hole layout and distance, and are enough that you don't have to walk ahead to know where to throw.

There are concrete pads, and most are in good enough shape to throw from. The baskets are showing their age, but they catch ok. There is a nice practice area including a practice tee before the first hole, which was a nice way to pass the time while we waited for the crowd at the first tee to thin out.
Cons: The crowds on this course were pretty bad. There were a lot of people on the course, and many were in huge groups. The large groups were not good about letting small groups play through, nor were they good about waiting for fairways to clear before throwing. It was a frustrating round with so many people on the course who didn't seem to understand course etiquette.

The course is showing it's age quite a bit. There is pretty bad erosion on much of the course, that has left lots of mud pits, as well as creating dropoffs around some of the tees. Some of the concrete tees are cracking and breaking down.

There isn't enough variety here to make it very challenging or interesting. Too many of the shots are straight or rhbh hyzer friendly, so you don't have to use very many different shots to score well. Nearly all the holes are reachable by intermediate level players, making this a deuce or die course for any experienced players.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place for a quick fun round, or for newer players to learn the game. There isn't a lot of punishment for bad shots, or too many places to lose discs so newer players won't find this course too frustrating. More experienced players might have fun with the ace runs here, but won't find much challenge here.

Stop by this course if you are in the area and want an easy fun round. If you're looking for a challenge though, look at some of the other courses in the area for more of a test.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with a variety of shots

1    9/5/2009   1/11/2010
Review By: numbernine
Played: 46  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course with loads of different shots.
You play through the woods on a few holes. There are up and down hil shots. There are some holes out in the wide open. At the end of the day, it was fun to play a course that made me throw the entire bag.

it was also nice to have a practice basket to warm up on.
Cons: Could use some water fountains or something nearby. it was dreadfully hot when we played and the lack of cover or water almost did us in!
Other Thoughts: I want to go play this one again, as it suits my game. Go play !

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Edicut

5+    10/7/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: tacoma38
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Hard to find any!! with all the people!
Too many distractions to have a great game!!!ANY MORE!!Hate to say this about the course but every other game...Someone is doing something stupid in the middle of the course.
Cons: I been playin this course for 20 years!! I love this park!!!The park doesnt seem to care about this course,they have cars shows in one end of the course...Last show on 9/26/09 destroyed all the wooden walk ramps that went over the ditches.people tryed driving over them?Huge tire ruts everywhere! Trees damage everywhere from last Jan storm ...Come on!!!.All summer??..Tees sunk in the ground!Signs missing!...people everywhere.they could be walking dogs to having a picnic to local school kids running thru the course.They ruined this course for people that like to go doing school hours to miss the mass growd of day shift!...Edicut!!!There is none in this park like I said people are all over the course running... to just standing around talking at the holes.This course was a Diamond in this City!! .Shame No one Cares about the Park!!!Take that back,the Disc Golf players care about the course,,,they seem to do all the work them selves! And very little to no help from the park!!Mayor!!!!..I understand they are going to do the course over soon!! Its why over due!! They need to post signs Educating people on how to play and Game Edicut!! This Course has None!!! This course Is so over played!!You have see to believe!
Have to report there have been some improvements on the course.Due to Disc golf players!!!!!! cleaning Branchs and trees off the course..I seen this myself!!..Not the park doing there JOB!!!
Other Thoughts: This course should be up above the road circling the park! Not In its parking lot!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Iroquois Park

5+    9/23/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: jgraham
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good course for beginners and confidence building. A couple holes even the newest of players have chances to ace, also there are a few holes with challenging approaches.
Cons: Worn out and sometimes a little crowded. Some of the tees are too close to fairways or baskets. not a very long course and could use some better fairways requiring more precise drives.
Other Thoughts: Course is in the process of being redone, I can't wait because it's only 5 minutes from where i live and from what i've heard it will still be beginner friendly but more advanced holes will be added!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home

5+    9/22/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: kirvin2
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Is not too difficult for beginners, yet still interesting enough for the avid disc golfer. Offers recreational golfers some chances for birdies and even an ace or two. A good variety of wooded and open fairways and some small hills. Very easy to follow.

Cons: This is an old course and it gets a lot of use. The wooded fairways are beaten bare and are eroding. Most of the tee-pads are sinking into the ground and get flooded over during a rain.

Other Thoughts: The course is to be completely torn out and a new course built to replace it. The locations of the holes and tee-pads are already marked, but the old course is still in use. The new course will still be amateur friendly but will have some challenging holes added further up on the hill. I will miss the old course because I learned on her. She has served us well and has turned out many disc golfers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 classic

5+    8/30/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: clever design in well-suited park. not too dense, but not too sparse wooded area with great use of elevation changes. most holes have at least a few fun challenges. enjoyable for all levels of experience.
Cons: many will complain about the length of the course being too short. I think this is the only big drawback. There are only a few holes where you can really air it out. As this course is one of the oldest around, many signs are in disrepair. Unfortunately littering seems to be a problem here. Most of the course is in a floodplain. if there's heavy rain, it takes several days to dry out. Lefties beware as most doglegs bend to the left.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course for 10 years and it never gets old. It's a quick, fun play. it's no champion-caliber course but still has a great flow and design

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where's Waldo?

1    6/5/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: No one seems to play this course so there's no waiting. There's a Practice hole which is nice. The course is clean and clutter free,
Cons: We spent more time trying to find where the holes where then actually playing. After an hour of wondering around we just made up our own holes and left frustrated.
Other Thoughts: A few holes are real nice. Maps, would be a huge plus!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    2/10/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Half of the holes are very beginner friendly, with minimal trouble. This is somethign I like to see on most courses to help promote the sport to all people not just the PROS.

2) The first few holes are fairly open giving you a chance to warm up a bit. It's always nice to be able to just let the first few drives fly without having to worry about pinpoint accuracy.

3) The next 9 or 10 holes are awesome weaving up and down through the woods. It calls for a lot of different shots to have accurate drives or approaches. I thoroughly enjoyed the 240 downhiller. Lots of different ways to attack the basket (I stood up there and let about 5 discs go on different lines)

4) Concrete Tee pads all seem to be in good shape. Some have water over them right now but I am sure that is not normal.

5) Very creative use of the wooded area with the uphills and downhills.

6) #15 and #17 are great holes, I just wish I knew where the baskets were off the tee.

7) Basket location made shot shaping very fun, you had to be able to throw different shots to get into the basket locations!

8) Good variety in hole difficulty. Some easy ones to gun for birdie, and other ones where playing for par was the safe bet!

9) Wooded areas arent overgrown with small trees allowing for some misthrows in the woods and not penalizing the beginner too much!
Cons: 1) Extremely wet ground (in the low lying areas) on half of the holes. The wooded holes are better because of fallen leaves, but the clay underneath is still very slippery.

2) #15 #16 and #17 are very confusing and they also run very close to each other. If the course was busy I imagine some injuries might be possible, especially if the trees were full of leaves.

3) Boring lengths of holes, no real long ones to throw in a couple bombers.

4) Bridges could use some help to make them more attractive and also a little safer.

5) Signage got confusing in a few spots.

6) Baskets are tough to see on some holes. Some have green painted on the posts at the base but not all of them. I would like to see them all painted at the bottom and possibly around the rim on top also!
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course with good variety in hole and shot shaping. The only negatives I saw were a few layout issues and also the lack of a really long hole. The wooded holes were my wifes and my favorites. Also it seems to be that this course is just always wet after any kind of rain (or snow melt). It would be nice to see some drainge put into a couple spots that might really make the course better. I couldn't rate this higher than a 3.5, although if the simple issues were corrected I would easily rank this as a 4 course. The conditioning because of wetness also affects my rating here as I had been told it is mucky when it rains.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/13/2008   12/16/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Iroquois Disc Golf Course is an older course that is laid out over a level terrain with only slight to moderate elevation changes throughout. I am unsure of what make/model the baskets are, seems like there are a couple of different types of baskets on the course. Most all the baskets are older, and have some wear, but they aren't in bad shape. All holes have concrete tee pads and signs. The tee pads are level, but do show signs of wear.

The course makes one continuous loop from start to finish and is reasonably easy to follow. I had a little trouble locating the 14th tee my first time there, but otherwise, flows pretty good. (No14 is located next to the basket for No4, once you finish the 13th hole, go back around the pond [toward No8 & No5] and the tee pad will be across from No4's basket)

The course typically isn't crowded, but if there were a lot of people playing, the fairways on No5/No8 parallel each other in close proximity so you would need to keep watch through this section. All fairways are clearly defined. The course does not have a lot of over-growth, and has been clean and easy to get through both times I've played it. There are a couple of benches scattered throughout the course (No1, 10, & 13) with trash receptacles.

The course definitely shows its use, but all in all is not in bad shape. The area around most of the baskets and tees has been worn significantly, so it is mostly dirt and pretty sloppy when it rains.

Iroquois is not a long course only averaging around 272FT/Hole, but is a lot of fun to play and it has a nice layout. For the experienced player with a big arm, it's mostly mid-range and putters off the tee. The course is mostly set up for straight and RH hyzer shots, but does set-up to allow a variety of other shot types as well. There is a good mix of open holes and wooded holes, but I wouldn't call any of the holes tight or technical.

There is plenty of parking, but no public restrooms close that I am aware of. This course is on a rotation schedule for the weekly 2-man during the summer. I have had positive experiences with the local golfers during my visits to the course.
Cons: No major cons to this course, the sloppy conditions from all the wear around the tee pads and baskets when the course is wet is probably about it.
Other Thoughts: Iroquois is not a real long or challenging course, but it is a lot of fun to play. If you are in the area and are looking for a longer more challenging course, Charlie Vettiner is just up the road and you will find what you are looking for there. There is a practice hole, complete with tee pad right by the parking lot, just short of hole 1. This is a nice feature that I haven't seen on any of the other courses. Gives a good chance to warm up a little prior to stepping up to the first tee. The course does show it's use, but just re-iterates the fact that it is a nice, fun course to play.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but not challenging

5+    12/9/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: AdamE
Played: 225  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has been around a long time. It's where I learned to play and holds a special place in the hearts of many local golfers.

Iroquois is a great place to learn the game and will challenge newer players. It has with lots of fun holes of varying distance and a few elevations changes.
Cons: For a more advanced player, this becomes a deuce or die course. And while it is still fun to play, it lacks challenge. Bad shots are almost never punished leaving you with a good opportunity for par.

Since this was the only course in Louisville for many years, it's seen a tremendous amount of over-use, has not been well maintained and erosion is taking it's toll on the hilly holes.

When it rains, the course can get very wet and muddy around tee pads, pins, and some of the fairways.

The course doesn't have a lot of shot variety. Nearly all the holes require a straight or hyzer shot; only one or two holes are anhyzers (depending how you throw them).
Other Thoughts: Iroquois is a fun course to play whether you're a newer or more seasoned players. But if you're looking for a good challenge or want to take your game to the next level, check out Charlie Vettiner and the Fun Farm.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.