Kamloops, BC 
Rose Hill - East Share
Uploaded By: maniak  



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rose Hill East - The Black Rose

2-4    6/22/2013   8/12/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 187  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.3 Years
Pros:
Located in south central British Columbia in Canada, Kamloops is positioned at the intersection of the two branches of the Thompson River near Kamloops Lake. Designed by John Houck, Rose Hill - East, or the Black Rose Course as it is known by locals, is the longer of the two courses. This course is much more punishing, as it demands mostly power and endurance but precision is important as well throughout due to the elevation, length, and natural obstacles. Like Roes Hill - West, views from high on top the mountain are amazing! With four par 4's, par for the course is 58 with holes ranging anywhere from 165-792 ft., but average closer to 400+ ft. Many of the holes on the course are not reachable from the tee, often requiring line shaping and placement to have a clear shot at the pin.

Favorite Hole(s): Hole #3 - The epic 792 downhill shot with views of the entire valley below. It is one of the more enjoyable holes I have played to date and really allows players with big arms to bomb it out there with something stable and watch it fade back in at end. Truly and amazing hole!
Cons:
Because the courses in Kamloops were installed high above the city, they are exposed to the rugged elements. During the summer it gets extremely hot and being that the course is dry it makes for a long round. You can find shade throughout but it comes in clusters leaving you exposed more than most would like. During the winter it's the polar opposite, snowing quite heavily and preventing most from playing for several weeks if not months due to the heavy snowfall. When you are fortunate enough to play, the wind usually comes in to play. Winds from high on top are quite fierce at times requiring the use of stable discs, especially when throwing over cliffs and ravines.

Navigation is VERY confusing for first timers as well. Most holes have three sets of tee pads with wooden posts nearby some of them to help with location and distance but it is harder to locate the worn paths that take players from each pin toward the next tee due to the high brush. Playing without a local to help guide and spot will make the course frustrating and near impossible to play. However, once played the course becomes much easier assuming you play it frequently enough.
Other Thoughts:
Over the years I have had the privilege of visiting beautiful British Columbia on several occasions, totaling 20+ courses played in the great white north, adding to the nearly 200 courses played in 12 states, 3 countries, and counting... In doing so, I can honestly say that both Kamloops and Logan Lake are some of the most challenging and scenic courses I have played to date in Canada.

I came up from Seattle, WA for the 2013 Canadian Disc Golf Championships with two of my best friends who, although unfamiliar with the tournament scene, were up for an adventure! From the time we arrived until the time we left we were treated as if we were a local, with friendly conversations, tough competition, and great food/accommodations.

The tournament itself, run by Carrie Neal and the KDGC, was both professional and well organized. Because the tournament has been so well run in the past the TD's were able to get tons of community support through sponsorship. They had great player packs/payouts, and included an impressive list of world class players who attended from all over the world. It is unbelievable to see how much work went into this tournament, and for a DG club that is so small like the KDGC, how well they work together to gets things done for this big event. I am truly grateful for the hospitality and professionalism by all and want to give a special shot out to my buddy Bailey Teteris for going out of his way to be the perfect guide, Robbio for playing three memorable rounds together, and Whatshisname from Alberta for being so kind and genuine. It was much appreciated and will never be forgotten!

Extremely frustrating

2-4    9/27/2013   10/1/2013
Review By: akoenig
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great views
- Big holes to really air shots out on
- Hilly terrain means shots both up and down
- Lots of trees
Cons: - Course design. It just doesn't flow.
- There is so much unnecessary walking between holes, in some cases you go up a gulley, then back down then right back up the same one
- About 14 of the 18 holes are blind, many are still blind after making a great drive. Most of the holes my buddy and I would just drive in the direction where we though the hole would be, walk there and then try to find the basket. Often we'd still have to work to try to find the hole.
- For most holes there's an impenetrable group of trees you have to throw through / over. I feel there should be a fairway through these
Other Thoughts: I would not play this course again, as it really wasn't any fun. Nobody else was playing the course and I can see why.

Ages ago they had set up a 9 hole layout for Canadian nationals and that was a really really fun set of holes with much more imaginative use of the terrain. Bring that course back please!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring a spotter!

2-4    6/21/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: MikeK
Played: 191  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the toughest courses I have ever played. There is lots of elevation change and there are ravines where you might land if you miss the fairway. Add in some bushy rough and some wind on this hillside course and it can really punish you, like the crybaby in the review before this one. Stupendous views of Kamloops, great grippy rubber pads, and double chain Discatchers.
Cons: Lots of blind shots, which usually isn't a problem for me but on this course it is very easy to lose a disc in the rough or ravines. Really need spotters on lots of these holes.
Other Thoughts: The map linked here is excellent. Use it!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Thick

1    8/9/2009   3/10/2010
Review By: Nev_Star
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good baskets, unique shots
Cons: It seems as though this course was designed using a map as allot of hole have unnessasary walks up/down ravines.
Its too bushy, the sage brush in the "fairways" were almost at my waist. make the holes a little rediculous as there really isnt a fairway, be ready to search for your disc after a nice upshot. With wind this course is almost unplayable. I played this course soon after it was installed so it may have changed as far as the ammount of bush in the fairways. Only course I've played where you can throw a good drive in the middle of the fairway and loose your disc.
Other Thoughts: I'd walk across the road and play Rose hill west instead.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Potential, potential, potential...

1    10/11/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long, true 4- and 5-par holes. GREAT use of terrain. Many, varied shots necessary. Good signs at each hole. Imaginative.
Cons: Piss-poor signage from hole to hole. Very confusing layout for your first time, although subsequent rounds should prove easier. NO MAPS!!!
Other Thoughts: This course has a GREAT layout. Uses the terrain better than almost any course I've played; felt similar to Stafford Lake in California, but without the good signage. Very hilly, requires good stamina; that said, very small area used - lots of confusion as to which basket to throw at. Could use more numbers on baskets or flags with numbers, to differentiate - very frustrating. Bring water!!

Also, definitely don't use a yellow or light green disc, here. Use the brightest, most obnoxiously pink and purple colors you have. Yellow and green - and, dark colors in general - just get swallowed up by the scrub grass.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress

1    8/15/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has three sets of tees; Advanced, Pro and Am tees. The tees are marked by a strip of blue, white or red tape around the tee sign. Blue is long tees, white is middle distance and red is short tees. There are rubber tee pads and tee signs up already, albeit temporary ones.

Most holes have different options on how to get to the basket which enhances the replay-ability factor. A great example of this is the first hole. There are trees right down the middle of the fairway so you need to either throw a big hyzer or a big anhyzer, whichever you like.

Like it's sister course across the street, this course also offers many nice views of the valley below.

This course is much more like a ball golf course in that it will punish you for mistakes and it's the only course I've played that has this kind of distance. It's also the only course I've played with real-deal par fours and fives. Because I didn't get through the whole course, I'm not sure what the par is, but I bet par is over 60 and could be around 70. The pure challenge of this course will keep me going back for more.

The baskets are DISCatchers with a bright yellow strip across the top which better allows you to see the basket from the tee.
Cons: This course does not appear to be designed for everyone in mind. I played the amateur tees and still found the course to be ridiculously long. For example, one hole was a straight away uphill shot par three, it was 340 feet. I'm not sure how any amateur player is going to bomb it around 310-340 up a significant incline. From the back tees I'm sure it was over 400 feet.

Also, hole #4 was a 680 foot par 4, over a big gully. From the back tees it was closer to 800 feet. Given the terrain changes, this just didn't seem feasible to ever make a birdie. I'm not one to care about shooting par but I think a well-designed course can be challenging enough without having to throw a driver on most shots. I also feel that on a par four, if one throws two good shots he/she should have an opportunity to make a birdie.

The course was difficult to navigate because of a lack of use. The course has only been open a month or two and as a result, there are no pathways worn to the next hole. There are also multiple holes where you're shooting over a gully and it would nice to be able to walk across a bridge instead of hiking all the way down to the bottom of the gully and back up the other side.

I think this course could also benefit from some clearing of underbrush. It would make the course look nicer and it would allow one to get better footing when making a shot.
Other Thoughts: As a disclaimer, I only ended up playing 6 holes as it was getting dark. I wanted to offer some insight for those who are potentially heading up through the area and thought about playing.

Even though this course is open, it is still in development. I'm hoping the Kamloops Disc Golf Club will install some bridges and maybe a little more signage like "Next Hole" signs when it isn't apparent where to go. A kiosk with a map of the course would also be a handy thing to have at the first tee.

There is a sign saying the area is closed, however, you can disregard it, this course is open. The sign is for truck drivers and the public who were dumping beetle killed trees here.

This course is a hike. BRING LOTS OF WATER and HIKING SHOES! If you're out of shape, this course will probably tire you out; its terrain is way more extreme than the course across the street.

As I said before, this course is a work in progress and I can't wait till it's all done. It has the potential to be the best and most challenging course in BC.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.