Dalton, GA 
Heritage Point DGC Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #6 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Love this course.

5+    11/18/2011   11/20/2011
Review By: Chigger Hamby
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Signs at every tee
- Concrete tee pads
- Double chains
- Bathroom and water fountain at hole 10
- Easy to navigate
- Well maintained by Dalton Parks and Rec.
- NEVER crowded
- Holes 2 and 18, love em!
Cons: - Hole 3 needs a backstop, my disc stands up and rolls every time because of how steep it is.
- Forget about playing after a rain storm, low lying holes will be soggy.
Other Thoughts: If you've played here more than once, I'm sure you know exactly what this means: "You got dogs??? Mine are friendly!!!"

A great course! Perfect for those hot summer days when you still want to play. Shaded canopy, next to a creek. A sweet gem of a course right in Dalton! I have never run into a crowd, ever. We always have the course to ourselves.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 challenge but fun!

1    5/7/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: bama9125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: excellent in term of decision on type of threw. enjoy the natural and saw rabbit, squirrel and more. its more of mentality game!
Cons: if you are into hiking and enjoy disc golf then its for you! its hard to go up hilly at some holes especially at 18th hole. you need to be in pretty good shape to handle the hilly part. NOT RECOMMENDED when raining because it will be VERY slippery.
Other Thoughts: its good between start cool fall season thru to end of spring or end of april. because it wont be any fun to play in hot weather when u have to go uphill!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very challenging, not a lot of distance though

1    7/2/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: RICKY BOBBY
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of parking.
It's free.
I only saw 2 other people out there.
Supposed to be a found disc box on tee 1, but I didn't see it.
Beautiful scenery. Some fairways looked like you were between two giant walls of trees. Easily 40' tall.
Some seriously epic holes. Hole 18 is not forgettable. I estimate an elevation change of 50-75' up from tee to basket, over a large gully of sorts.
There are a few holes that are easily ace-able if you have the control for it.
Great use of elevation changes and land usage.
There is a playground nearby so you can use that as an excuse to bring your kids out and end up using them as your caddy.
Restrooms/water fountain at the 10/11 transition.
Cons: Lots of thorns. If you shank a shot, you're going to be looking for a while and wonder why you didn't wear jeans.
Sometimes you have to cross a fairway to get to the tee-box.
No cement am tees. There's an orange metal stake that marks where the am tees are.

Other Thoughts: Truly one of the best courses I've played at. I'd go more often if it was closer to me, but at 40 minutes away, I'll probably go once a month.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Workout

5+    7/2/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The 18 holes make a giant loop and I suppose if you wanted to exit after 9 you could but with just a short walk. A variety of elevation comes into play including downhills, uphill, side hill, over valleys and flat shots as well. Fairways are well groomed and most are quite wide.

Baskets look almost brand new and are all secured in place with none being wobbly. Signs at each hole are decent and show you where each pin is. Concrete teepads are in great shape. This in itself is a big deal, seeing as how wooded this course is, they designers and developers took on a huge task to get this done.

Wooded, but too much allows multiple lines on each hole. I can think of only one hole that forces only one line you must hit. The rough isn't that bad except for 2-3 months of the year so be sure to wear pants. Also, the majority of the course is shaded which really helps in the summer heat. Water comes into play on hole 2 (small 1' wide creek) and 18 (2' wide creek) and that is it. On 15 and 16 there is a larger river, 15-20' across, that is way right so just beware that these you can lose something in but only a very errant throw will be punished.

This is a very clean course, even though I didn't see but one trash can by the restroom at 11 and at tee 1. The volunteers are either out there a lot, or the locals have a great respect for this course.

Quite a bit more to do here such as baseball fields, playground, pavilions and I'm sure something else I am missing. Parking lot is easily 100 cars and is designed for the baseball fields. In the whole complex there are probably 500+ spots so parking is never a problem. Being a multi use park, it is nice that no other activities interfere with the DG course. It has it's own section of the property.
Cons: This course is a workout. Remember all of those hills I told you about? You have to walk up and down them as well. In the summer this can be tiring because there are no benches at any hole except 11. Also, no trash cans so you must carry your empty water bottles at least half of the course.

The summer rough is rough and there is some poison vie out there so be careful.

Drainage on holes 4 & 5 leave a little to be desired but since these are the only two in low areas, it's not that big of a deal and most of the puddles can be walked around.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses around here that I have played and with a few benches and trash cans, this could easily be a 4.5 course. Would definitely take the time to play this but in the summer, get there early to avoid the heat.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.