Dalton, GA 
Heritage Point DGC Share
Uploaded By: WAS1 Hole #13
3 / 180ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A Workout

5+    7/2/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The 18 holes make a giant loop and I suppose if you wanted to exit after 9 you could but with just a short walk. A variety of elevation comes into play including downhills, uphill, side hill, over valleys and flat shots as well. Fairways are well groomed and most are quite wide.

Baskets look almost brand new and are all secured in place with none being wobbly. Signs at each hole are decent and show you where each pin is. Concrete teepads are in great shape. This in itself is a big deal, seeing as how wooded this course is, they designers and developers took on a huge task to get this done.

Wooded, but too much allows multiple lines on each hole. I can think of only one hole that forces only one line you must hit. The rough isn't that bad except for 2-3 months of the year so be sure to wear pants. Also, the majority of the course is shaded which really helps in the summer heat. Water comes into play on hole 2 (small 1' wide creek) and 18 (2' wide creek) and that is it. On 15 and 16 there is a larger river, 15-20' across, that is way right so just beware that these you can lose something in but only a very errant throw will be punished.

This is a very clean course, even though I didn't see but one trash can by the restroom at 11 and at tee 1. The volunteers are either out there a lot, or the locals have a great respect for this course.

Quite a bit more to do here such as baseball fields, playground, pavilions and I'm sure something else I am missing. Parking lot is easily 100 cars and is designed for the baseball fields. In the whole complex there are probably 500+ spots so parking is never a problem. Being a multi use park, it is nice that no other activities interfere with the DG course. It has it's own section of the property.
Cons: This course is a workout. Remember all of those hills I told you about? You have to walk up and down them as well. In the summer this can be tiring because there are no benches at any hole except 11. Also, no trash cans so you must carry your empty water bottles at least half of the course.

The summer rough is rough and there is some poison vie out there so be careful.

Drainage on holes 4 & 5 leave a little to be desired but since these are the only two in low areas, it's not that big of a deal and most of the puddles can be walked around.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses around here that I have played and with a few benches and trash cans, this could easily be a 4.5 course. Would definitely take the time to play this but in the summer, get there early to avoid the heat.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Course for the hiking type.

1    3/17/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: DGphanatic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice design and use of land and elevation. Favorite holes were 1, 2, 11, 12, 18. Mainly because it was dry but they were, I feel the best holes on the course.
Cons: Its a workout, seriously, and holes 4,5,6, and 7 are always muddy and when it rains its a swamp.
Other Thoughts: Nice course but probably not going back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Heritage Point (Dalton Middle)

5+    5/17/2011   1/24/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of people say good use of the land, but I thought that this course was an exceptionally good use of the land. For some woods between the complex and a large creek there were a lot of elevation changes, thoughtfully placed trees and pin positions, and a few ace chances amidst some harder holes. There isn't a lot of distance so accuracy is definitely valued more than strength. Water was in play on a few holes, but only seasonally. You also run the risk of falling way down the hill on almost half of the holes. Although the course is definitely wooded on every hole, I still found it easy to spot any disc that strayed off of the fairway. I also had the opportunity to throw a good mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots (RHBH).
Cons: The course doesn't have much distance to it. I liked the wooded feel, but I felt that it could have extended a few holes here and there. A lot of the holes look alike and cross over so getting to the next hole can be a problem sometimes. It took me forever to find hole 18. When it rains just a little bit here a few of the front nine fairways flood REALLY bad. Hole number four is the worst, although a wooden walkway extending about 50 feet from the tee helps a great deal. I would keep all of this in mind if you're going out of the way to play here. If it has rained a little it will probably be manageable, but if it has rained for an extended period of time then I wouldn't bother.
Other Thoughts: An 18 hole course right next to a middle school? I see a win, win situation here. I kind of expected to see some kids out there, but I still haven't. If I went there or worked there I would be all over it. It definitely impressed me overall. Hole 12 is probably the best chance at an ace on the whole course. If it hasn't been raining, go a few miles off of exit 336 and play this course. For the first course in Dalton I think they did a stand up job.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

1    11/15/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This new course is conveniently located just off I-75 is on its way to becoming a really nice course. It is quite evident that there has been some hard work done by some dedicated golfers in the area. This is a course that will be fun to watch mature if you live in the area.

Although the course itself is still in its infancy it's hard not to notice its potential. Overall the course is a bit on the short side but the holes make up for it by demanding accuracy a lot of the time. There are birdie opportunities galore and low scores should be normal but bogeys won't be uncommon either. Overall you'll find a fair mix of shots. A few moderate elevation changes help with the diversity. Two and eighteen are the most pronounced and will probably be the holes that are most remembered. You will find a strait shot or two and as expected, there are right and left turning shots too.

There are concrete pads on all eighteen holes and they are very nice. They have a very rough surface and are perfect for tee pads. They spared no expense on them either as I noticed that some of them are 16" thick in order to make sure they are level.

The tee signs on each hole are great and have all the info that you could ask for.

The Discraft Chainstar baskets are brand new and catch great. They have arrows pointing the way to the next tee and helped with navigation tremendously.

As a bonus, there is plentiful parking near the first tee, benches are scattered around the course and a bathroom with a water fountain is near the hole 10/11 transition.
Cons: Much work still needs to be done on this course. At this point some of the problems could give you a bad impression of the course and could possibly detour you from coming back.

The biggest issue is the drainage on the course. Several holes were almost unplayable due to standing water/mud. I am not sure that this is something that is going to get better. It just seemed like almost 2/3 of the holes are in an area that is just going to hold moisture. Georgia has had an unusually wet season so we will see what happens as the weather gets back to normal. Maybe it will dry out but if not this could be an aggravating course for a good portion of the year.

The fairways themselves are in good shape but a lot of the holes have some bad shule. Again, I can see that this might improve over time but it will be annoying for sure. At this point expect to spend a little extra time looking for errant shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course with a really nice layout and will do nothing but improve. Whoever is responsible for getting the course installed and just as importantly whoever is doing all the hard work should be recognized. Who dragged the cross ties down to the tee pads? And the block steps and bridges? The steps dug out of the hillsides? It looks like this course is getting lots of love. I will be back.

If you are in the area, Definitely try to play.

Enjoy!


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Course

2-4    10/16/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this was a great first course in an area that has a lot of potential for good expansion. It wasn't overly tight, or overly long. The designer made decent use of the elevation changes, and the putting areas were interesting and challenging. The flow is pretty good and it's fairly easy to navigate. The Chainstar targets are some of the best available, and just about every tee looked about ready to pour concrete. This is a course that should encourage growth of Disc Golf in Dalton. Stay on the fairways and it's not punishing.
Cons: Lots of standing water. When the concrete gets poured, things will improve dramatically. A couple of holes need a bit of tree trimming...(#2- I'm looking at you!)
Other Thoughts: I like this place and will try to get a round in every time I'm in Dalton.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/23/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: CRoach
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight lines, great use of elevation, easy to navigate and flows well.
Cons: Some tee pads were not clearly marked, all were a little muddy (watch your footing.) More clearing needed.
Other Thoughts: Feels like The Sinks with the elevation of Cloudland. Fun and challenging and will become more so with time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 rough but fair

1    8/21/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: has great potential to be a tough course, good use of elevation, brand new baskets,the park was nice and in good shape
Cons: no tee pads yet, it was a little muddy at some tee locations,needs a few more signs going from one hole to another, arrows were on most all baskets. it looks like they have taken a bobcat and cleared the fairwys, but not alot of limbing has been done yet.
Other Thoughts: this course was fun,for what it was. a litte rough yet, but it will be a nice change to the type of courses in the area, it kind of like the sinks with more elevation

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.