Harvard, IL 
Lions Park Share
Uploaded By: Dave242 Hole #5 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: 226' uphill. Around +15-20' elevation

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

5+    9/27/2015   9/28/2015
Review By: thejetmechanic
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7
Pros: *Course is located in a nice community park with multiple uses.
*Concrete tee pads on every hole
*Nice use of the land and elevation for pin placements
*I enjoyed throwing both up and down hill
*Most holes have proper signage, but some are missing
*Some holes presented me with a decent challenge
Cons: *Usually a fairly busy park so I suggest playing early mornings or late afternoons to avoid a crowd
*A few tee signs are missing/vandalized
*Almost every hole has profanity/graffiti written on the basket
*Hole 6's basket is loose and moves around freely
*After finishing hole 2 one must backtrack down the hill to get to hole 3's tee pad. (I got creative and have been teeing off for 3 on the top of the hill. Much more fun in my opinion)

Other Thoughts: I actually like this 9 hole course because it's located in the country and is very quiet. The park has a few playgrounds and a pool which get very busy in the summer, but for the most part the disc course is usually never being used.

The first few holes allow for long drives, but I really enjoy some of the touch this course requires on the holes in the woods/trees.

If all the tee signs were in place and the graffiti was removed from the baskets this course would receive a higher rating from me.


1    5/28/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Harry Manback
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good variety
-Fairly beginner friendly
-Not much other things to get in the way
Cons: -A lot of open holes
-Doesn't seem to be in the best part of town
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course for beginners or experience players. Pretty good distance and a nice use of the hill/trees. One very long hole (560' uphill) but all the rest are very reachable. A couple holes (1, 7, 8, and 9) are all set up for ace runs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/10/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: edward felcohands
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Made good use of available space, nice new concrete pads, baskets in good shape. Decent variety of holes, on hole 1, 2, 8 and 9 the trees are used to make the holes much more interesting. Also another pro is that this course even exists in this area which is basically devoid of quality courses within 20 miles. several ace opportunities.
Cons: Hole 3 is a disaster waiting to happen, a bike trail comes from a playground around a blind corner 20 yards directly in front of the tee box. the pad could easily have been moved 30 yards up and to the right, the hole wouldn't have been as challenging but much less chance of a little kid getting a wraith in the dome. Signs say the number of the hole but no individual maps or distances. However, an overhead photo map at hole 1 is helpful getting an idea of the layout, and then after you start the flow is not hard to figure out. a couple of the tee boxes are not lined up with the basket but rather angled in one direction or the other, so watch your ankles.
Other Thoughts: I got to hole 1, cant be more than 100 feet between some tight oaks, and though "oh boy its one of these putter courses". then i got to hole 2 and that whole idea was blown completely out the window. you have to go left around some low hangin oaks and then back right up a steep sledding hill. so steep and sharp that you'd need some monster anny or huge sidearms, but the trees make it almost impossible to tommy. no slouch at all. 3 and 4 are bomber holes, with 4 being quite long, wide open, and slightly uphill. i wish i new the distance on this hole. As said before, the hill makes for some interesting elevation shots, two uphill drives and one downhill. Hole 8, from the concrete, is a very short curve around some trees, but if you look for the spraypainted extra box the hole becomes a straight thread the needle shot through some trees that is much more interesting, and feels a lot less silly. I will be back here frequently because it is the only course that has metal baskets and comes anywhere near being in between my home and work. It is nice to see a 9 hole that you can get out the distance plastic on. It gets a 3 because of variety, good condition, and nothing else reasonable anywhere nearby.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lion's Park

5+    8/6/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course, there is a good variety of wooded and open holes. I like the utilization of the sledding hill on hole 2 and hole 6. Cement tee boxes are always nice.
Cons: Hole 3 may cause some hazards for people unaware that there is a disc golf course because it is a blind shot to the left. Throwers may want to be aware that people maybe using the bike path next to the library which is right next to the tee box for hole 3.

***I play this course often and have decided to throw my drive from 3 at the top of the sledding hill. It is way safer and more fun. Try it yourself!
Other Thoughts: I have played this course numerous times and have decided that hole 6 is my favorite hole. This hole is what makes this course a 3 instead of a 2 in my opinion (at least for a 9 hole). It is also one of the few halfway decent courses between Crystal Lake and Rockford.

Kudos to the guy who got an ace on 6. That would have been a cool one to see.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.