Danielsville, PA 
Blue Mountain - Skyline Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #9 (Taken 10/2010)
4 / 738ft.   4 / 738ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pain in the legs! but fun.

2-4    9/8/2012   7/8/2013
Review By: DAMAGER
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course, Fast long flights, Great views, Good pin positions, Easy to navigate, bench's at a lot of holes, Nice grassy fairways. Fun letting them discs rip and watching them fly forever.
Cons: Easy to lose a disc if you throw a bad one, disc can glide for ever over tree tops. my friend lost 4 discs in one day. Course is very tiring even though it is mostly down hill. Puts a hurting on the legs, Can get windy.
Other Thoughts: I suggest using over stable discs mostly and try throw with the terrain. Bring multiple cellphones some cells don't work up there, because you need to call the office for pick up.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mountain Golf

1    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Disc Fiend
Played: 59  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an experience I will not forget anytime soon. I have never played a course like this before, and it blew my mind. During the ride up the mountain I got the feeling I was about to play something special, and it definitely was! Mike was a great host, and gave us a few tips and info on the course on the way up. He also gave us hiking poles, which I ended up using the entire round. The holes are designed well and each hole is unique. There are 18 holes with multiple cement tees and/or baskets on each hole. What almost every hole has in common though is the elevation change. I have never played a course with that much downhill elevation change, and boy was it fun! it is a beautiful thing to watch a disc fly 600 ft. down a mountain, it feels like the disc is flying in the air for minutes at a time.
Cons: The only cons I could think of was on holes 14 and 16. They need to put stairs or a rope or something to make it so people can safely get down to the basket. It was very steep and dangerous, a lot more then all the other holes. I also didn't like that they closed at 6. I wish they would stay open until dark.
Other Thoughts: $5 gets you an all day pass to the three courses on the property and rides up the mountain and back to the lodge. With the 3 courses, a bar and grill and a pro shop it feels like your at a disc golf country club. The views from the mountain are breathtaking, this is an awesome place to play disc golf. definitely play here if you can get the chance to.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING

2-4    8/1/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: They take you on an ATV to the top of the moutain and pick you up when your finished. It is a beautiful course with fantastic views. All the holes are easily navigated and have multiple tees and baskets.
Cons: Physically demanding
Other Thoughts: This course is a must for any Disc Golfer. The fee is 5 dollars for an all day pass on all 3 courses. The ATV ride alone is worth the money. Don't miss out on this beautiful course because you are cheap. The guy who runs it is awesome and the place is well maintained.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

EPIC

1    7/29/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: rwblack
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: After playing over 5,000+ rounds of disc golf in my life, the round on the Blue Mountain Skyline Disc Golf Course really may stand out the most.

Beautiful setting in the Pocono Mountains. There was a Blues Festival going on the day I was there. They had the course closed except to people who had paid for the festival. Luckily the guy I talked to in the pro shop graciously gave me his own free festival pass so I could play the course. The lift was open that day which made for an incredibly enjoyable ride up the mountain (and joy ride after).

The course was everything I could have wanted from a mountain course. Really tested my abilities. I did not have too hard of a time finding discs ever. The rough was very manageable. Water coolers were a HUGE plus.

This course is a MUST PLAY if you live in the northeast or are passing through. Bucket list type of course. Oh yea and did I mention there was live blues playing the entire round for me...EPIC

Cons: The course is an extreme hike and is only for those that good physical health and are up to the challenge. Otherwise, it may affect the amount of fun you have playing the course.
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of water, snacks, and good hiking shoes for the decent.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not For Weekend Warriors

1    5/27/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.8 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole grueling and challenging course which starts at the top of Blue Mountain Ski Resort in the Poconos. Oversized concrete tee pads and benches at every hole. Each hole has either two tee pads and a single basket or single tee pads with a short (white) and long (blue) basket. Colored, laminated signs at each hole give you distance and preferred flight path. Tremendous elevation changes and good distance variety. Though mostly open, a few technical holes are thrown in for good measure, with holes 5, 8, 9, 13, and 14 particularly memorable. Picturesque views of Danielsville from the top of the mountain. Friendly staff accomodating to disc golfers. As this is a ski resort, amenities like bathrooms, vending machines and restaurants are on the premises.
Cons: Disc loss- even on what you think are good drives- a very distinct possibility. Treacherous hiking over rocky surfaces involved throughout the course. High grass present on many fairways. Permanent signage and bag poles unavailable because of the type of course it is. "Next tee" arrows would assist with navigation. Pay to play and limited ski lift availability/playing time will turn away some players.
Other Thoughts: With three courses- Skyline, Valley and the 9-hole Slope Side available to players, Blue Mountain provides an excellent disc golfing experience. Not for the faint of heart, The Blue Mountain Skyline course is intimidating to say the least and presents a tremendous challenge to even seasoned pros, much less the recreational/intermediate player. The frustration factor here is extremely high without a sensible, pinpoint approach to drives off the tee, and heat, wind, bugs and other variables all come into play throughout your round. Staff is available to give you a ride to the top in the absence of a working ski lift. Though many reviewers speak of the course being well groomed, I found the grass ridiculously high when I played and was a bit disappointed. Hydration, good footwear and being in shape are all critical elements of playing here. Overall, a good, if humbling experience.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 awesome experience

1    9/1/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: flyerzphan923
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, great grounds manager, all around great time.
Alt. tee's and/or baskets
great variety of up and down hill drives
great variations of hole lengths
the course is impeccably kept
tees and baskets are still in perfect condition
Cons: It is open everyday but mon-wed you would need to hike to the top of the mountain to play.
not for beginners, the course is skill demanding and a beginner would lose alot of plastic
Other Thoughts: this course is a must play
eventhough it costs 5 dollars a day, you get a ride to the top and fresh water every few holes
o and you can play as many times as you want for that day, on all courses
the grounds keeper Mike is awesome, he is there to make your experience awesome and does his job well
you will leave feeling like it was the best $5 you've ever spent!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Memorable Course

1    7/24/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice cement tee pads
-great baskets
-Each hole has either 2 tees or 2 baskets, so the course actually plays 36 holes if you want
-Benches at most holes
-Water stations/Portajohns throughout the course
-The $5 green fees gets you a ride up the mountain on the course manager's gator, and he also picks you up in the valley at the end!
-Some great changes in elevation. Let them rip and watch the go for days
-Gives you a great workout
-great signage and flow to the course
Cons: -Easy to lose discs. Use spotters, video, whatever you need to keep an eye on the disc.
-If you aren't at all in shape seriously reconsider playing this course.
-The terrain is very hard on your discs
Not to many other cons
Other Thoughts: Wind is a big factor on the course. Keep your discs below the trees or else bye bye disc. Plan on spending the entire day at Blue Mountain, with 3 courses on site it's worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Paly this course

1    7/16/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: DonG
Played: 173  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is no other course of the 130+ I've played that compares to Skyline. The monster requisite drives and the dizzying looks from the tee will coerce your A game out.

-Elevevation change on every hole.
-Mostly open, but some punishing woods on errant throws.
-Mix of left/right/straight shots.
-Easy navigation to tees/pins/next hole.
-Phenomenal design and layout.
-Impeccably maintained.
-Newer baskets and concrete tees.
-Incredible veiws.
-Great guy running the disc golf courses.
Cons: -Even with a spotter, you'll need at least 20 mins total per player to find discs.
-Tough terrain, not for the easily winded.
-You don't play over the drink, but maybe that will change if they put in a water park.
-18 is a bit of a let down.
Other Thoughts: A must play for serious frolfers; well worth the $5. There are is no more mountain biking at Blue, so no need to worry. Drinking water and benches at some tees. The lifts aren't running, so you get a ride to/from the course with Mike (bring a phone). Don't go in the drop-offs (pines) on 3, 7, 8, and 9. WATCH YOUR DISCS!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Black Diamond Disc Golf not for Beginners

1    6/5/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where else on the east coast can you play over 1000 feet of elevation drop over 18 holes. Has 2 perfect concrete tees or 2 baskets per hole so this one caters to experts as well as average players.(note:I didn't say beginners) Just like skiing the lift whets your appetite with views of the course and glorious PA mountainsides and valleys. Once your at tee #1 there are hiking poles provided...do yourself a favor and grab one. I used mine the entire round as the walks are steep and rocky and they make good disc grabbers when your searching for your disc. (the hiking poles saved my ass and I am in decent condition..can't stress the importance of utilizing these) The holes employ massive elevation drops of over 100 feet on 5 of the holes (3,7,8,9, and 14) and a slew of semi technical holes requiring you to throw across valleys, dips, slopes through tight windows of treelines where the hills provide danger rather than thrill. Some really good pro caliber multi-shot holes where placememnt of succeeding shots lead to par in particular on 12,13,17 and 18. The other 9 provide par if you hit the gaps properly or avoid error with baskets tucked up on hillsides or hiiden away in nooks of woods along the slopes. Notable moments for me were the anhyzer downhill of hole 8....100+ feet of downill bending hard right to the basket below...throw it tight to the ground and hope it doesn't fight to fade left. Hole 14 was a putter drop over 100 feet and provides the steepest drop. Just a fun and very memorable hole.....it's also the last beat up your legs downhill walk and you will be relieved it's over. Hole 12 is probably the toughest shot of the tee a tight gap through woods that if you hit the gap your disc will be thrust into the open with a hillclimb across a valley. Most will not make the gap, make the gap but then fade down the valley and be left with a massive uphill, and the truly special player will have the arm and the precision to hit the gap just right and then land in ideal position for the second shot. Special Hole here. This is a course that will test your knowledge as much as your skills as you must know how to play wind (upward gusts and intense headwinds/tailwinds prevailing throughout from peak to base, you must know how to throw elevation as your disc will perform full flight paths...most don't realize that with over 100 feet of drop on many holes your disc will have room and time to perform the latter stages of it's flight... Due to wind and elevation drops your discs will do things they don't do on other courses....you also will be standing off balance and be required to be agile and perform shots from difficult positions. The toughest part for me was focusing as I was often both mentally and physically struggling and this would challenge my focus. It's fun and interesting. It's a workout but the scenery and unique disc golf will inspire you. Water and bathrooms provided a few times throughout and is crucial.
Cons: Disc loss is a strong possibility if you insist on throwing drivers recklessly. (hint:rows of evergreens hide steep cliffs on the other side) Difficult terrain, often dangerous to traverse with steep hillsides, thick brush, rockslides, and the ever present fear of a mountain biker coming around the corner from nowhere. Many holes start under the ski lifts which keeps the lifts out of the shot but requires focus as there's the distraction of passing chairs (one guy even noonaned me as I drive on hole 3.....stupid ignorant mountain biker....I might have pushed him off the mountain as he zipped by...my partner calmed me down LOL) For those fans of a true disc golf experience this is not for you.....this is more of an adventure. Definetely not beginner friendly due to skills required, length required, knowledge required, and punishing design. Being forced to play during summer and only during the day makes this a particularly brutal experience as your exposed in the heat....too bad you can't play later in the day or earlier in the morning.
Other Thoughts: Many of the downhills are steep but gradual in the sense that you can throw the disc 5 feet off the ground WITH the grade and it will travel 400+ easily just a few feet off the ground. No need to throw hard to generate wind speed here...it comes with the mountain for free. This is not my type of disc golf I personally don't enjoy ski hill golf but this one is probably one of the better ski hill designs I have played. It's worth playing a few times a year but the cost $10, difficult hike, lack of availability (weekends only early and only daytime during summer) and chance for disc loss will ensure I won't play it too frequently.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Further thoughts from a decent amateur player

1    6/12/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Benches on many holes on the front nine. Concrete tees everywhere. Lots of big downhill shots. Very good signage. Well groomed and fair fairways. Love being able to take the chairlift up the mountain. Disc rentals available.
Cons: Poison ivy and poison sumac everywhere. If you leave the fairway, the deep, poisonous and thorny rough means your disc is likely gone. Rugged terrain. Benches disappear around hole 10.
Other Thoughts: Scoring well here shouldn't be a problem, especially from the amateur tees. The par 5s in particular are ridiculously easy to reach in 3. The tough part is if you hit the rough, the course suddenly becomes unfair. So, the course is either too easy or too hard. I do like the design and would like to come back, but my more casual friends felt beat up by the end of the round and will not be returning.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center