Oconto, WI 
Shu Pond DGC Share
Uploaded By: Shuie Hole #2
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Simply Amazing!

5+    5/22/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: Satch
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course to play because it gives the feeling of playing at home. You don't have to worry about other players in the front or back of you because it is a private course. You can take your time playing it and just have a good time. Although none of the holes are extremely long they are challenging. The course has some tight tee boxes and difficult pin placements. The water hazard of the pond is nice touch. There are many rest area's on the course if you just want to take a break and relax. The course is constructed so that is can be played a number of ways which makes it fun. It is a nice short course that you could play all day and not get sick of it.
Cons: Watch out for Cooper bombs. The bugs can be a little bad if you play at dawn or dusk. I would not recommend this course if you have a heart condition, are pregnant, or a history of seizures, because it will blow you away!
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all players. Everyone should play it once.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Semi-Biased Owner Review

1    10/21/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: Shuie
Played: 640  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2014
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Shu pond is a very underplayed, semi-private course that offers a lot of variety. The course is currently in the process of putting 9 "well loved" Innova DisCathers. While the course mainly plays in a semi-wooded area the course is designed to have either a rather tight gap to hit either at the tee pad or the green are very well protected, which really makes you think about your shot selection. The course boasts some amenities like benches and some recycling can/pails strategically place throughout the course.There is also some elevation in play but it is mainly off the tee.
I also like how the course brings water in play on hole 4 with the basket sitting right on the ponds edge plus a creek comes into play on hole 5 and 9. The woodchipped fairways on 6 & 7 have really improved the look of the holes as well as help them drain better.
Cons: The course does not have tee signs and tee pads are natural with a few carpet ones. Its a hard course to get onto as i am usually off playing disc golf.
Other Thoughts: This course is my baby, i started it way back in 2008. All and all this is a well designed course, coupled with Wittkopf makes for an enjoyable day of scoreable golf that will leave feeling pretty good about the tight lines you have to hit in order to go under par.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Course getting better and better...

1    8/14/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2014
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Update for 2013: Mr. Shuie has been working on this course, when the opportunity presents itself; for the past three years.
The information provided below is still generally valid; but, I've upped the rating to a solid 3; becasue many of the holes now have a "3 level" tee that is longer than the original and forces distance; in addition to shot placement.
I would also suggest that you alot a full day to play here; once you get connected with the owner; as there are really @27 possible holes here and if time allows, Casey will probably show you all possible holes. The finishing holes are especially nice; and offer a number of possible designs; depening on pin placement.
Two shots over the Shu Pond; #5 and #8. Water not really in play (unless you're quite short), but nice view. Edit: One hole has water considerably in play these days....
Good course to practice annies (rhbh) or forehands. Fairways pretty tight and some pins only open on one side; requiring interesting putts.
Casey, the owner/designer is a wonderful young fellow. "I'm only 28, and I've got my own course in the ground." You must call him first; because, A: that's what he desires, and B: you'll need a guide. The reason this is a pro is that you'll enjoy a round with Casey tremendously.
There are alternate tee possibilities for the final three holes that make them longer/ tougher; and one brings the pond into a more dangerous position.
Cons: Dirt tees with no signs. This will probably remain the case. The course is not played enough for tee erosion to become an issue.
Homemade baskets. Edit: Innova baskets have now been purchased and are currently becoming course baskets! Does this mean Shu Pond will now be more than nine holes all the time; with the home made buckets still in use also? I'm not sure; check with Casey! While this is a con because they are not quite up to the level of normal buckets; they hold very well; and this should not be regarded as much of a con.
Two baskets used for more than one hole. Again, this will not be an issue, unless there are quite a number of players at any one time. I don't expect this to happen.
Other Thoughts: See hole info for update; some of this info is still valid; but distances have been updated by owner.

This info in related to rhbh. #1 and #2 short forehand or anheiser. #2 more drastic line. #3 tight straight fairway. #4 slight uphill anheiser. #5 230 ft. straight across pond. #6 dowhill 340 ft. #7 340 ft. back to basket for hole 5. #8 back across pond. #9 320 foot open hole back to hole 1 basket; but, watch out for the wagon loaded with logs off to your right!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.