Pearland, TX 
Shadow Creek Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: Play the sidewalk line OB; basket #1 in the foreground



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/10/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 127  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are nine baskets present and all nine baskets are in good shape.
The course surprisingly has a few good holes. 3, 6, and 7 were all holes that made sense and had decent lines off the tee.
Because the course is played on the top and on the hill of a retention pond there is elevation present even if it is quite minor.
You will be here by yourself, almost without a doubt.
Cons: There is a long walk from the recommended parking lot that you should park at to the first hole. None of the tee boxes are marked which is problematic because holes 1-3 and 8-9 are basically sitting on top of each other.

Bringing a map is the only way to truly play this course correct because without it you will be lost trying to figure out where to throw from and where to throw to.

From a safety standpoint, a sidewalk plays super close to most of the holes, all it takes is one bad shot to hit an unsuspecting walker. Basket number 5 is also literally five feet away from a playground.

This course has good golf holes but also has bad golf holes. Most holes have unrealistic lines that you would need a sharp hyzer or a tomahawk to get over the trees that are guarding most of the holes
Other Thoughts: Honestly, I was expecting worse. If you play with a map that is here on DGCR this course is not that bad navigation wise. Still, with bad holes, bad navigation, this course is in need of a serious redesign by someone who understands how a course should be set up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 There and Back Again: The Mediocre Adventure

1    3/16/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the amount of trees intertwined throughout the course, and how about half of the baskets are nestled within or around them in some fashion on a decent slope. I like that there is a lake to consider on a windy day, and I like a good ace run. It's also only a few miles from Tom Bass, albeit the Powell and Wilmont aren't personal favorites - at least you have 36 more holes near you. Other than that - I don't like much.

BEST HOLE/S: #1; #2
Cons: Where to start…First there is no parking available along the course. There is a small kind of close, but I chose a nice little cul-de-sac in the neighborhood and started on hole #6. There are no amenities, no markers or decent signage to know which tee you should be throwing from. I can't say the concrete boxes are a pro, because much like Wortham Trail in northwest Houston, there are incredibly too small.

Holes overlap each other in a there and back layout and would be dangerous if this course were busy, and you couldn't for safety reasons even run a small event. Baskets are marked, but sit so closely to each other, it's easy to shoot for the wrong one. Plus, hole #5 basket butts up against a playground, so be careful on a windy day.

WORST HOLE/S: #5
Other Thoughts: Shadow Creek Ranch is good for practice. If you lived in the neighborhood within walking distance, you'd be happy with the mild challenges and safari golf you'd surely create to make this place more interesting. Ironically, when I wasn't searching for the appropriate tee box I was enjoying my round a lot. And since this place will probably never be busy, it was just about perfect to test out some new discs. Pretend Texas States is happening at the traditional Tom Bass location and you want to warm up - come here throw around a bit, and then go play some real DG.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Around the corner, but not worth the walk

5+    6/5/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: cubby96
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 9 permanent baskets, and no crowd at all.
Cons: Where to start?
*no layout available
*no sense to holes or flow
*teepads seem randomly placed and are short enough to be dangerous
*jogger's path/sidewalk running through most holes
*playground is not far away from one line

It appears to have been designed by someone who had never played the game, to allow for another bullet on a developer's neighborhood amenities list.
Other Thoughts: This is really only useful if you want to practice driving or putting. They should pull the baskets and redesign, though there may not be room in this particular spot.

This is in my old neighborhood, and I'd still rather drive ten minutes to Tom Bass than walk for three minutes to play here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Worth Your Time

5+    10/8/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.7 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The baskets are good quality.
Cons: This is barely even an actual course. A layout has kind of been made up, but there is no official map, the "tee pads" (hard to call a small square of concrete a tee pad) are unclear and don't direct you to where you need to throw it. The mosquitoes are bad as the course is located around a flood plain area.
Other Thoughts: I live in Shadow Creek Ranch with the course virtually right around the corner from me. I wish this course had something to offer besides the fact that there are 9 baskets, but it just doesn't. I agree with the earlier comment that this course should just be taken out and redesigned (or should I just say designed as I am not sure that anyone with any DG knowledge had any part in the "design" of this course).

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 go check it out it aint bad

2-4    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Omega SuperSloth
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course has some good risk vs reward on almost all the holes on the first couple of holes i big hyzer will work but can leave you 20 ft away down the hill . Also there are no open shots (except 7) you better be multi fascited as its takes almost all the shots to get around and down by the basket and be carefull cause skip down the hill pretty easy on every hole but dont worry to much about the pond dont got no water but the lake on #4 does . And even if you get close to the basket you might have to go for bird on your knees.

this really is a unique course with with the ever present (dry)retention pond , if your off just a little you can end up pretty far away from the basket .
Cons: as the others have said there are some safty issues mainly make sure the playground is 100% clear before you shoot its only 295ft to the slide ( i know i hit it ,then measured it when i got home.
also on #8 there is a blind spot so scooch over and look down the sidewalk before you throw. the teeboxes can handle a real small x-step but just barely but you might not need one anyway.

i didnt find the jogger hazard to be that bad theres only one side walk
Other Thoughts: btw i didnt play the o.b sidewalk but what i did to make it playable was instead of throwing from the normal tee on #2 i played from #9s tee which is actually closer to #1s basket and points in the same direction as the regular tee but its 345ft and dont have the basket in the way like the normal one which is only 200ft.

btw the public parking lot at the front of the neighberhood is only 900ft from tee #1 and i didnt check but they might have water and RRs at the basketball courts/pool ,also take a course map the first time, also bring your bag you might need more discs than you think.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Might as well rip it out and start over.

1    8/16/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 84  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets are nice and new.
Cons: This is possibly the most confusing disc golf course layouts I've ever played. I had the map with me and I was still confused. The course isn't marked at all, the Tee boxes are tiny, many of the holes have poorly placed trees leaving you with only sharp hyzers or tomahawks as possible drives. The design of the course makes it dangerous for disc golfers and people using the jogging trails.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of room in this neighborhood park for a more open and well thought out course. Shadow Creek Ranch should consider ripping out the baskets and allowing someone with more experience in designing courses advise them on a new layout. This park could be the site of a decent 9 hole course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Too many safety hazards

5+    8/6/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The course is located in a nice, quiet subdivision park area and is well kept. The baskets are double chain DGA baskets that catch well and are numbered. If you're the only one on the course or just you and a couple friends the play is fine, and actually there are some creative holes if you play sidewalk-and-beyond as OB. I think that's how it should be played with the exception of #4 and #5 which are too punitive if played that way. The course has some minor elevation with baskets on sides of hills. Hole #7 is short, but interesting when played with the OB sidewalk 5' behind the basket.
Cons:
Sadly, there are a ton of cons for this course... it plays along a walking/jogging trail so you always have to be on the lookout for pedestrians and bikers. There is no parking lot or convenient street parking for this course. There are no tee signs so the flow is virtually impossible to figure out without a map, luckily the baskets are numbered which helps a bit. There are multiple tees with obstructions right in front of them. A couple of the tee pads are crooked (#4 and #7). The tee pads are too small at only 6' x 4' and do not allow for a sufficient run-up. The basket for hole #5 is less than 10' from a playground and several benches: a huge safety hazard. No trash cans or restrooms. The first three and last three holes play back on each other, and I don't mean just close to one another, but literally play the same fairways in opposite directions.
Other Thoughts:
This is a passable course if viewed from the perspective what you might like in your own back yard for private use by just you and your friends. But located in a public area this is a disc-to-the-face injury just waiting to happen. Any more than one card worth of players on this course and it's just too dangerous.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.