Pendleton, OR 
Pendleton Community Park Share
Uploaded By: CorgiRunner Hole #17 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pendleton DG Course

1    4/20/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: LGFrolfer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Maintained very well! Its a nice clean park. Definitely take the whole family to this one. Public bathrooms, lots of parking, nice tee signs, and a nice map near the parking area. Alternate tees and the small creek that run through the park make this course a little challenging for newer players but nothing to worry about.
Cons: If you go on a nice sunny day, you are sure to encounter a lot of pedestrians on the paths. The only other thing to watch for is the wind. Seems to rip through the course pretty hard.
Other Thoughts: As a new player, I loved the little bit of a challenge this course provided. I will definitely be trying to make it back soon.


1    2/16/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: joshkns
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Vey Nice and Clean
-Bathrooms
-Teepads with Signs
-Water Hazard
-Small Town. Gas,Food and Stores very Close
-Just a Few Minutes off of I-84
Cons: -Non DG Traffic on Nice Days
-Eastern Oregon wind Can Be A B#tch
-Snakes
Other Thoughts: Due to a bum ankle I was only able to play the front nine, I will be back to play it all. It really is a nice little course. I wouldn't make the trip from far to play but if your driving thru and want to take a break its alright.
If you can throw with any distance then the water wont be a big deal, besides in the summer I wouldn't have a problem going after my plastic, looks low and clear.
There are bull snakes which are harmless but can be big and rattlers in the area. Just watch it on the hillside around rocks in the summer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Coures

2-4    9/8/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: Idahomtnhigh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I am still a beginner and I love this course. I makes me step up my and learn new skills, but still keeps the fun factor. Very well marker with nice signs overall course signs at the 44th street parking area.
Cons: This is on of the hardest parks in a small town to find that I have ever seen. If you are from out of town write down good directions to get to the parking area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Two Different Courses

1    5/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So the Pendleton course is like two different courses is one place. You have the short open holes with green grass and not much differing terrain that play across the river and then the newly added back nine is your wide open long course with lots of elevation. The front nine is mostly open but has some strategic trees coming into play near most baskets. Although the across the river holes aren't very challenging they are aesthetically appealing to the eye. Navigation is very easy but finding some of the alternate tee pads are a little challenging at first but with a couple minutes of hard searching you can find them. It seems as if most of the people using the walking trail that goes through the course know full well that the course is in and understanding of where the tee pads and baskets are.
Cons: My major issue with this course is the back nine. In my opinion it doesn't add anything exciting to the course as a whole and I believe that it distracts from the front nine which isn't horrible. They are two completely different courses and the back nine is wide open, long and boring and the elevation doesn't really help much here but add a more tiring and boring experience. The designers had a chance to make at least one big down hill throw from the hill on the back and decided to have a couple boring holes on the side of the hill and the last hole going down hill is so short you have to use a putter. I think the two courses should be split into two different courses and then I would rate the front nine a 1.5 and the back a 0.5. I can see most people are just playing the front nine a couple times and then going home and I don't blame them. The problem I have with the front nine is there are so many open and short holes it just isn't challenging to anyone who has been playing seriously for any length of time. Also I don't need to throw over the river so many times and then walk over the only bridge on the course over and over, not that I'm scared to lose a disc actually it's because the river doesn't add anything but something cool to look at as it only takes 50 or so feet to clear this thing. Maybe if the basket locations were closer to the river instead of the tee pads being so close it would be much more fun and nerve racking to try and find a dry landing zone.
Other Thoughts: I think if you are around the area you should stop by and play the front nine as there is no other disc golf for several miles and the front nine is alright. I feel making this two separate courses is a better idea than what they have done and some of the front nine could be redesigned to take the river and the few amount of trees and put them into play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  From the beginning

1    8/12/2009   4/10/2011
Review By: GK74
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good addition to the area, nice small not the front 9, with some mental game to the creek crossings, and throwing along the creek (I lost disc here)
Cons: Seems to me that it could suffer from Many other park users, crowded weekends with families or walkers.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky enough to have stumbled upon the course on opening day as I traveled back home to Portland, Or. I had been playing Fort Walla Walla for the week I was in the area. Nice courses glad to hear it's expanded!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc in the wind

1    4/9/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 are literally a "walk in the park". Your in the city park and walking was on the grass and was very easy. The very large course map that greeted us at the parking lot was great! Tee pads were well marked as were the baskets. Sure was fun to toss across the river from the tee to the hole. Not too hard to do but it made me think "Don't screw this up". The water is very fast moving and will eat a disc fast! (Yes we lost one) The back 9 were a completely different animal. Very fun but out in the high hills with no trees at all. The wind and the huge elevation changes made shots tough and unforgiving. That is a good thing. You start on the bottom of the ridge for holes 10, 11 and 12. From there it is up, up and away! Everyone teaches them selves to throw a disc flat, lower, and hard to avoid the wind. Throw that out the door! On 13 you are throwing up a hill around 45 degrees!. Amid that shot the wind is rolling off the hill at you. Fun stuff! The ground was soft dirt with low weeds. We had some of our discs stick into the dirt. Once up top (not all the way up the hills) your playing with fire with every throw. The wind will make you think hard about the shot to be taken if it is there the day you play. Holes 14 and 15 are along the top. You then get to chuck a disc all the way down to the bottom for 16 then grip and rip straight up the hill once more to hit 17. 18 is another long bomb down to finish your day at the parking lot.
Cons: The front 9 are a tad too much "walk in the park" for me but it is not that bad any means. You have to watch out for the kiddies as there is a playground very close by. The back 9 looks to be a perfect spot for rattle snakes as they are all over SE Washington and NE Oregon. (Someone who lives there might be able to talk about this).
One last thing... I did not like that 11 and 12 share the same tee pad. With all of that space they should have a separate tees. From what I understand they are in the process of making a separate tee pad for 11.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 are still being worked on and do not have all the tee pads in. I will not hold them to a "Con" on that. If the back 9 turn out like the front 9 they will be just fine.
The front 9 are great if you don't have a big arm. The average player with a good (not great) skill set will have a very realistic chance if nailing a Ace. If you have poor health (knees, lungs, heart, hips and so on) holes 13 - 18 are not for you! You must be able to walk up steep hills that have no walking paths or steps. Your just up there. You will be required to walk up and down the hills at the very least twice. If you screw up a shot and it rolls or flys down (very easy to do) you can add to your hill time. In the summer this part of the country will get very hot so bring water and sunscreen! I good hat to protect your neck and ears is also advisable. Over all we thought it was a very fun course to play and we will be back and soon! Play this one guys!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Just A Typical Little City Park Course!

1    6/26/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is just your basic little city park course with a small stream dividing it. The park is very clean and well maintained, nice grass to play on. There are brand new Discatcher baskets, nice informative signs, teepads are adequate, the restroom was open and clean for public standards and there is a kiosk at the start with course information. The basic 9 hole configuration has no holes over 300 feet. However, there is a alternate hole which measures 550 feet. It's fun to throw across the stream on # 3, 4 and 8. You just have to be able to throw about 100 feet to clear it. This is just a really nice little recreational/family course.
Cons: I don't see anything majorly wrong here. There was hardly anyone here the day I played. It's fairly easy to follow. The two alternate holes were a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: A back nine is going in up on the hillside beyond the baseball field. This nine will be totally different from the little park course. The baskets are in. Poles are up for the signs. It's much longer than the front nine. As of June 2010, the teepads are very rough. But there so much potential here for a really challenging course. With the heat, the length, hiking up and down this hillside and the ever-present wind, this course will challenge all. And there is plenty of room to add another 9 holes here. As of now, it only plays halfway up the hill. # 18 will be a very sweet hole. Just a simple little touch shot, straight down the hill to a basket in some trees maybe 260 feet, with I'm guessing here, a drop of 75 feet.

What I would like to see them do here is make this a seperate course. Don't call it the back nine. Call it the Hillside Course or something. Many of the people playing the park course would get eaten up over here.

When this is completed, I'll be adding to my rating. Eventually, this will be a nice course for Pendelton and surrounds. Are there any surrounds surrounding Pendelton? Or it it just sagebrush, hayfields and jackrabbits?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good from far

1    5/8/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pendleton Community Park is located in Southwest Pendleton bordering some sloping hills on one side and a quite neighborhood on the other. There is a beautiful kiosk mapping out the multiple baskets. There are very nice custom made tee signs at all holes giving distances. The DGC is layed out on manicured grass with a mixed variety of trees. The creek runs through the park and can come into play on a few holes. The course offers a challenging 550 ft pin placement for the big arm and several technical ones as well. It offers plenty of parking, tennis courts, a playground, gazebo for events. Restrooms on site and the best of all its free!
Cons: There were many dog walkers and joggers out on the path that runs throughout the DGC layout. Hole #5 tee pad is about 100 ft away from a gazebo and the walking path crosses twice within that 100 ft top it off with a playground on the other side of the gazebo…not safe!
Other Thoughts: As you drive into the town of Pendleton the scenery is full of huge rolling hills spotted with groves of trees along some of the creeks and I was thinking this course is going to be awesome! I was disappointed after leaving expecting a much grander of a course layout. It's a nice little course in a neighborhood park nothing big.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun!

1    11/17/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: mcbentz
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.8 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This little course is a blast! Beautiful park with 9 short rhbh "hyzer" holes that utilize the land fairly well.
Cons: With a park load of people this course can get pretty crowded. Once your disc hits the water you'll never see it again! Hard to navigate with no pads/signs/maps.
Other Thoughts: Careful on hole 6, it can be a little deceiving!....Lost a brand new Crystal Z Buzzz.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Under Construction

1    10/12/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: Ewb46
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park that is well maintained. Plenty of parking unlike other courses I have played. Nice use of the available park. Good park to take the family too. Just enough hazards to make the course fun.Baskets are new and in good shape. No litter and plenty of trash cans.
Cons: At this moment no tee pads or clearly marked tee box. (it is rumored to be coming soon.) No course map on location. Being a multi purpose park there is potential to have a lot of interruptions. Not a lot of traffic on the day I was playing, but still a lot of walkers in the park and I had to wait for them to pass.
Other Thoughts: There really wasn't a lot to brag or complain about with this course. It is a fun course in an area that doesn't have a lot of choices. When in Pendleton I would play this course again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.