Davis, CA
Covell Greenbelt Share
Uploaded By: trevorchreid Hole #10
3 / 222ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Target



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
davis

5+    8/21/2009   4/21/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 24.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For the area that it is in, a fantastic job was done designing the layout. Sweet greens and distances for all this location. Throwing over the streets are very fun
Cons: Definintly can use baskets, t-pads, and signage.
Watch out when throw some holes, to not hit the vehicles on the street
Other Thoughts: players packs have maps, but for first timers, hard to navigate. Throwing at objects not baskets

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Covell Rocks!

1    8/6/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm so glad that Trevor took the time and effort to put together such a nice 18-hole layout over otherwise unused land surrounding a very nice greenbelt trail. I'm also glad that I waited until my 25th course to play Covell, otherwise I may not appreciate just how appropriate this track is for Disc Golf. I thoroughly enjoyed the space, mature trees, and overall length of the course...certainly a solid 2 hour workout in the Davis heat.
Cons: Of course, someone or some group needs to step up and push for baskets on this track. I can't see why a UC Davis-sponsored Disc Golf club couldn't raise enough $$ and get city approval to install an official course here.
Other Thoughts: Someone suggested biking this course, which would be fine. I actually Rip Stick'd it, and it turned out to be great, because of the paralleling paved trail along the course. Actually "ran into" some other D'Gers on the greenbelt who didn't even know about Trevor's layout! For a great example of what Covell COULD be, check out Peccole Ranch in Las Vegas.
=================
Uniqueness: A- (clever imagination & design in otherwise seldom used land)
Difficulty: B (pretty flat; some narrow shots)
Fun Factor: B+ (as much fun as you can have without actual baskets)
Aesthetics: A- (mowed fairways; holes framed with trees)
-----------------------
Overall: B+

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/7/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - very cool printable hole descriptions, maps and directions packet. The only catch is this packet is the ONLY way you'll find your way around this course
- good layout considering how thin the greenbelt is in some places
- many well thought out holes
- pretty good flow
- many ob paths to try and avoid will hone your driving accuracy
- the lamp posts make for tough putts
Cons: - no tees
- no tee signs or markings of any kind (must look for descriptions in the directions packet available on DavisWiki: http://daviswiki.org/Covell_G...c_Golf_Course
- no baskets
- course navigation is difficult
- 3 holes throw directly over ACTIVE PUBLIC ROADS. As a golfer you must be very aware to not hit a car on these holes.
- where you park, start, and finish are all pretty far away from each other
- some very long walks between holes
Other Thoughts: First off, props to the kids that designed this course. You guys did an amazing job giving people an option that, even without tees of any kind, or baskets, provides a more fun and challenging round than Oxford Circle ever could. If you work hard and get some tee signs and baskets in on this course, people will travel to play it.

I had a really fun time on this course, regardless that it didn't have baskets and navigation was tricky. Nearly all the holes are creative and show knowledge of disc golf. You have to use lots of different kinds of shots to score well, and your putting must be on to hit the markings on the lamps.

The extra holes that throw through the tunnels are pretty sweet, and different than any other course I've ever played.

Definitely print out the directions packet on DavisWiki before playing or you don't have a hope of finding your way around. Also, it says in the packet that you can use your bike as a sort of faux 'golf cart.' I think this is a great idea and was really helpful too, because it sped up the round and made the long distances between holes seem quite short.

The Greenbelt DGC is worth a trip, especially if you're from Sacramento, because maybe some of you guys up there can help Davis get some baskets in on this course and make it much more legit, and worthy of at least 3 discs at that point. Give it a go, it's a fun course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/24/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: WilltheNurse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots and hole design. You get long drives, you get narrow drives, numerous different obstacles including water hazards and trees. Probably some of the best mix of hole length and strategy of any course I have had the pleasure of playing.
Cons: I miss the sound of the chains after a good putt.
Other Thoughts: putting against these light poles really hones your accuracy.
This is one of the most enjoyable disc golf courses I have played.
Great location in the green belt. Even at busy times, the other people on the green belt are not in real danger of getting hit by discs.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.