San Angelo, TX 
South Concho Park Share
Uploaded By: cad614 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/20/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: I appreciated how difficult this course can be. The baskets were nice and the course was easy to navigate. After hole 11, cross the street and under a tree you will see hole 12.
Cons: The course is a little long. I also hated how the majority of the holes throw right along the river. I enjoy a good risk/ reward shot but not on every single hole. The grass was high on almost every hole that there was no skips. Hole 13 throws right by hole 16's tee pad. If there are multiple people playing the course like during a tournament holes 13-16 are very overlapping. Also, hole 18 throws right beside a playground. There is a mando to try to avoid that but still.


2-4    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: Great course. Baskets are in great condition. A lot of open/big arm shots on this course with some technical shots mixed in. OB can get a little hairy, but tha makes things interesting.
Cons: This course will pretty much eat one of your discs, the OB water on this course is very unforgiving. After a couple water holes it can be frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Great course, another must play if your in the area.

 Really fun course

1    7/18/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20.1 Years
Pros: Pretty course that plays along the concho river. All of the course equipment was in good shape when I played and I didn't have any trouble navagating the course. Lots of risk reward shots, especially on the putts. I had several that I layed up from 50' just because I didn't want to putt it in the water. Lots of risk reward on the tee shots too with OB on numerous holes.
Cons: Course had a lot of tweener holes, that is holes that aren't par 4's but you really can't 2 them. At least from my perspective as an player that throws 350-400'. Probably could have better singage to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at 6:30 in the morning and there was zero wind. I imagine I would have hated this course if the wind was up. It would be easy to put a lot of discs in the water. That said I bet this makes from a great tourney course.

If you are traveling through the area play this course. It's worth it.

 

1    3/13/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
Pros: Interm. Player: Difficult course esp. near the water. Really liked the length. Big arm throwers seemed to hate it but for those who can't throw +400 this is a good course.
Cons: Watch out for #11. OB is going to happen most of the time and you'll loose some plastic. I like some danger but half the course is a bit much.
Other Thoughts: Overall good course and was a good addition to 2011 "Crush on the Concho"

 Not "great" but still, pretty good

1    7/7/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: BewareOfPenguin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: This course starts out pretty straightforward and gets more interesting as you play into it. The #4 basket is located in the shade of a really large tree. A nice break on a hot summer day. Holes #6-9 are in close proximity of the nearby river. A bad throw will land your disc in the drink real quick and it looks like fishing for discs would be rather difficult. Hole #11 is a bit devious. You have to contend with a telephone pole guy wire and a slope near the basket that drops off toward the river. I really enjoyed the tunnel shots on the last few holes.

It appears that the course is set in a decent neighborhood. Also, there's isn't a ton of other things in the park that would attract a multitude of people that might get in the way.
Cons: Not big on dirt tee boxes, especially with the rain that the area has been experiencing lately.
Other Thoughts: Not the most technical course I've seen, but certainly enjoyable.

 

1    8/23/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, Awesome job San Angelo for another new course and most challenging course yet. Not a heavily used park at all which will make for safe play as well as quicker play. A very good use of the land provided. I do hope to see hole 3 a Par 4 some day soon? But long holes, short holes, open holes, and canopy holes. Even a nice tunnel mando shot to finish up with. 5 or so holes hug the river with one hole that is just sick, like something straight out of Pebble Beach, or like landing a plane on a city street surrounded by water. 6 out of 6 on my card through out off the tee. Fun Course!
Cons: I have never been a fan of natural tees. Hope to see that change. First tee has the distance on the pole. That too would be nice on all. Could use a few more trash cans. When 2 of 3 above happen then I will give it 4.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play some dubs tourney action out there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice try!

1    8/22/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: osbogosley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 31.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a pretty good attempt to put a championship caliber course in a park without enough room.The first two holes are out of a normal throwers range so after the 80 to 100 ft up shot take your par. Hole three at 694 ft is a decent par 4. Street ob 10 ft from the pin is kinda close on a hole that is already dificult. Hole 4 is under a neat pican tree. Five is cluttered with power lines not much of a hole. Six, 7, 8, and 9 are down the side of the river and this is where you will lose some discs. Very difficult to retrieve discs here. I think this is where some shorter holes would have fit with less chance of getting wet. The back nine has less distance but some small tunnel shots. The park is clean and the residents don't seem to mind discs landing in their yards.
Cons: The back nine has two par 2 holes that are too short and open. The tee marker posts are sometimes in the way of a right angle walk up. Holes near water with slope to water caused me to play safe, putts can easily bounce off rim and roll to water. On at least 4 holes the best path is over the street.
Other Thoughts: This is their best course yet but still not the ideal park or land.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.