Geneseo, NY 
SUNY Geneseo DGC Share
Uploaded By: prerube  



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 20  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 0.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Not your typical short 9 hole course. Although none are crazy long, there is plenty of length here for a 9 hole course. Especially considering...
- Elevation is used well throughout.
- Baskets in great shape. Park is well maintained.
- Most shots are typical in the park open shots with a few trees to shape around or protecting the basket.
Cons: - Shorter tees for only 5/9 holes...which oddly enough have the better black rubber tee pads. These short tees are only shorter in length and don't change the shot / approach to the holes.
- For the pro tees, they are natural which is always a negative, but some of them are VERY uneven making them worse than your typical natural tees.
- The holes are packed in TIGHT. There are quite a few places where I would be uncomfortable driving with someone on the next hole.
- Hole 1 & 9 are dangerously close to the parking lot.
- You are throwing over a few sidewalks throughout the course. I played in the summer when school was out so it was empty, but I am not sure how much foot traffic this gets when class is in session. If it is a lot, this could get sketchy.
- Distances and info are in white stones in the ground marking the tees. Some have metal stakes but not all, making navigation tricky without a map.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course that is out of the way. I won't be making another trip out here just for this course but will definitely play it again if I am in the area. Print a map (good on here) as navigation is tricky without a map...but simple enough with one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

another 9

2-4    1/29/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is better than i thought it was going to be. After being so used to playing the short challenging 9 in naples ny, i thought this course was going to be a walk in the park. It turns out that this course uses its small amounts of elevation in every different pitch and slop they had room for. Baskets are in great shape and property well maintained.
Cons: I love the fact that these are all true par 3's. For that fact, i think they should put the rubber pads at the pro-tees. I like to play all year round here in NY, which means it also gets pretty soggy playing a round during the winter months... which means tearin up the grass tee area with my boots turning it into mud.
Other Thoughts: could use more trees planted in the big open fields for a little difficulty.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun 9

1    8/4/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: timg
Played: 239  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a good amount of elevation and seemed to be maintained and mowed well. Baskets are in great condition and this particular area seemed to be dedicated to disc golf as there are no benches, tables, etc.

Each hole also has two tees, the short tees have rubber pads to throw from and are unmarked as far as the hole #, distance, etc. The pro tees are grass and have two large markers with all the relevant hole information including which direction the basket is in.
Cons: The course is a bit crowded and the baskets aren't numbered so first timers might have a little bit of trouble figuring out which basket they're going for.

Speaking of crowded, some baskets are located a little too close to the next tee. An errant shot from another player should be something to look out for.

Also, hole #9 and hole #1 both play a little too close to the parking lot for my tastes. I could see a grip lock moment resulting in a disc sailing into a car.
Other Thoughts: The green tape on the baskets to indicate where the next tee is and stakes at the pro tees prerube added (see below) were quite helpful in navigating the course. Most of the stakes are still in place although a map is a must have for your first time out here.

Overall I didn't find the course particularly challenging but I did find it to be fun to play and that's what it's really all about. I probably won't drive out to Geneseo again just to play the course and I couldn't recommend someone else drive any significant distance to do so but if you find yourself relatively close to the area, I'd certainly recommend getting a quick 9 in.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 SUNY Geneseo 9 holes

5+    7/22/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Spock
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes in terms of lengths, slopes, obstacles, and left/right fairways.
All holes are pretty "true" par 3's. That is, there aren't any automatic birdies like so many courses have.
The main "pro" is that it is so near my home.
Cons: Only 9 holes... I always play it twice.
All holes are par 3... there's not room for a longer hole.
The course still needs number plates and a couple of other minor upgrades.
For newbies, there's a chance that the OB parking lot will come into play on hole 1. But, folks who've played 2 or 3 times learn to avoid it pretty consistently.
Other Thoughts: I've never really played the beginner tees.
The course map and website are pretty helpful.
The fairways are mostly pretty interesting. For example, hole 2 has a small window about 100 feet in front of the tee with a large tree on the left, a large shrubby thing on the right, and a sudden and steep incline right between them.
Hole 3, which is the shortest, is still challenging because of the trees near the basket.
Hole 4 is the easiest, but is still fairly technical for a righty-backhand (I think it would be easier for a lefty).
Hole #7 is blind, but the entire fairway can be seen from target #6. So, we usually leave half the group to spot from target #6 while the other half drives.
There really aren't any holes that I don't enjoy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Finely a good nine hole course!

2-4    8/8/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is easy to find and all the holes once you find one are very easy to find too. The pro tees are well marked with distances with two white markers. A very good beginner course with nice light woods and nice elevation changes.
Cons: If your coming from anywhere but Geneseo i.e. rochester or buffalo it is only a nice course but it is only nine holes. I would suggest playing it twice.
Other Thoughts: Multiple tees would be nice to make this like an eighteen hole course. This is the nicest nine hole course I have ever played.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 all 9 baskets are in!

2-4    8/21/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 208  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rubber tee pads made beginner tees easier to find. Course is family and beginner friendly and the location is better than Rochester or Buffalo for the college crowd and the residents of Wyoming and Livingston Counties.
very little chance of disc loss (a horrible throw to the right on hole 6 is the only risk). The pro tees mostly around 350ish and are worth playing if you can find them.
Cons: - Pro pads are very difficult to find (large white discs that stick up 1/4 inch, hidden in 2 inch tall grass)
Signage at tees would help find the tees and show which basket is the correct basket.
Not a lot of variety in lengths

The course is small (short and simple), because of the small size, lack of obsticles, and lack of variety I don't see the course ever meeting the quality of the other area courses.

Hole 1 throws close to the parking lot from the rubber tee (over the loop of the parking lot from the adavnced tee) I had to move my car before I threw.
Other Thoughts: I added 4 foot metal stakes just to the left of the tees for quicker navigation. I also added green tape to each basket pointing to the next tee. These 2 changes will cut 10 minutes off your game. This course would be the course to play for a speed round, or if you want to spend some time trying to get an ace because of the short open holes on the am tees.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.