Plainfield, IN 
The Masters DGC Share
Uploaded By: RShott Hole #7 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    7/16/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: rayw
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Great course had such a good time I played it twice in one night. Will play it again and bring friends. Park next to course is a good place for the family to play and relax while you play.
Cons: Need score cards with map of course. Some baskets a little hard to find.

Great Disctraction

2-4    10/26/2013   7/1/2014
Review By: Gizmotronx
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Shot Variety
Concrete Tees
Course map at beginning
Mandos make open holes interesting
Fun lines in the woods
Putting practice distance markers on hole 9
Scenic
Cons: Rough can get high, and especially on 7, it can take awhile to find a disc.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course 4 times and only seen 1 other person here. Crossing fairways don't seem to be a big issue to me since it is small and you can call out if there is a conflict.
Short course can be played in under an hour by yourself. That could be a plus or minus.

Great course for your mid game practice

5+    9/27/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: Ale 8
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for working on your short to mid game (depending on the range of your arm). With the Mando's it does force you to play shots that you may not normally have. The course paths are well mowed and can be easily differentiated between the course and the rough (which is also mowed down).
Cons: The layout is not bad, but could get a bit congested if there were large groups out. They did well with the land space they have.
Other Thoughts: Don't let the layout scare you from coming here to practice. The first few times I was a bit upset by the Mando's and strange layout. But now, I like it because it makes me takes shots. I become used to other courses and I can predict what shots I must take, while here I can practice a variety and still be safe.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/8/2013   5/10/2013
Review By: TheeFlipper
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Very good use of space.
-Mandos used nicely to keep play somewhat challenging.
-Nice baskets
-Pro and amateur concrete tees. ie..short and long tees
-Scorecards and map readily available
-Well maintained
-Well designed
Cons: -Holes #7 & #8 intersect Hole #1
-Holes #4, #5, and #6 in close proximity to each other. Could be hazardous.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course. Recently improved!

1    11/22/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: ajbova
Played: 73  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Dual Concrete Tees - Not only are there dual tees for most holes (8 and 9 only have one), they are now concrete. The AM tees are marked with a wooden post and the Pro Tees are marked with giant rocks that are painted. Not much variety between the holes.

9 innova Discatchers. Hole 9 used as practice basket with markers listing distance from basket.

- Holes 2 - 6 - Hole 2 starts in open, goes around a mandatory shot and ends in woods. Hole 3 (formerly hole 4) is a tight wooded shot that ends slightly uphill. Hole 4 (formerly hole 3) starts in open, anhizers around a tree and ends in the woods. Hole 5 is a long, moderately wooded hole that borders the creek. Hole 6 throws uphill from inside the woods to the basket which is in the. These are great wooded holes that will challenge most golfers.

- Shot Variety - Great mix of open and wooded holes. The open holes have young trees planted on them which will add to the challenge in the future. Holes 3, 4, and 6, have slight elevation. No two holes were the same. Distance varies from as short as 180 feet to 400+ feet.

- Great use of available land.

- Scorecards and Map - on sight.

- Course starts and ends at the same point.

Benches and trash cans on site. Bridges when needed.

Signs on each hole include hole number and distance. There are signs pointing you towards next tee when needed.

Resigned course flows amazingly better. (3 and 4 switched)
Cons: - Crossing Fairways - Hole 1 crosses the path for Holes 7 and 8. The fairways for holes 3 and 6 cross at a near perpendicular angle. Fairways for holes 4 and 5 border each other. Hole 7 crosses Hole 1. And Hole 8 crosses hole 1. Can add to danger factor. Mandos help to elongate any issues.

Most mandatory shots add to difficulty.

On hole 1, don't throw to the first basket throw to the second one (behind the trees.
Other Thoughts: I was the only person at the course when I was playing, so the intersecting fairways did not effect me. If you do not take into account that holes cross, this is one hell of a 9 hole course. I can see how the more people playing this course, the more irritating and dangerous it can be due to crossing fairways but usually isn't an issue.

There is not much variation between the Pro and Am Tees.

The wooded holes in my opinion took this course from a 2 or a 2.5 to a 3. If holes did not cross, it might get a higher rating.

There looks like there is room to expand this course into Hummel Park with the addition of maybe 2-3 more holes.

It appears that there would be room across the river to add a second Plainfield course. This course is a solid course for the suburb.

I would recommend playing this course but preferably on a school day or a day where it will not be very busy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/31/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Masters is a bit longer than your typical nine hole course with the average distance being 339ft from the longs and 280ft from the shorts. There's an excellent shot variety here with 4 of the holes calling for an anny shot for RHBH players. About half the course is open while the other half is wooded.

The course has concrete tees for the longs and shorts. There are no tee signs, but the longs are marked by large rocks with the hole number on it and the shorts are marked by 4x4's. A map and scorecard is available at the start of the course. The map really came in handy my first time here.
Cons: Safety is a major concern here. The fairway for hole 1 crosses the fairway of holes 7 and 8.The fairway of holes 4 and 6 cross in very close proximity to the tee. As if that isn't bad enough, things really get dicey is in the wood. A poor shot on any of the wooded holes can easily land on another fairway. The one I found particularly dangerous is hole 3. You start in the open and are throwing a turnover shot into the woods. Turn it over too much and you're blindly throwing towards 6's basket. If your shot goes straight or comes out of the anny line you're landing on hole 5's fairway.

Thankfully I had the course to myself when I played here so I didn't have to worry about any of this.

Of the nine holes here, six of them have mandos. A number of them are simply 4x4's that have been painted yellow and stick 3 feet out of the ground. That also makes it difficult to tell if you actually made the mando if your shot cuts it close. Most of them seem pretty gimmicky to me and have little impact on the safety of the course.
Other Thoughts: Despite all the cons and silly mandos, I did enjoy playing here. The fun factor was high and it was much more challenging than your average 9 hole course, holes 3, 5 and 6 particularly stand out. Unfortunately the safety issues, and three wide open finishing holes keep me from rating this course as well as it could be.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A fun round...

1    9/13/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kempt. (Except for some ground clutter in the treed areas)
Readily accessible to major malls/eateries/entertainment et al.
Safe part of town
Clever usage of limited space (See Con* as well)
Plenty of parking
Available scorecards that have the distance and hole layout on the backside.
Something unique in that hole 9's basket has inlaid marker stones at 5 foot intervals round about it for practicing various length putts.
Cons: Dirt pads
*Overlapping fairways on 3 of the 9 holes
Could use some 'next tee' signs for first timers.
Other Thoughts: While the side of the property closest to the church itself is very flat, there is some slight elevation changes in the wooded backside of the property which demanded some precision shot making.
Overall, I had a good time at the course even though it wasn't very tough for an intermediate player such as myself. It's good to have a course for new players where they have a challenge; yet won't get overly discouraged.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Poor layout

1    3/7/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course starts and ends in an open field area with a wooded set of holes in the middle. The open holes have a mix of lengths appropriate for beginners, which is who it seems this course is intended for. There's one or two holes short enough that kids have a chance for birdies, and some longer holes that aren't long enough to be frustrating for new players. The wooded holes offer some different lines to hit, with a mix of right and left turning shots. There is an info kiosk with a course map, and it's pretty easy to follow the flow of the course. Several holes have long tees to add a little more challenge.
Cons: The layout of the course is very unsafe, especially for a beginner course where less accurate players are likely to be throwing. New players often aren't good about waiting until it's clear to throw, and there are a lot of crossing and overlapping fairways here. I can see that being a major safety issue if there are multiple groups out playing.

The wooded holes could use just a little more clearing to have lines more appropriate to this level of course. There were a couple holes that felt pretty poke-n-pray to me, let alone to a first time thrower. The tees are natural, and were pretty muddy and rutted out when I played.
Other Thoughts: There are a few nice holes here, and enough challenges that beginners and casual players can have a really good time here. Most of the holes are great for players to learn on without getting too frustrated, which is exactly the type of course I love to see on church properties like this where there's the opportunity to expose new people to the sport. More experienced players won't find much to challenge or interest them here after a round or two. I really wish the design wasn't so unsafe, it's just way too easy for crossing fairways to turn into problems that could jeopardize the course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I enjoy it!

5+    6/20/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: erkerkhof
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Other Thoughts: I thought that the open/ semi-open layout would be pretty good to do a night time shootout. Bust out some glow sticks and hit it!
P.S.- some rubber tees would be a pretty big improvement if concrete is to expen$ive.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

5+    4/10/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Belisarius
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Clean
-Well Maintained
-Good Baskets
-Tees Well Marked
-Usually Not Crowded
-Proximity to Hummel Park
-Requires Variety of Shots
-Multiple Tees
Cons: -Dirt Tee Pads
-Some Fairway Intersections
-Easy
-Pro Tees Dont Change Play of Holes
-Not Much Space to Work With
Other Thoughts: For the space that the church who put in this course had to work with, they did a pretty solid job. The course is small. It is what it is. Having said that, there are alot of things that this course does right. The church does a great job maintaining the course; there is rarely any trash on the course, the grass is mowed regularly, and the baskets are new. The tees are well identified, however, they are just a dirt surface. This can cause some pretty slippery footing, especially if the ground is wet or muddy. i had heard that concrete tees were in the works; however this was hearsay, nothing confirmed. Signage would also be helpful, but isn't terribly needed.

Considering the course's compactness, it does require a variety of shots. Holes 3-6 take advantage of the wooded area at the rear of the course. That being said, the course will not prove very challenging to those above the novice skill level. A few of the holes are made more interesting with some mandos.

Overall, this course is very well done; the designers were simply limited in what they could do with the space available. As far as small courses go, this one is better than many. If you are a beginner looking for a good course to learn on, or if you are in the area and looking to get in some quick practice, this course fits the bill perfectly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.