Plainfield, IN 
The Masters DGC Share
Uploaded By: RShott Hole #4 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 325ft.   3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course for your mid game practice

5+    9/27/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: Ale 8
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for working on your short to mid game (depending on the range of your arm). With the Mando's it does force you to play shots that you may not normally have. The course paths are well mowed and can be easily differentiated between the course and the rough (which is also mowed down).
Cons: The layout is not bad, but could get a bit congested if there were large groups out. They did well with the land space they have.
Other Thoughts: Don't let the layout scare you from coming here to practice. The first few times I was a bit upset by the Mando's and strange layout. But now, I like it because it makes me takes shots. I become used to other courses and I can predict what shots I must take, while here I can practice a variety and still be safe.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course. Recently improved!

1    11/22/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: ajbova
Played: 74  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Dual Concrete Tees - Not only are there dual tees for most holes (8 and 9 only have one), they are now concrete. The AM tees are marked with a wooden post and the Pro Tees are marked with giant rocks that are painted. Not much variety between the holes.

9 innova Discatchers. Hole 9 used as practice basket with markers listing distance from basket.

- Holes 2 - 6 - Hole 2 starts in open, goes around a mandatory shot and ends in woods. Hole 3 (formerly hole 4) is a tight wooded shot that ends slightly uphill. Hole 4 (formerly hole 3) starts in open, anhizers around a tree and ends in the woods. Hole 5 is a long, moderately wooded hole that borders the creek. Hole 6 throws uphill from inside the woods to the basket which is in the. These are great wooded holes that will challenge most golfers.

- Shot Variety - Great mix of open and wooded holes. The open holes have young trees planted on them which will add to the challenge in the future. Holes 3, 4, and 6, have slight elevation. No two holes were the same. Distance varies from as short as 180 feet to 400+ feet.

- Great use of available land.

- Scorecards and Map - on sight.

- Course starts and ends at the same point.

Benches and trash cans on site. Bridges when needed.

Signs on each hole include hole number and distance. There are signs pointing you towards next tee when needed.

Resigned course flows amazingly better. (3 and 4 switched)
Cons: - Crossing Fairways - Hole 1 crosses the path for Holes 7 and 8. The fairways for holes 3 and 6 cross at a near perpendicular angle. Fairways for holes 4 and 5 border each other. Hole 7 crosses Hole 1. And Hole 8 crosses hole 1. Can add to danger factor. Mandos help to elongate any issues.

Most mandatory shots add to difficulty.

On hole 1, don't throw to the first basket throw to the second one (behind the trees.
Other Thoughts: I was the only person at the course when I was playing, so the intersecting fairways did not effect me. If you do not take into account that holes cross, this is one hell of a 9 hole course. I can see how the more people playing this course, the more irritating and dangerous it can be due to crossing fairways but usually isn't an issue.

There is not much variation between the Pro and Am Tees.

The wooded holes in my opinion took this course from a 2 or a 2.5 to a 3. If holes did not cross, it might get a higher rating.

There looks like there is room to expand this course into Hummel Park with the addition of maybe 2-3 more holes.

It appears that there would be room across the river to add a second Plainfield course. This course is a solid course for the suburb.

I would recommend playing this course but preferably on a school day or a day where it will not be very busy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun round...

1    9/13/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kempt. (Except for some ground clutter in the treed areas)
Readily accessible to major malls/eateries/entertainment et al.
Safe part of town
Clever usage of limited space (See Con* as well)
Plenty of parking
Available scorecards that have the distance and hole layout on the backside.
Something unique in that hole 9's basket has inlaid marker stones at 5 foot intervals round about it for practicing various length putts.
Cons: Dirt pads
*Overlapping fairways on 3 of the 9 holes
Could use some 'next tee' signs for first timers.
Other Thoughts: While the side of the property closest to the church itself is very flat, there is some slight elevation changes in the wooded backside of the property which demanded some precision shot making.
Overall, I had a good time at the course even though it wasn't very tough for an intermediate player such as myself. It's good to have a course for new players where they have a challenge; yet won't get overly discouraged.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I enjoy it!

5+    6/20/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: erkerkhof
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Other Thoughts: I thought that the open/ semi-open layout would be pretty good to do a night time shootout. Bust out some glow sticks and hit it!
P.S.- some rubber tees would be a pretty big improvement if concrete is to expen$ive.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.